We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LUXURY IN THE MIDDLE OF NOWHERE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hammock Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hammock Beach Resort to your Saves list
Hammock Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Ocean Crest Drive, Palm Coast, FL 32137   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Palm Coast
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“LUXURY IN THE MIDDLE OF NOWHERE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

An hour and twenty minute drive from Jacksonville International Airport either via I-95 or A1A much of which is along the Atlantic coast and you arrive at Hammock Beach Resort. There is not much between St.Augustine to the North and Flagler to the South. Both are destinations to visit. The Flagler Fish Company has the freshest fish(brought in twice daily and cooked in your style). St Augustine has a lot of history and several excellent dining venues.
Now about Hammock Beach Resort, our one bedroom suite on the 7th floor had a great ocean view. The staff at Hammock make your stay most enjoyable and makes up for certain resauants not being opened. Yes there are no ice machines, but we never waited more than 5 minutes. The pools both indoor and outdoor are large and well appointed. The fitness center is huge.

We stayed four nights and the weather was not friendly as it was rainy, very cold and windy. The locals said the weather was the worst they had seen for mid-November. So cannot blame the hotel.

The Atlantic Grill has excellent waitstaff and the food is very good. We ate breakfast twice and lunch once. I had a one and half day business meeting so I was able to share time with my spouse, but as said previously the weather was not our friend.

I think you will enjoy if you do not mind the isolation or having to drive for other dining than the resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    239
    94
    56
    37
See reviews for
406
150
8
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I simply loved this resort! I stayed in this hotel with several friends for 3 days for a wedding that was held on site. We crammed 7 of us into a three bedroom suite in one of the condo-style villas on the left part of the semi-circle of villas. For the entire three days, we each paid a very reasonable amount for our stay. The villa was ideal for friends vacationing together!

We found that our friends, who stayed in a villa on the right part of the semi-circle, had a completely different layout. Ours had larger rooms while theirs had a larger kitchen, balcony, and living area.

We had a king bed with an enormous attached floor-to-ceiling tile bathroom with a jacuzzi tub and shower, two double beds, and a queen bed, in our villa.

Since breakfast was not included, we simply went to the Publix grocery store down the street to pick up groceries for our stay. This helped make our stay very economical.

The beachfront was private and there were few guests there besides ourselves. We often came at night and enjoyed a late night swim and drinks when no one was there. The staff was friendly toward us and it was easy to respect the decorum since the staff was also so professional.

There were golf carts just a phone call away to whisk you to the other side of the vast property at no charge. This was great for commuting between our villa and the waterpark and the beach.

I would absolutely stay here again - this property was beautiful and unlike other reviewers' stays, our room was clean and well-maintained. With so many guests, our stay was certainly affordable.

Our timing of our trip (April) may have been the reason for so few guests on site - it really felt like the resort was all ours!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed for almost a week & loved it. We played golf & I hit the tennis courts. Lots to see & do OR just relax in the pool. The staff is very helpful & happy. The only problem was the closure of the sports bar & a couple of other venues due to private functions, this happened a lot on our stay so we did not get a chance to play pool & hang out in the bar area @ night.
The resort is out of town so you would have to take a taxi to go drinking @ the local spots.
If you’re looking for a place for all the family this is it. There is a separate pool area for adults so you’re not tripping over peoples kids. Food & drink a little on the high price side but very good quality & great service made up for this in a hurry. Yes we will go back, would highly recommend a week or 2 or 3. The long beach is great for walks & the towel service is an added bonus on the beach. The rooms are VERY clean & house keeping does a great job !!
Yes I would tell everyone to try this place out @ least once. We stayed in the Lodge.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lodge, great view BUT yes it is has strange loud noises in the night, machines &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have been here many times, but it had been a year since our last time. We got an awesome room with a great view on the north side of the main tower.
A problem was that we asked where the nearest ice machine was and they told us they dont have them anymore but they will send ice up to your room. After calling twice, it took over an hour the first time. The second time we left after waiting about a half an hour since we didnt want to wait any longer to go the pool so we didnt get ice then. The next time I just asked how we can do this different and they should have said this the first time, so I just had to walk down to the concierge and get it which was not a big deal to me. Id rather do that than wait until they bring it. They said the bellmen/valets were too busy as large groups came in. Like I said that is fine,but they should have said it will be a long time both times and I would just get it myself.
The concierge never told us that the resort went from no cash to tipping service such as bartenders, waiters, bellmen, valet. It was obvious when we got a bill at the pool but didnt know for the valets when we first arrived.
The only other problem was the hot tub had a lot of stuff floating on the top and when the waitress got the manager, he looked at it and decided not to clean it. None of them were turned up all the way either and babies in swim diapers were going in which is not usually allowed.
Other than that, our trip was great.

Room Tip: Pick the north side for better direct views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Amazing. From entering in the gate & the guard calls the concierge to let them know you're on your way in to the moment the valet hands you into your car & hopes you will return & have a safe trip you feel well taken care of.

A beautiful location 1.5 hrs East of Orlando & South of Jacksonville halfway between St. Augustine & Daytona Beach. A cashless property although the gift shop, Pro shop & Spa accept credit cards as they are open to the public. Complimentary bikes at the entrance to the pool. This is a huge property & a relaxing place to ride through. 2 golf courses & tennis.

A ton of ocean facing rooms though the at the very front of the main building are 2-3 bedroom. The Lodge is smaller & right at the oceanfront. Rooms available but also houses the Atlantic Grill & Sandtrap bar as well as the Pro Shop for the Ocean Course.

The Ocean course (a Jack Nicklaus course) was challenging & the wind was more of a factor, but the Conservatory course (a little inland) is the longest & most challenging course in Florida. It's a Tom Watson course with tons of traps & water that really come into play, although they are getting ready to do some adjustments to it.

They do have twilight (after 1:30pm) price breaks.

The pool areas are incredible. Several pool levels including more of a children's area & a lazy river & cascades. The upper level pools include cabana's, heated & un-heated pools, "beach" pools with sand, a spa pool & plenty of places to socialize or find a quiet spot. There is also an indoor pool & that has hot tubs just outside of it. There is an adults only pool on the far side of the property. It isn't heated and it doesn't have an amenities this time of year & was deserted.

I will say that at the pool areas I soooo wished they would turn of the music. It was annoying and loud. It wasn't one type of music just generic top 40 pop/country and some oldies thrown it, but the experience would have been much more sophisticated & relaxing if you could have just heard the ocean waves in the background.

The Ocean Bar at the pools is very nice & the bartenders were super friendly & they will serve you at your chair/table. Ryan was very helpful & friendly while we were there.

The 18th hole of the Ocean Course is behind the pool area & there is a very restful section of white adirondack chairs to sit & read or sun & watch people finish up their golf day.

The Atlantic Bar & Grill serves breakfast lunch & dinner. We only at dinner there, but it was wonderfully fresh & with an early enough seating it's nice to watch the receding glow of the day. The bar is big enough & Carol (I think. She was from WI) was an amazing bartender. They have two nice tv's at either end of the bar. I'd say make reservations if you want an inside ocean view table, but once the sun goes down they are all the same. There is outside balcony seating for nice evenings.

Delfino's is the Italian restaurant on the property & it is elegant & the food is outstanding. They do half portions if you prefer, although the half portions were a bit smaller than my sweetie wanted. All of the restaurants on the property do a $4 share charge.

Loggerheads is the sports bar on the property, but it's a bust as far as that goes. They have a huge projection tv, but there is a dance floor right in front of it, no tables, so even though they have this great tv, you are off to the side of it. The other small tv's are high on the wall and almost useless for watching sports.

The lady that was tending the bar was non-existent for about 15 minutes and not very friendly when she arrived. She also couldn't believe we wanted to moved a table to the center to be able to watch tv better. "On the dance floor???" The menu in Loggerheads is minimal & this location really didn't stand up to the expectations that the rest of the property sets for you. We went back to the Atlantic Grill/Sandtrap Bar to watch the Sunday games & eat instead.

The Spa/Fitness Center is calm & serene as it should be. We didn't use the fitness center, but the locker rooms include the Inhalation Room, The Sauna & The Steam Room. Nice cooled cucumbers & face towels make it a complete Roman experience.

Nicely accoutered with sanitized combs, and other amenities for cleaning up afterwards.

They use Epicuren products which were very nice. I had the Fountain of Youth Facial & another day the Propolis Facial. They were both expertly given by Christina. My skin felt so taken care of...especially after the Fountain of Youth facial. It's a layered enzyme facial.

Sweetie had an incredible Golf Massage that prepped him for 3 days of golfing.

At the beach they provide you with complimentary chairs and umbrellas, although you have to set them up yourself. They also keep fresh iced water cooler & cups handy at the steps. The closest bathroom is in the Lodge Building.

They do require you to be clothed & shoes on in all interior areas of the resort (no towel wraparounds), which is nice that they maintain decorum.

All in all, it was just an incredible place to stay & enjoy time together.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Beautiful views from you balcony. Golf, if you enjoy that. Swimming pools, indoor and out and a lazy river. Very clean and nice. Walk down to the beach and enjoy! Love this Hotel. I stayed here on business. The accomodations were exceptional. The staff was great.

Room Tip: I believe you can see the ocean from any room. It is set up very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed off the main resort. We stayed on there Cinnamon beach resort section because we need a 3 bdrm. Even with it being off the main resort, the place was very nice. It's a very nice 3 bdrm apartment that had everything you needed. It was a little walk to the beach and to the pool so plan accordingly. The beach was beautiful, felt like we weren't in Florida. Only bad thing I have to say is I wish our section was closer to the main resort. The main resort was about 5 - 10 min drive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hammock Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hammock Beach Resort

Address: 200 Ocean Crest Drive, Palm Coast, FL 32137
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Palm Coast
#6 Family Hotel in Palm Coast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hammock Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Hammock Beach Resort, a luxury family vacation resort in Palm Coast, Florida with all inclusive getaway packages, magnificent family accommodations, golf courses, dining and spa services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hammock Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hammock Beach Hotel Palm Coast
Hammock Beach Palm Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hammock Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.