We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At home on the farm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Florida Agricultural Museum

Florida Agricultural Museum
7900 Old Kings Road, Palm Coast, FL 32137
386-446-7630
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 26 things to do in Palm Coast
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fun on the farm, that describes the Florida Agricultural Museum. Visit our 1890 Florida Cracker home complete with rare heritage livestock (Cracker Cows, Cracker Horses and the Florida piney woods rooter hog). Chickens, ducks and a tame turkey greet our visitors before they depart on a tractor ride tour of the museum's historic farm buildings. Guided horseback riding is available by reservation. Horseback ride along beautiful trails over our 400 acre property or ride your horse over Interstate 95 on the "horses only" bridge to an adjoining 3000 acres of riding trails. Camping with or without your horse is available. You can also visit the Hewitt's Sawmill Archaeological Site located on a heavily treed 3/4 mile hiking trail. Discover the site of a water powered sawmill that operated from 1770 to 1813. We also rent Governor Caldwell's 5000 square foot diary barn for parties and wedding receptions. You can even get married lake side under a canopy trees. Everything at our museum is real. Not a plastic rock in the place. Come visit us and you will learn some Florida history and you might even carry home a free souvenir on your shoe. Your tour will last at lease an hour but the memories will last forever.
Pineview, Georgia, United States
1 review
“At home on the farm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is the second year that we have taken a family vacation to Palm Coast and this year we discovered the Ag. Museum! My husband and father-in-law like to get away with the family but they are not so fond of the beach scene. We decided that this would be a great place to take my 18 month old and our 3 year old nephew and maybe the guys might have a decent time. We live on a farm but some of the history and old techniques of doing farm tasks are just not around anymore. My father-in-law had the best time showing my nephew how to grind the corn and feed the chickens. The staff at the farm made us feel so at home. We could let the children look around without having to be on pins and needled the whole time. It is a great place to visit if you have no knowledge of agriculture or even if you come from a farm. It is well worth the time and worth much more than they charge!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    19
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun and interesting place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We visited the museum in August with our 10 year old son. Our family had a great time and our tour guide Debbie was so patient and kind to our child who has autism. She showed him all the animals and even gave us a private tour on her golf cart. It was a very memorable day for us we plan to return for another visit in the near future.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great for parents and kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We visited the museum after reading reviews on TripAdvisor and were not disappointed. The kids loved the animals and the tractor ride and my husband and I enjoyed all of the history. We had a great time!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fun, historical museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

So happy we took a chance & visited this "museum" . It is more like an opportunity to go back in time. The staff is laid back, folksy and sincere.
The information imparted by our volunteer guide was invaluable. The restored bldgs. plus the animals were so worth our time. I highly suggest you visit here.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walkpl
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A Great Piece of History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

It is hard to find and the name on the sign puts a lot of people off...however The Argriculture Museum is one of the best kept secrets in Palm Coast/Flagler County Florida.
If you have ever been to Sturbridge Village, Stone Mt. Georgia or maybe even Williamsburg....the Ag Museum is a tiny village with several houses, a country store, a barn (for ho downs and parties), horses to ride, and a historic homestead of the Clark family...all neatly dressed in historic pieces and with "cracker" (read Florida style) cattle, pigs, chickens and roosters and more. There is even an old "still" where the Clark family used to make their own "white lightening". There is also a museum to the "cow boy". I learned that the first slaves that were brought from Africa to Florida came to heard cattle. They were "boys" who were brought just to tend the cows as that was waht they were really good at back in Africa.That is how the word "cowboy" came into existence. They have a museum full of the saddles and their prods brought from Africa as well. There is also a "graveyard" of old farm equipment to climb on.
As I love history, I really love this place. If you come at a time when there are others, they take you around from place to place on a trailer pulled by an ancient tractor. Such fun!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Florida Agricultural Museum also viewed

 

Been to Florida Agricultural Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Florida Agricultural Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.