We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful visit, from West Chester, Pa.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hammock Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hammock Beach Resort to your Saves list
Hammock Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Ocean Crest Drive, Palm Coast, FL 32137   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Palm Coast
West Chester
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“wonderful visit, from West Chester, Pa.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

Just returned from a five night stay at Hammock Beach, it exceded our expectations. We are a family of four and stayed at the resort in a three bedroon suite. It was 2200 sq. ft with beautiful views of the ocean and golf course. Received a great amount of information from trip advisor and knew what to expect , great pool, rocky beach, great service etc. The service was beyond what we expected ,as soon as we walked into the resort, Jose greeted us and took us to our suite and that was how easy the check-in process was to complete. Golf couse was great (six ocean holes) although the greens were being aierated on the ocean couse while the other was shut down. We ate at both restaurants, throught that the Altantic Grill was better priced ,entrees around $20-$25 verses the Seaside where entrees averaged around $30-$35. Overall quality of food was good. We would highlty recommend the pizza at the Mezzaluna located in the Europeon Village just accross the toll bridge. It's New York pizza at its best , Mike the owner likes his pizza with the extra thin crust, so we ordered it the same way, wow, was it great. They only charge $10 for a 18inch pizza. We even took a day trip to Disney, it was around 90 minutes to Orlando, we dropped off our 20 year old kids and my wife and I went to the Ginn Reunion resort, which is located around 2 miles from Disney for the day. We had a great time at the water park. Overall, we had a wonderful experience at the Ginn Hammock Beach and will return in the future.

  • Liked — 2200 sq ft of living area
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    245
    96
    59
    39
See reviews for
412
157
8
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Florida
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2007

We just spent 3 nights – After reading so many reviews of this place I wanted this to be a five star stay but it was not. Overall I do recommend to anyone to try Hammock Beach at least once. However here is what I observed and/or what happened during our visit:

We had a 5 hour power outage (from 1pm – 6pm). Not there fault but how could this not hamper the fun just a bit.

We had an emergency evacuation the night after the power outage. Again not there fault but this was not good for our Great Grandmother who is 85 and walked down 7 flights of stairs with our kids only to find out it was a false alarm. I laughed so hard when I left the room and saw a guy running alone with his golf clubs (left his family in the room but I guess he had his priorities in order – ha ha).

They had a $ 48 per night service charge added to the bill. Add that to the normal taxes of $ 42 and you are charged almost $ 100 per day extra in fees. The $ 48 is because they have established a no-tipping policy which is supposed to make it easier on everybody. Problem for us is we did not use or get anywhere close to $ 48 in services. The valet was used once per day but what should that cost? The service charge should be about $ 25-30 per day tops and that is if you believe the “free” use of the gym is a part of this.

All service personnel were pleasant and nice! The problem they had is there were not enough of them. Each day we went to get our car the line of cars was at least three deep with two cars in each lane (and also several cars pulled off to the sides that the valets left there for a later time). On our check out date we asked for someone to come up and get our luggage and bring it down to our car that should have been pulled up. We waited over one hour for someone to show up at our room (we even called down once to check on it). At that point we wanted to get out of there so we started to take our own stuff down there and once in the front saw more cars then on any other day. It ended up taking us 1 ½ hours to get out of the hotel.

More lack of service personnel = Most of the grounds are stamped concrete patterns. More often then not the concrete was dirty. We also noticed some cobwebs and such in the groves of the walls and ceilings. In the outdoor pool areas and even more in the indoor pool areas they must not come around and clean up all day. We consistently saw vacant tables with empty beer bottles and plastic cups. Used towels were thrown all over the place. For the amount of money they get per night per room plus the fact that they are trying to be a 4 diamond/4-5 star property they definitely will always fall a little short until they spend the money to hire the right number of personnel for the type of stuff we observed.

Other little things – Maid did not take out our overflowing trash one day. Kitchen freezer came off the hinges.

So why do you ask did we give this 4 stars. Because even with all of the above we enjoyed our stay. The property is very nice and the Kids pool area, indoor pool, gym, grounds are all top notch. Our room was real nice too. We had two different employees tell us our 3 bedroom condo unit was the nicest they had seen in the building (Main Hotel 3 Condo Unit # 715). They say each unit is owned by an individual and that the owner of our unit went all out – we agree!

The day trip to St Augustine was nice. It was too hot to stay long but it was nice to see America’s oldest city. The Columbia Restaurant was top notch and the waiter recommended we see Ft Matanzas which was on our way back to the Ginn Resort. The drive up and back was real nice. The boat trip over to the fort is neat and it is free so it was worth it just for the free boat ride.

  • Liked — Overall Grounds - pools, spa, views of ocean (even golf although I did not play)
  • Disliked — Shorage of service people, lack of attention to detail in cleaning up.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2007

Normally I would not write a review, but we were so very impressed with this property and its team that we not only extended our stay, but will be coming back.

This is a true find in the world of resort properties. This place is about getting things right, and to make sure that all the guests enjoy their experience.

  • Liked — Everything - starting with a first class tremendous professional team
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

It was a beautiful place on the inside. The room first class. The limited staff wonderful and helpful. But the outside was terrible to look at. The walk to my room was so depressing,with the peeling paint on the floors and walls and dirt. Even at the beach resturant (which had wonderful food), had peeling paint on the outside railings. The outside elevators had rust. Two resturants were closed over the weekend (resulting in not enough places to eat) and the pool /water park area was too small and could not handle the number of people wanting to be at the pool.I had expectations of a first class hotel and was really disappointed.

  • Liked — inside of room beautiful
  • Disliked — dirty unpainted outside/hallways, elevators
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

I just returned home today from a 3 night stay in the Lodge at Hammock Beach. After my 4 hour drive, one would think I wouldn't feel like writing a review. I felt compelled to share my great experience with others. I had never heard of this property. The other couple we vacationed with own some property at another Ginn resort. We chose to stay in the Lodge since it offered a boutique hotel feel. The Lodge only has 20 oceanview or oceanfront rooms. We were in room 12, a lovely oceanfront room that had a king bed, balcony, mini fridge, and a large walk in shower. The room was large and decorated nicely in true Florida fashion...louvered closet and bathroom doors. The bed was a nice platform style with a wrap around leather headboard. The mattress was a little hard for my taste, but my husband enjoyed it. The ceiling was at least 10 feet high and helped add a feeling of space to the room. The tv was a large flat screen. The toiletries were upper end and nicely fragranced. Our fiends were in room 18. That room is actually a suite of 3 separate rooms. It has a large sitting and dining area, a full soaking tub with an additonal shower, and a king size bed. Their room was oceanview, not oceanfront. What most impressed us was the impeccable service. We encountered LONG TERM staff who seemed to love their jobs. Although we stayed during low season, the resort was at 98% capacity over the weekend. That being said, we never felt crowded. And we were never overlooked when it came to receiving great service. We ate at both sit down restaurants. We were pleased with the portions, prices, and flavor of everything we ate. We had couples massages and thought they were in line with comparable massages at other resorts. One small complaint, the waiting area was crowded and not very relaxing. The treatment rooms were large and quiet though. The locker room was filled with many amenities such as large showers, an inhalation room, sauna, and steam room. The attendant, Debbie, made us feel welcomed and comfortable with all of the amenities too. We've already decided to return with our children next summer for a long weekend. The resort offers many family friendly activities such as minature golf, many pools, waterslide, lazy river, bocce ball, badminton, and kid's camps. All that in addition to being beach front. How can your little sweetie get bored here? On Saturday, the resort even hosted a dog show and live band. HOW CUTE! Any who go to Hammock Beach will certainly enjoy!

  • Liked — amenities, the location, the room layout, the impeccable service!
  • Disliked — spa waiting area
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2007

We booked a 2 bedroom Villa at the Ginn Hammock Beach Club Resort 4 months in advance through Orbitz. Right before our trip, I was reading some reviews on tripadvisor.com and got a bit worried when I saw all the comments about people having to drive a long distance to get to the pools and the beach. After staying at the resort, I realized that there is some confusion going on here. The Ginn Hammock Beach Club Resort consists of the main hotel building and 5 villas. All of these places are in close walking distance to the pools and beach. We stayed in villa #5 which happens to be the closest one to the main hotel and would definitaly recommend it. I noticed that people writing reviews about this resort say that they stayed in the Cinnamon Beach Condos. I don't know where the idea came from that these condos are part of the Hammock Beach Resort. Maybe they are owned by the same company? Someone else mentioned that they lived on the other side of the toll bridge. That is like 5 miles away from the beach and resort! Did your travel agent mislead you that you would be right on the beach?

Anyway, if you book a room in the Hammock Beach Club Resort main building or one of the 5 villas, you have nothing to worry about. Everything is close together on the resort property. If for some reason you don't care for the 5 minute walk to the villas, the valets are more than happy to give you a lift in a little golf cart shuttle. We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa which had one master bedroom with bath, a second bedroom with 2 double beds, and a third room with a fold out sofa that could be used as a bedroom as well.

The entire resort has a no tipping policy so whether you get a ride to your room, valet your car, or get help with your bags, no one is expecting or even allowed to accept a tip. A 20% surcharge is added to your room and this covers all the gratuities. If you book through Orbitz like we did, you aren't even aware of this extra charge because it is included in the room rate.

The staff of the resort are very nice and friendly and the level of service actually exceeded our expectations.

We would recommend this resort especially to families with children. There are many kids pools and other activities for the young ones to enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2007

Took our family of 6 there in March. The property is gorgeous, and there was never a moment when we didn't see someone watering, weed-eating, or cleaning. They were getting ready for a huge golf tournament, so lots of construction and craziness going on, but we still had a nice trip. Be prepared to walk. The resort is huge. But the good news is, you really don't need to leave the resort, although we did go to St. Augustine one day. Skip Gartorland and Marineland unless you just want to burn $$.
Meals are expensive on the resort, so be prepared to spend $$, unless you stock your fridge and make a trip to the grocery store, which we did. Lots of families brought sandwiches and chips from their rooms to the pool to eat lunch, otherwise you'd spend $14 dollars on a hotdog and chips!
The rooms are beautiful and well appointed. Staff was mostly friendly and helpful. We would go back again, but get a bigger room, and probably wait til the baby is bigger because you do have to walk a-lot to get places, but dont' let that deter you, because it really is a gorgeous resort! And it's good exercise!

  • Liked — awesome bed! Gorgeous bath and nice furnishings.
  • Disliked — expensive food, beach kind of a pain to get to.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hammock Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hammock Beach Resort

Address: 200 Ocean Crest Drive, Palm Coast, FL 32137
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Coast
#7 Family Hotel in Palm Coast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hammock Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Hammock Beach Resort, a luxury family vacation resort in Palm Coast, Florida with all inclusive getaway packages, magnificent family accommodations, golf courses, dining and spa services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hammock Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hammock Beach Hotel Palm Coast
Hammock Beach Palm Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hammock Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.