We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Get-a-Way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Ocean Pointe

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Ocean Pointe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's Ocean Pointe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   71 Ocean Avenue, Palm Beach Shores, FL 33404   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Great Get-a-Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Marriott always seems to provide the best accommodations and The Ocean Point is no exception. The front desk was very welcoming and personable. Unfortunately, the hotel was quite crowded so we ended up with first floor room so now ocean views. Despite that, we were very happy with the room, comfortable bed, nice kitchen and bathroom with a Jacuzzi. We had to drive to Miami for a visa so we did not partake of the many activities offered during our two days there (it rained on the second day) but there seemed to be something going on for everyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    331
    246
    86
    34
    25
See reviews for
289
231
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fishers, Indiana
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Well first and foremost, I just can not say enough about this resort. EVERYONE is friendly and goes out of their way to make your vacation a great one. From the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out. This property has 5 buildings, 4 that are fairly close together and one that is separated from the rest(King fish). DO NOT stay in the King Fish building unless you want peace and quiet and do not have kids. It really is serrated from the main resort. We stayed in the Pompano building and could not be happier with the location. The workout room was close by, the grills were close by as well. It overlooks the "adult" pool but only a very short walk to the main pool. It had the easiest and shortest access to the beach. We love to workout, cookout and hit the beach, so this was perfect! The building was also recently renovated and was very nice on the inside.

The amount of kids activities was amazing and most did not cost extra! From crafts in the mornings, games in the pool during the afternoon, to a fun dance party at night. My kids never lacked anything to do! There is also a very nice games area with shuffle board, mini-golf, bags, tennis, bocce ball, ping pong and a outside large piece chess board(my son loves chess!).

The beach was as most people have described, DO NOT expect a sandy perfect white beach as you would see on the Gulf side. This is the Atlantic and the beaches are different. A decent surf, pretty good sand and lots of sea shells right along the shore. My kids had a blast collecting shells. There is a company, as mentioned in other reviews, that rents chairs and umbrellas. Lots of people renting them, we did not. A lot of people brought down their own umbrellas and chairs. I give the beach a A- for an Atlantic side beach.

One small note if you have not stayed at a Marriott vacation property before. This is NOT like staying in a hotel room, this is like staying in a condo. There is NOT daily housekeeping during your stay. Do not come here and expect that and be disappointed. You can pay extra for this service if you choose to though. We usually get one "tidy" up service mid-week and do just great!. Please stop rating Marriott lower for this and if you want this type of service, pay for it or stay in a full-service Marriott resort. All in all this is a top-notch Marriott Resort that meets and beats all of Marriott standards!

SUGGESTIONS FOR MANAGEMENT
---all very minor things that could take the stay to even another level!

1. The workout room is WAY to hot! The air set at 70 and no ventilation. Set the temp a little lower and find a way to circulate the air better(fans).

2. A few more water stations by the pool. Only one place to get water and that was by the main restaurant. Not a terrible long walk but strategic placing of a few more water coolers would be a great service to guests.

3. Direct TV--Only time spent in the room on vacation is when there is bad weather, well the Direct TV here loses a signal and there is no TV during this time. Kinda a bummer. I have direct TV at home and only lose a signal when it is very very nasty out. Here you lose it with some clouds and rain. I would speak to Direct TV about that!

4. The grill(typical vacation club issue) ignitors do not always work, I am sure it is cause they get a TON of use, but properly working grills would be cool. Overall though the grill area was very nice. They do need more of them though.

5. The welcome breakfast on Monday mornings is always a good thing with donuts and coffee for all guests. This resort is BIG and lots of guests. Maybe try and get coffee out a little sooner and have 2 coffee areas. The line for coffee was long and kinda annoying. VERY easy to fix this one.

In closing, come to this resort and have a great time, relax and enjoy your vacation. Marriott Ocean Pointe and all the staff that work there will make sure your stay is one to remember!

Room Tip: People usually reccomend the Dolphin building, but we enjoyed the Pompano building due to the close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Our family has stayed at Ocean Pointe many times. It is a great family friendly resort. The rooms are clean and spacious. The decor is very pleasing also. Beds are comfortable. Location is awesome. Lowest tip of Singer Island, a barrier beach. Each year it seems upgrades are being made. There are several pools, 5 buildings, shuffle board, bike rentals, bocci ball, mini golf, hot tubs, volleyball, life size chess, ping pong, a pool table, and a spray park all within the fenced in courtyard of this property. Also in this fenced in area is the kids activity room, a pool side bar/grill, a small market place and a sandwich, salad, pizza type deli. This is a time share property so there is no room service or full service restaurants on property. The pool chairs are always filled, which means there is a lot of activity/people at the pool. Various activities are offered during the day for a variety of ages, from ceramics, to volleyball, to crafts, to trivia, to blind beef tasting and icecream sundae making. We have had a variety of rooms and ALL have nice views. The only thing I can complain about is the weather!!! It rains every afternoon in July. Plan to get up early for beach, pool, snorkel trips, sailing or fishing. By mid afternoon the rain comes... Usually....

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeoville, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this location this May, and had a fabulous time! The rooms were fabulous, with great views. We loved being able to enjoy sunrises and sunsets on our balcony. The beach was a 5 minute walk from our room. The pools were clean and pleasant the whole trip. We never felt crowded or like we couldn't utilize any part of the resort. The extra options available through the resort (photo sessions, massages) just made the vacation that much better!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, West Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Marriott Ocean Pointe in June. We stayed in the Kingfish building which is
due for an update. We enjoyed our vacation in the area. The resort is located on the Singer Island. They have a lot of activities for children. We enjoyed the dance party on Monday night with a D.J. The pools and hot tubs were nice. They have ping pong table, miniature golf course and shuffleboard, and tennis courts. There were several beach gates to the ocean. They had the grounds well kept with palm trees and other flora.The office staff was always very accommodating. There is a water park nearby. There is a Walmart and Publix nearby. It is best if you rent a car to see the area. The police patrol the area very well.
There is a Wings store that sells great souvenirs for the Palm Beach area. The Sailfish Marina
and Restaurant served some great seafood.(this is in walking distance from the resort)
The gas grills were also very nice. I would recommend for a family to vacation here.

Room Tip: Better ocean views are on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location of this resort was amazing, right on the point of Singer Island so you could see the boats going to and from the channel near the island. The resort has 3 pools, shuffleboard, putt-putt, hot tubs, children's are, multiple beach accesses and more. One really cool area we found later in the stay is multiple gas grill that you can use to grill out on. The food on the resort was not great, typical bar food and the drinks were pretty weak. I expected a little more in the way of dining or services around food. Anything really good to eat is about 20 min away so either pick up food before you come or be prepared to go out for anything beyond bar food. The room we were in was a studio which was not what we expected and I was informed that if we wanted to change we would have to upgrade for $150. Be careful as the studio does not include a washer or dryer and only has a small kitchenette. Also on the beach there was a separate beach service that charged $10/hr for chairs, table and umbrella, I would've expected Marriott to have some type of service here. The other complaint was that the bar had no air flow so late June at 8pm the air was stagnant and very hot, it needs to have some type of cooling system to cool down or create some airflow. The bed was very comfortable and I slept soundly each night. The bathroom is standard however as someone else also mentioned, the water that came out had a yellow/brown tint, not sure why and the hot water gets hot very quickly and can easily burn you if you are not careful. Overall a good value resort but could use a few areas of improvement to get this to 5 stars.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This wasn't a terrible hotel but it just wasn't my style--too corporate/cookie cutter; too large; and for the size of the hotel had little to offer in terms of places for an evening cocktail. It's really more suitable for families and kids.

Room Tip: If this place is your sort of hotel then ask for oceanfront. Nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Ocean Pointe, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review, Mark! We appreciate your feedback and apologize the resort did not exceed your expectations. For a more intimate experience, please check out our sister resort, Marriott's Ocean Palms, on your next visit to Singer Island. Thank you again for your review and for visiting us in Florida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott's Ocean Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Ocean Pointe

Address: 71 Ocean Avenue, Palm Beach Shores, FL 33404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Palm Beach Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Ocean Pointe 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott's Ocean Pointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Ocean Pointe Hotel Palm Beach Shores
Marriotts Palm Beach Shores
Marriotts Hotel Ocean Pointe
Marriott Palm Beach Shores
Marriott Ocean Pointe
Marriotts Ocean Pointe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Ocean Pointe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.