We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort with everything!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hammock Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Hammock Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hammock Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Ocean Crest Drive, Palm Coast, FL 32137   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Palm Coast
Gainesville
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great resort with everything!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We have been about 4 times in the past year. We and our kids always have a great time and we find more things to do every time we go.
The negatives are: Occasionally the service at the Atlantic Grill is slow or possibly too busy. The management at the pool are over the top at times with telling you to leave just because you have a juice box or uncrustable for your kids. It's ridiculous when you are spending a lot of money at the pool anyways.The only other issue is I wish the 1 bedrooms had full kitchens.
Other than that everything is excellent. The service overall is exceptional. Coffee bar, valet, bell staff, concierge are all outstanding and go above and beyond.

Room Tip: 3 bedrooms in the main tower are great with ocean view. The ocean front rooms can be loud when its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    361
    234
    89
    53
    36
See reviews for
392
147
8
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I stayed here with my family for 5 nights earlier this month while attending a conference. After a few hectic days in Disney World, this beautiful, calm, and relaxing locale was the perfect second act of our Florida vacation. Our room felt luxurious and was spacious with a living room area and very compact kitchenette (which came in handy as there's a grocery store just a couple blocks away). Like most of the units, we faced the ocean, though the building is set back quite a ways from the water.

As for water activities, the private beach is truly lovely. We were actually somewhat disappointed in the main pool area (where the kids pool and "water park" attractions are) as it was extremely crowded - hard to even find an empty chair. We were expecting a large "water park" type pool based on the description (water slide, lazy river, etc). However, it was really quite compact. The lazy river was a tiny loop (with no option but to go under water falls), the kids pool area was small, and the one water slide was quite small. There are, however, other less crowded pools on the grounds.

The other amenities we enjoyed were the "Kids Club" which has a nice program of activities. My daughter actually chose to spend 2 half-days there. I took advantage of the spa and had a lovely pedicure with Val. We're not golfers but had a fun time on the putting green.

We didn't eat as a family on site, but the catered breakfasts for my conference were quite good and the staff who catered were fabulous.

One caveat is that they add a fixed gratuity for everything (10% per night for room and 15% for most everything else).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We just returned from a week long family vacation at Hammock Beach. My family and I enjoyed every minute of our stay! The resort was very family friendly and made us feel right at home! My sons (5 and 2.5 years old) enjoyed the beach, pool and waterslide daily. The staff was friendly and attentive while the grounds were beautiful and well cared for. We will return to Hammock Beach next year!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Main tower and it was super close to all things on the resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Family vacation was Thurs-Mon (4/19/12-4/23/12). 4 bedroom, 3 bath in the main bldg overlooking beach, pool area and golf course. We could not have had a better view!!! Plenty of space of all 9 of us to hang out and then retreat to our own bedrooms when we wanted. Fully stocked kitchen and laundry area. We asked for addt'l laundry detergent and fabric softener and housekeeping gladly oblidged. The service by the staff was Ritz Carlton quality, everything we asked for was done by friendly and polite staff with no hesitation, called by my name everytime we rang the front desk.
We got there and realized that we forgot the baby's pack and play. Requested one when we arrived and were only in the room for a few minute before someone was at the door with the pack and play!
We enjoyed bike riding, lazy river, indoor pool, beach time, walking etc. This is a great family resort with lots to do. Publix right next door makes it easy to stock up for snacking and cooking on your own.
Restaurants on property are expensive so be prepared. Dinner and drinks at Atlantic Grille for 9 of us (including a 13 yr old, a 10 year old and a 1 year old) was over $400! Food was ok but portions are small and we would have had a better meal if we had cooked. Make sure you go to JT's seafood shack off property, excellent food, casual atmosphere and big portions. We ate lunch there twice. Outback and other restaurants are in town. We ordered and went and picked up chinese food the last night there. Got the name and number from concierge desk.
All in all, a great vacation and we plan to return and highly recommend.

Room Tip: Request a room in the main bldg with a view of the beach and the pool! We were in 810 which was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Our family vacation was in a 3 bedroom privately owned condo overlooking the golf course and ocean. Great fun was had by all- the men enjoyed the golf course, the ladies enjoyed the spa and our 2 year old grandson loved the children's pool area! Very kid friendly! The only disappointing area was the lack of good restaurants in the surrounding area. The hotel restaurants were very expensive and not really geared to families with children. To find good food choices we had to drive about 15 minutes away. The closest GOOD restaurant was La Piazza Cafe in the European Village back across the toll bridge.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Simons Island
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This was our first visit to Hammock Beach Resort in Palm Coast, FL. We have a fabulous time as a family. We stayed in the large, 3-BR units in the main tower and to say there were huge is an understatement. These units are massive, with plenty of room for our large family (my wife and I and our 4 kids).

I had only one minor disappointment which is the only reason I didn't rate 5 stars. At the time we booked our vacation, there was a special running on the Hammock Beach website for Spring Break. There were vouchers promised for resort credits. It's not uncommon for a resort or hotel website to offer special packages on their site, but I booked my trip via AMEX Travel (who seems to use the Travelocity engine) because we were paying with AMEX points.

I read all the small print and details on the Hammock Beach site and nowhere did it say you were required to BOOK your reservation on their site to receive the vouchers and package benefits - it only said you had to travel during those dates. So, when I checked in the concierge refused to give us the vouchers and did little to accommodate me. I had printed the Spring Break package details off the site and could have probably made a scene about it and gotten the vouchers, but deep down, I knew that they most likely had intended for us to book it on their site, which we couldn't do since we were paying with points.

It was still disappointing, though, because their site should make it clear that you don't receive the package promotions unless you book on their site. This was not mentioned anywhere, though I suspected it would be the case (which is why I blew it off and didn't make a big issue out of it).

Honestly, this resort would be out of our budget price range had we not been able to pay with AMEX points. We heard great reviews on the food at the restaurants but chose to dine off-site or in our room to save money.

There is a Publix right down the street which was great to buy groceries, breakfast foods, and beach toys for the kids.

The pool complex is amazing, and makes the resort a huge winner for us. My kids also loved the small playroom where the ping pong and foozball tables were located.

The "tipless" marketing made this sound even more amazing, but in our experience, we didn't receive anything that would have needed a tip anyway. THey do charge full gratuity on your dining, but the resort was so busy, we had to find a cart and bring up our own luggage. The Self-parking was super easy and faster than the valet parking, so we really never needed the valet or bellman services, so the "tipless" feature wasn't a factor for us.

All in all, as long as we keep earning AMEX points, this can easily be a destination 1-2x per year for our family. It was classy, fun, and clean. I look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

We had four adults and two kids stay here in a three bedroom ocean view condo for one week. The condo was clean and nicely furnished. We were on the top floor, and the views were incredible. Service was exceptional. When we arrived, we thought we would have to head to Walmart for a bed rail for our three year old, but we checked with the staff first and bed rails were brought up and installed within ten minutes of our arrival. Valet service is free. The pools are fun. The kids loved the waterside and the lazy river (although the latter was a bit chilly). We had drinks and lunch at the pool almost every day. Service, drinks, and food were good. The beach was also very nice. Staff set up chairs and umbrellas for you. Publix is right up the road. I would also recommend JT's, LaPiazza, and Mezzaluna's for dinner.

It's not cheap, but you get what you pay for. Our family can't wait to return. In fact, the kids are saying they would rather go back to hammock next year than stay at Disney.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompanyManagement, Manager at Hammock Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you for sharing your Hammock Beach experience! We hope to welcome you and your family back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hammock Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hammock Beach Resort

Address: 200 Ocean Crest Drive, Palm Coast, FL 32137
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Palm Coast
#7 Family Hotel in Palm Coast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hammock Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Hammock Beach Resort, a luxury family vacation resort in Palm Coast, Florida with all inclusive getaway packages, magnificent family accommodations, golf courses, dining and spa services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Amex, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Hammock Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hammock Beach Hotel Palm Coast
Hammock Beach Palm Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hammock Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.