We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at Hammock Beach - 4.5 stars” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hammock Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hammock Beach Resort to your Saves list
Hammock Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Ocean Crest Drive, Palm Coast, FL 32137   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Palm Coast
CT
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Another great stay at Hammock Beach - 4.5 stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I just returned from a one-week (Monday-Friday) stay at Hammock Beach - this was our third time taking the family here in the past 4 years. I'll start off by saying that this place is the perfect, perfect spot for families with kids, especially younger kids. We were booked in the same 3 BR/3 BA room as last year on the first floor of the main tower. The convenience of being near the lobby and a short walk to the beach was perfect for us given we have three kids (9, 6, 2) and lots of stuff to carry around.

The best attraction here is the sandy beach and great waves. It didn't disappoint this trip as we spent every afternoon here with the two older kids boogy-boarding and we kept the expenses down by packing a cooler full of snacks, waters, and adult liquid refreshments which did the trick. The pool complex was fun as normal not as crowded as I was used to since the schools in the South and Florida were already back in session.

We didn't eat at any of the resort restaurants as they are generally pricey and the quality of the food doesn't meet the price. We ate all of our breakfasts and lunches in the room, ordered pizza/pasta delivery from Mezzaluna (great!) one night, cooked in one night, did a trip to Daytona for dinner out and mini golf one night and ordered sushi in from Kokoro the last night.

The bell staff were great and very helpful. I was a little disappointed in the cleaning service as a few days they didn't do such a great job in the kitchen or the kids' bathroom but it didn't ruin the trip at all. The college kids working at the pool were a bit lax but I wasn't too surprised. The kids working the chairs/umbrellas on the beach were much better. The property location and overall grounds are top notch. Some of the areas could use a small refresh like some painting / powerwashing.

The price is high but it is low in comparison to the Marriott vacation properties in Hilton Head that only offer two bedrooms, not three.

We will certainly come back here again, at least while the kids are still small and enjoy the attractions of the pool and beach.

Room Tip: I love the rooms on the first floor for convenience purpose but you get no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    270
    112
    67
    43
See reviews for
448
175
9
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The weather was excellent, the service was great and the golf was fantastic. We stayed in a beautiful well furnished three bedroom apartment (806) in the main tower on the north side overlooking the pools for five days. My only complaint was the mattress in the master bedroom...awful.

Check in was easy and we came early so that was a pleasant surprise based on the reviews in Tripadvisor. The check in staff could not have been nicer. We went straight to the pool and enjoyed the rest of the afternoon. I played golf two times on the Ocean Course and would have played more if I had enough time.

The restaurants were expensive but good. I would recommend making reservations at the Atlantic Grill if you want to get a table near a window.

The beach is beautiful. We went to the beach two days, once in the area where you can order food and drinks and once outside the service area. The service area is very crowded.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

This is our second and probably final visit to the resort. We booked Hammock....EVEN THOUGH...it is much more expensive than the Condo we booked on Amelia Island last year. For about $300 less, we spent two months on Amelia as compared to Hammock for 10 days. We booked Hammock in April and asked for a 3 bedroom similar to the one we had before. We also asked for early check in. We got neither, instead, we got a view of the parking lot and waited almost two hours to get in and we were lucky...there were people sitting in the lobby until well after 5. Also, I kept asking where our Condo was and they said they would tell us when we got our keys. I now why they wouldn't tell us....PATHETIC. In our condo, there were no dish towels, one shower nozzle was terrible, and the Internet for the 10 days was horrid. In simple, the Pre-guest entry inspection must be very poor now. It was not that way before. During the time we were at Hammock, I tried to talk to one room attendant who could not speak English. Frankly, at the rates being charged, you would think that helping staff learn English would be a priority..nope. I play golf, I brought my clubs. The Conservatory was closed and will be closed until September. I asked the Valet Staff to move my clubs to the Golf Course and they were sitting at the valet desk until well in to the evening. I was amazed to find the main courtyard unusable for all the repairs being done in season. One of the more peculiar habits of the folks at Hammock is this member/guest separation focus. At the beach, guests get old chairs, members get new chairs and have separate areas...kind of makes a guest feel unwelcome. With all that said, Hammock can be a good place, lots of amenities. The question one has to ask is that given the discomfort I described, would I go back. The answer right now...is NO...NO....NO!!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The only good thing about this place is its location. The beach is very clean and beautiful. We went in April and there weren't that many people there. We enjoyed nice long walks on the beach, but not the hotel.
The furniture was old and cheap looking. The bed sheets and pillow cases, which were supposed to be white, were an assortment of beige, grayish and yellowish off-white. The pillows themselves looked and felt like 10-year-old, $5 pillows from Walmart. The mattress was like something a college kid would buy at a garage sale or get for free from a graduating friend. My back hurt from laying there even for half an hour. It's much worse than my old mattress that I donated. I think the same mattresses (and furniture) have been there since the hotel was built. There were many cheap looking plastic flowers with layers and layers of accumulated dust. The carpet was old with faded colors. To add insult to injury, a very loud AC compressor was inside the bedroom closet, right in front of the bed.
Breakfast at the Atlantic Grill was OK… a little too fatty, but nothing special.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany B, Manager at Hammock Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at Hammock Beach. We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on your stay and apologize for the shortfalls you experienced. We will begin renovations in our One Bedroom Suites this Fall and are targeting completion in early February of 2014. We hope you will consider returning to Hammock Beach following the completion of these upgrades.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was our second stay at Hammock Beach. We have stayed the same basic weekend in August two years in a row. The resort has many facets, so I'll highlight them individually.

Accommodations - We selected a three bedroom, three bath, Resort view condo. They are very spacious. The master suite has a large bedroom area with a king bed, a large walk-in closet and a huge bathroom with double vanities, bathtub and shower. The second bedroom is smaller but still has a king bed and still has its own bathroom with same amenities as above. Third bedroom (the kids) bedroom has two twin beds in it, and the third bathroom is the hall so that you have one bath that is not in bedroom. The full kitchen has most everything you'd need, but check your dishes, pots and pans before you shop to make sure you have what you need, especially things like corkscrews or cheese graters. The condos are pretty luxurious with marble and nice window treatments. They are very clean as well. Five stars from me on the condo itself.

Pools - There is a giant pool complex that has a couple of basic areas. The lower area is a large kids pool with waterfalls and a slide and a separate lazy river. The upper area sports the hot tub, the "beach" pool with the sand surrounding the entry and the adult pool, which doesn't mean kids aren't allowed, but that a lot of stuff, like pool floats, splashing and ball throwing isn't allowed. If you have kids you'll spend 90% of your time down below. The pools are starting to show some age on them (the resort turns 10 next year) but they are pretty well maintained. The water does tend to get a bit cloudy from all the use by people lathered with sunblock, but I never saw anything that comes close to some of the really negative criticisms I saw in other reviews. There is bar service starting at 11AM and they will come to your chair and there are several kids activities poolside during the day that will separate you from your money. Overall, the kids love the pool area, but the need for some refurbishing and maintenance keeps me at about 3.5 stars for this area.

The Beach - The greatest improvement is that they have removed almost all of the rocks that were submerged in the surf area, so you don't have to worry about banging your foot on them or getting cut on them. The high tide comes pretty close to the dunes, so at high tide its a pretty tight fit for everyone if its crowded. The staff will set you up with chairs and umbrellas so there is no need to bring yours from home. There is also food and beverage service out here, but it is neither as often or as speedy as by the pool. The beach is a good beach by East Coast standards with relatively clear blue water, but don't expect the water to be crystal clear.

We have only been in the restaurants for drinks, so I can't comment on the quality of the food, but the prices are resort typical (high). Most nights we were there we were pretty surprised how early last call was in the Atlantic Grille - about 10PM. Loggerheads stays open longer.

The gym is included and has plenty of good equipment, plus for fee classes at about $10 per. Didn't use the spa, but the prices are super high like any resort.

One thing to remember is that they add a 20% service fee to almost everything. So if you buy your kid the $18 tie die T-shirt activity, your going to see a charge of about $24 show up on your bill after gratuity and tax. This goes for most everything other than the items where you physically write the tip in yourself. Always check, because its not really uniform where they do it and where they don't. And I mean everything - the son-cones you can buy outside the pool area, the $6 Bloody Mary they serve pool side, all of this will be about 25% higher than the menu price because of the service charge and tax. I'm not saying this is a bad thing, just something you need to know going into it so you're not shocked when your bill comes.

All in all, I recommend the place pretty highly, and they are in the process of painting the building now, so I think it will continue to be well maintained. I plan on returning next year.

Room Tip: Even the "resort view" rooms have a decent view of the ocean, so unless full ocean view is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany B, Manager at Hammock Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your return stay at Hammock Beach! We are glad that you continue to choose Hammock Beach as your vacation destination, and look forward to your return next August!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at this resort this past weekend and were very happy with the hotel, the service, and the "super" friendy and helpful staff. We were a large group of family and friends and we enjoyed the beach and the pools. The kids (all 16 of them) were able to go to the different pools and the beach and we just had a great relaxing time. We stayed at the Main Tower and I recommend it since it the most central building and it is closest to the beach, pools and restaurants.

Room Tip: Main tower, closest to beach and pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany B, Manager at Hammock Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at Hammock Beach! We are glad that our service and accommodations exceeded your expectations! We hope to be the destination for your next family getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were impressed with the quality and service at this resort. Very friendly and service oriented staff. Food was good in both Atlantic and Delfinos restaurants. Children had a great time playing on the beach (nice to have chairs and umbrellas included) and then going back to pool for afternoon. Furnishings in our 3 bedroom were comfortable and room was clean. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany B, Manager at Hammock Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at Hammock Beach! We are glad that you found your Three Bedroom Suite clean and comfortable, and look forward to welcoming your family back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hammock Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hammock Beach Resort

Address: 200 Ocean Crest Drive, Palm Coast, FL 32137
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Palm Coast
#7 Family Hotel in Palm Coast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hammock Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Hammock Beach Resort, a luxury family vacation resort in Palm Coast, Florida with all inclusive getaway packages, magnificent family accommodations, golf courses, dining and spa services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hammock Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hammock Beach Hotel Palm Coast
Hammock Beach Palm Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hammock Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.