We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to eat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's BBQ

Captain's BBQ
5862 N Oceanshore Blvd, Palm Coast, FL 32137
+1 386-597-2888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 108 Restaurants in Palm Coast
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Palm Beach Shores, Florida
1 review
“great place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We just had a late afternoon lunch. You smell it before you get there... Delicious... Highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainsBBQ, Owner at Captain's BBQ, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Diane T,

Thank you for stopping in for a late lunch. We are happy we were able to satisfy your tastebuds and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best,
Capt. Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    92
    20
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best BBQ, best atmosphere, best service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I would love Captain's BBQ restaurant even if it wasn't sitting on the Matanzas river. They have the best pulled pork and brisket I've ever eaten. All the sides I've tried have been very flavorful, the buttered corn, homemade cole slaw, collard greens, smoked baked beans and mac & cheese, but that's not all of them. The atmosphere is casual and relaxed, a great place to unwind while having the best BBQ around. Did I mention the Carolina vinegar based BBQ sauce? Whew, never thought I'd find that anywhere. I just wish they were closer so I could eat there more often.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainsBBQ, Owner at Captain's BBQ, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Jeanne R,

We are so happy to hear you loved our pulled pork and brisket! It seems like you were able to try a lot of our sides as well! Come back soon and try the rest of our sides along with some of our cheesecake!

Best,
Capt. Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Darn fine BBQ!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Outstanding BBQ. Very fresh and tasty. Great sauces. Very clean restaurant. Friendly staff. Highly recommend. Outstanding beer selection.

Beer, Boats and BBQ. Can't beat that!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainsBBQ, Owner at Captain's BBQ, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear OpuNui,

Thank you so much for your great review! We love to hear that people love our BBQ and beer! We always have plenty so please stop by again soon!

Best,
Capt. Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wow- amazing BBQ! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Let me start off by saying that we are BBQ snobs. We live in a state renown for its BBQ, so we almost passed this place by. The ribs, pulled pork, and brisket are excellent, tender & flavorful, and the collards & BBQ beans are delicious.
They also have excellent selection of homemade cheesecakes. So, even if you think you've had great barbecue, give this place a try, and I'll bet you'll be as pleased as we were.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainsBBQ, Owner at Captain's BBQ, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear jap61s,

WOW! Thank you so much for your kind words! We are always happy to hear how much BBQ lovers love our food. We try our best to provide the most delicious BBQ and we are glad it impressed you!

Please come visit us again soon!
Best,
Capt. Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Brisket! Brisket! Brisket!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Did I mention the brisket? Yum! BEST BBQ'd brisket I've ever enjoyed. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainsBBQ, Owner at Captain's BBQ, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Go2GuyFL,

We are looking forward to your next visit as well! So happy to hear you love our brisket. We promise to have plenty for you next time you come!

Thanks,
Capt. Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Captain's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.