We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bust resort is well run” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Ocean Pointe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Ocean Pointe to your Saves list
Marriott's Ocean Pointe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   71 Ocean Avenue, Palm Beach Shores, FL 33404   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
ottawa,ontario
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Bust resort is well run”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Probably the busiest of all the Marriott Vacation Clubs, this resort is well run. We were greeted with a smile and a bottle of wine, apples, bottles of water and a lovely message from Suzanne Ngoon , manager of guest relations.
There are activities for all ages, morning, afternoon and evenings or if you prefer to do your own thing as we do that works fine too. We love the morning walks to The Sailfish Marina. Great breakfasts, the best OJ I have ever had, crab and cheese omelette and those breakfast biscuits!
The huge occupancy rate and and the fact that the original villas are 15 years old, can lend to the odd maintenance nuisance. Doesn't matter, there are so many other positives that a noisy dryer can be forgiven.

Looking forward to next winter at Ocean Pointe!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Ocean Pointe, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for the five-star review Norman! We hope you toss you again soon at Marriott's Ocean Pointe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    269
    96
    37
    28
See reviews for
319
272
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Well equipped although the Kingfish bldg, in which we stayed, is undergoing renovation. It is quieter than their Sailfish bldg which is well suited to accommodate children and their activities. Depending on your room location, there are amazing views of the inlet meeting the ocean waterways.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Ocean Pointe, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for your five-star review Diana! We hope to see you again soon at Marriott's Ocean Pointe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Township, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed here with my brother's family - 5 kids ranging from 4-10. We had issues with our room, but the staff was so quick to accommodate the repairs and even sent up a bottle of wine one night with a hand written card signed by the staff and came around another night to hand out boxes of goodies to everyone who was inconvienced by some A/C repairs.

I would say the room itself was average at best, but the activities and attentiveness of the staff made us really forget about that. The staff that worked all of the activities were so friendly- and even though they were not supervising our children technically, you always knew they had an extra eye out for your kids. I would not recommend this place if you are looking for a lot to do on site (like restaurants etc.). We love to stock our kitchen with food & drinks and linger all day and this was perfect for that. The grounds are clean and there are activities all day to keep everyone busy.

Honestly A+ for the staff. Again we had a bunch of minor issues with the room but it really felt like they cared if you complained. One day they were doing construction and had a walking detour that sent us through the parking garage- it was quite dangerous and within minutes of me speaking to a staff member it was changed. They really did everything they could to accommodate us and show they cared. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Some buildings are geared to older crowds (I think Kingfisher if I remember correctly) and we stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

All in all this is a beautiful resort right on the ocean and has all the great amenities, pools, mini golf, tennis, the ocean beach, grills to use, water aerobics, yoga etc. That said, it is crowded in February (120 people in the pool for aqua exercise) and there was a problem with the elevator being out of service for 3 days while the carpeting was being replaced. Poor timing for the busiest time of year. The parking is very tight and you may not get a space if you stay out late. In addition the unit we were given was not the one I thought we would get. Second floor and too far away to see the ocean. We are points owners through Marriott but don't own at this specific resort. The front desk employee who checked us in referred to "owners" getting higher floors . I told him that we were points owners and he argued that the "owners" he referred to were there for more than a week stay because they owned at this specific resort and got the better units. I have been to many Marriott resorts and never encountered this attitude. I would stay here again but probably not in the busy winter. I would also like to point out that there are a lot of older snow birds here in the winter months and that is fine if you are one:)

Room Tip: Insure over phone that you are given a room with a view on the highest floor possible or you will no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Ocean Pointe, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We appreciate your Tripadvisor review of Marriott’s Ocean Pointe! We are happy to hear your family enjoyed your vacation while visiting Palm Beach. As a Marriott Vacation Club owner, we take your feedback seriously and apologize for the service concerns you encountered. Your comments will be shared with the appropriate managers so we may improve upon our guest experience. Thank you again for your review and we hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This isn't Miami's South Beach - This is a place to go if you enjoy a peaceful place to relax on the beach or lounge by the pool. The staff is pleasant and friendly. The guests even smile and say hello - and everybody is well behaved - no spring beakers here. The town of Palm Beach Shores itself is out of the hustle and bustle of South Florida - it is a secluded little gem on the south end of Singer Island. Big city life is close by if you want it but doesn't intrude on this little Oasis of Tranquility.
Marriott rents units here but this is a time share filled mostly with Owners. Don't look for high end service - you park your own car and carry your own bags. Head to the Breakers in Palm Beach for that high end service.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are nice. The layout for a property on the beach in South Florida is fantastic - I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Ocean Pointe, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your five-star review of Marriott’s Ocean Pointe! We are happy to hear you loved the resort and found it to be an "oasis of tranquility." We look forward to your next trip and appreciate your Tripadvisor review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Beautiful property with a gorgeous beach behind it. Plenty of pools and lounging areas. Very quiet and relaxing but the older guests were not very friendly to a group of young adults. The bartenders were friendly but very slow. The Villa was very clean and it had all we needed. The fitness facilities were great as well. Great place to go if you are just looking to relax. If you are looking for nightlife, this isnt the place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Ocean Pointe, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for sharing your family’s experience with us! Our team is happy to hear you had a great time on your vacation in Florida. Please visit us again at Marriott’s Ocean Pointe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

The resort is located in a cluster of buildings on a wonderful beach. My villa was very large and comfortable with great windows overlooking the port and West Palm Beach to the south. It was a spectacular view even from the first floor. Check-in was easy and plenty of parking close to the villa.
Be aware of potential noisy guests in connecting rooms. A family was up until 3:30 am and I could hear every word they said. Security needed to come to stop the screaming. Overall a great gem in Palm Beach.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Ocean Pointe, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Our team appreciates your positive review of Marriott’s Ocean Pointe! We are thrilled you enjoyed your spacious villa and spectacular views from your room. We also would like to apologize there was a noise concern during your stay. On your next stay with us, please feel free to reach out to the front desk manager if you encounter a problem during your visit and we will be happy to correct this for you. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Ocean Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Ocean Pointe

Address: 71 Ocean Avenue, Palm Beach Shores, FL 33404
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Palm Beach Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Ocean Pointe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 682
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Ocean Pointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Ocean Pointe Hotel Palm Beach Shores
Marriotts Palm Beach Shores
Marriotts Hotel Ocean Pointe
Marriott Palm Beach Shores
Marriott Ocean Pointe
Marriotts Ocean Pointe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Ocean Pointe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.