We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Ocean Pointe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Ocean Pointe to your Saves list
Marriott's Ocean Pointe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   71 Ocean Avenue, Palm Beach Shores, FL 33404   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This is my second home. No bad reviews. Staff, Decor, Rooms, and Grounds all excellent. The food at the Tiki Hut is great and reasonable price. There are may activities for the guest, mini golf, shuffle board, basketball and outdoor chess. Two extremely large pools and hot tubs. The beach is always nice and the sun is always shining. The bed sleeps like a dream. Very Clean always. I will be back again in 2014.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Ocean Pointe, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for your five-star review! We appreciate your kind words and are happy to be your home away from home. We look forward to your upcoming visit with us at Marriott’s Ocean Pointe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    269
    96
    37
    28
See reviews for
319
272
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We have visited this resort every year since 2011, sometimes twice a year. This resort is wonderful. I am total sold on Marriott from the experiences I have had at this resort. It is very clean, staff is very friendly and the food and drinks from the tiki bar are great. We haven't had any incidents since we have been coming here. The location is great and so is the beach and pools. I do miss the music they would play throughout the resort daily.

Room Tip: We like the sailfish building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Ocean Pointe, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
On behalf of our entire team, we thank you for your five-star review of Marriott’s Ocean Pointe! We are thrilled you love visiting the resort and consider it “paradise Island.” Our team thanks you for your continued loyalty and look forward to many more visits in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Very enjoyable place to vacation. Lots going on at the resort. Lovely beach and great pools. Staff was very helpful in room requested. Walking distance to a few restaurants. Great wild life preserve and state park just a bit north of the resort - must see for a taste of unspoiled Florida. Make sure you go to the Breakers for lunch at least. The valet will park your car and the $25 fee will be waived if you have lunch. Stunning slice of the glamorous age of Florida. Also, go to see the Flagler mansion/museum which is very close to the Breakers to see how the rich and famous lived "during the season" of society balls etc.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Ocean Pointe, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Our team is thrilled to read your five-star Tripadvisor review! We look forward to welcoming you back to Marriott’s Ocean Pointe in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Very welcoming and courteous reception staff. Lovely room with wonderful view. Requested kingfish, which was lovely and quiet away from children's pools etc. good beach access
Shame about the awful weather as we never got to use the pool etc.

Only down side was as the weather was very bad the tv wouldn't work and the lift shaft was flooded which meant we had to use the stairs luckily we were only on floor 3! And the staff did come and help with our cases when we checked out!

Room Tip: Choose a high floor for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Ocean Pointe, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
We are happy you had a great time while on vacation at Marriott's Ocean Pointe! While the weather was unusually cold, our team hopes you had a chance to participate in some of our great activities. We look forward to your next visit and appreciate your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Had a lovely second time at this place. We go because we have no desire to return to the Marriott timeshare we purchased and it seems pretty easy to trade here. Rooms are certainly fine - roomy, well-outfitted, etc. We're a couple in our mid-60's and really have no desire to engage it the social happenings - just want a very comfortable suite so that we can visit Floprida friends without imposing.

As someone else said - it is what it is. Marriott delivers an fine product and is very dependable. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. I'm at the age where we are more interested in buying a second home in FL rather than staying at hotels or timeshares so not sure we will return but for others in different situations, it's a fine option.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Used points for an extended weekend stay at the Marriott Ocean Point property Jan 9-12. As a Platinum Premier rewards member, I politely inquired as to any available upgrades upon check in. Front desk personnel stated verbatim, "They get mad at me when I do that. We don't honor that Marriott policy." No problem, we were there on points anyway. The studio room that we were assigned was clean but about 50% smaller than a comparable room at a Fairfield Inn. Upon checking the Ocean Point website, we found that the property had recently added an upgrade to a one bedroom king villa for the same amount of points, for the exact same dates as our stay. When calling the front desk, Derek told us that they don't have time to constantly check the website for new offers for their property. Again, no problem. Called the Marriott Rewards 800 line and they had a nice conversation with Drew in the front office of the Ocean Point property and arranged for the room switch the next day.

Bottom line - this is a time share property, not a full service Marriott. Don't expect the same level of service or recognition for your loyalty as a member of elevated status when using points or staying at this property. When you pull into the check in building parking lot, pull out your iPad and check Marriott.com to see if any PointSavers or upgrade specials have been listed that apply to your dates.

The property was very well maintained. Most buildings have gone, or are currently, undergoing renovations. The pools and grounds were clean and inviting. Security is consistent. There are activities on a daily basis that are primarily geared toward a more mature clientele.

A slightly above average value for a Marriott vacation property.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Ocean Pointe, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your review of Marriott’s Ocean Pointe. We are disappointed that you did not experience the high level of service Marriott is known for providing. As a Platinum Marriott Rewards member, we appreciate your business and regret that we could not accommodate your request. Your feedback is important to us and will be shared with our front office leadership for further review. We look forward to your next stay at our resort so we may truly exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We vacationed on Singer Island last year and had such a good time that we came back again this January. Let me start by putting things in perspective. We are a couple in our early 50's with no children looking to get a low cost warmer week (vacation) in January. We own 3 timeshare weeks and love the value of timeshare stays; especially when they are within driving distance (no airfare or rental car required). I get up at 5:00am everyday so a hotel room is a problem as I have no place to go while my wife sleeps in. The condo lifestyle of timeshare units works great for us. And finally, while back home we are known to be pretty sociable, on vacation we are somewhat private folks who are not looking to participate in the resort activities or meet new friends at the bar. Hopefully, that appropriately sets up the following comments:

Ocean Pointe is... okay. As the title says, "It is what it is." The other two Marriott properties on the island are superior but also more costly. Our one-bedroom "Master" unit was fine, as expected. We chose the Kingfish building knowing it was at the end and the building next in line for renovation so we could avoid kids and crowds. The pool for our building was small but nice, the beach close but not beautiful. (Anyone know what that eye-sore is at the port entrance?) There is a steep drop off on the beach and the sand is fairly soft and difficult to walk on. As far as beaches are concerned this one improves as you head further north up the island. The resort's On the Rocks restaurant served it's purpose and was an adequate place to watch the football games though the addition of DirectTV's Sunday Ticket in the room was very nice as well. Longboards is a very good beach type restaurant within walking distance and the bagel shop a couple steps further down the strip mall was very good, too. PB Shores is a cute neighborhood and offers plenty of safe and attractive walking paths.

Being on the south side of the island you travel almost everywhere by taking the bridge to the mainland through Riviera Beach. We never felt in danger, but don't usually vacation so close to "the real world" as is evident by just stopping in Walgreens. At the end of the day, it is a high crime area and you'd much prefer passing the private country club on the north end of Singer as a point of egress. (I'm sure someone else could have described this more eloquently. I did not mean to come across as snobby, but let's face it, when you are on vacation you'd prefer to relax and think happy thoughts.)

Ocean Pointe is a comfortable place which provides spacious rooms, resort activities for those interested (like mini-golf), and an attentive staff. Every employee we came in contact with was upbeat, helpful, and customer oriented. Singer Island is nicely located with easy access to Palm Beach, West Palm, PB Gardens, Jupiter, etc. Whether you just want to relax on the beach or eat well or play golf on excellent courses it is a fine base camp. Depending on how you come by the week, it can also be a very cost effective week. (We were fortunate enough to upgrade a studio lockoff unit in Aruba for a 1-BR Master during New Year's Eve week. Based on our rental history that equates to ~$1,000 gross, pre-tax.) I think our view from the balcony summarizes the place perfectly. We had a decent ocean view with a parking lot in the near foreground. If possible, we'd give the resort a 3.75. It wouldn't be an annual destination, though definitely in a 5-year rotation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Ocean Pointe, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott's Ocean Pointe! Our team appreciates your positive review and we are happy the villa accommodations worked well for your family. To answer your question, the equipment by the canal is a sand dredger that keeps the beach from eroding. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Ocean Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Ocean Pointe

Address: 71 Ocean Avenue, Palm Beach Shores, FL 33404
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Palm Beach Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Ocean Pointe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 682
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Ocean Pointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Ocean Pointe Hotel Palm Beach Shores
Marriotts Palm Beach Shores
Marriotts Hotel Ocean Pointe
Marriott Palm Beach Shores
Marriott Ocean Pointe
Marriotts Ocean Pointe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Ocean Pointe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.