We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Ocean Pointe

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Ocean Pointe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Ocean Pointe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   71 Ocean Avenue, Palm Beach Shores, FL 33404   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Girne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Very welcoming and courteous reception staff. Lovely room with wonderful view. Requested kingfish, which was lovely and quiet away from children's pools etc. good beach access
Shame about the awful weather as we never got to use the pool etc.

Only down side was as the weather was very bad the tv wouldn't work and the lift shaft was flooded which meant we had to use the stairs luckily we were only on floor 3! And the staff did come and help with our cases when we checked out!

Room Tip: Choose a high floor for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Ocean Pointe, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
We are happy you had a great time while on vacation at Marriott's Ocean Pointe! While the weather was unusually cold, our team hopes you had a chance to participate in some of our great activities. We look forward to your next visit and appreciate your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    338
    250
    87
    35
    25
See reviews for
294
238
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Had a lovely second time at this place. We go because we have no desire to return to the Marriott timeshare we purchased and it seems pretty easy to trade here. Rooms are certainly fine - roomy, well-outfitted, etc. We're a couple in our mid-60's and really have no desire to engage it the social happenings - just want a very comfortable suite so that we can visit Floprida friends without imposing.

As someone else said - it is what it is. Marriott delivers an fine product and is very dependable. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. I'm at the age where we are more interested in buying a second home in FL rather than staying at hotels or timeshares so not sure we will return but for others in different situations, it's a fine option.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Used points for an extended weekend stay at the Marriott Ocean Point property Jan 9-12. As a Platinum Premier rewards member, I politely inquired as to any available upgrades upon check in. Front desk personnel stated verbatim, "They get mad at me when I do that. We don't honor that Marriott policy." No problem, we were there on points anyway. The studio room that we were assigned was clean but about 50% smaller than a comparable room at a Fairfield Inn. Upon checking the Ocean Point website, we found that the property had recently added an upgrade to a one bedroom king villa for the same amount of points, for the exact same dates as our stay. When calling the front desk, Derek told us that they don't have time to constantly check the website for new offers for their property. Again, no problem. Called the Marriott Rewards 800 line and they had a nice conversation with Drew in the front office of the Ocean Point property and arranged for the room switch the next day.

Bottom line - this is a time share property, not a full service Marriott. Don't expect the same level of service or recognition for your loyalty as a member of elevated status when using points or staying at this property. When you pull into the check in building parking lot, pull out your iPad and check Marriott.com to see if any PointSavers or upgrade specials have been listed that apply to your dates.

The property was very well maintained. Most buildings have gone, or are currently, undergoing renovations. The pools and grounds were clean and inviting. Security is consistent. There are activities on a daily basis that are primarily geared toward a more mature clientele.

A slightly above average value for a Marriott vacation property.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Ocean Pointe, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your review of Marriott’s Ocean Pointe. We are disappointed that you did not experience the high level of service Marriott is known for providing. As a Platinum Marriott Rewards member, we appreciate your business and regret that we could not accommodate your request. Your feedback is important to us and will be shared with our front office leadership for further review. We look forward to your next stay at our resort so we may truly exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We vacationed on Singer Island last year and had such a good time that we came back again this January. Let me start by putting things in perspective. We are a couple in our early 50's with no children looking to get a low cost warmer week (vacation) in January. We own 3 timeshare weeks and love the value of timeshare stays; especially when they are within driving distance (no airfare or rental car required). I get up at 5:00am everyday so a hotel room is a problem as I have no place to go while my wife sleeps in. The condo lifestyle of timeshare units works great for us. And finally, while back home we are known to be pretty sociable, on vacation we are somewhat private folks who are not looking to participate in the resort activities or meet new friends at the bar. Hopefully, that appropriately sets up the following comments:

Ocean Pointe is... okay. As the title says, "It is what it is." The other two Marriott properties on the island are superior but also more costly. Our one-bedroom "Master" unit was fine, as expected. We chose the Kingfish building knowing it was at the end and the building next in line for renovation so we could avoid kids and crowds. The pool for our building was small but nice, the beach close but not beautiful. (Anyone know what that eye-sore is at the port entrance?) There is a steep drop off on the beach and the sand is fairly soft and difficult to walk on. As far as beaches are concerned this one improves as you head further north up the island. The resort's On the Rocks restaurant served it's purpose and was an adequate place to watch the football games though the addition of DirectTV's Sunday Ticket in the room was very nice as well. Longboards is a very good beach type restaurant within walking distance and the bagel shop a couple steps further down the strip mall was very good, too. PB Shores is a cute neighborhood and offers plenty of safe and attractive walking paths.

Being on the south side of the island you travel almost everywhere by taking the bridge to the mainland through Riviera Beach. We never felt in danger, but don't usually vacation so close to "the real world" as is evident by just stopping in Walgreens. At the end of the day, it is a high crime area and you'd much prefer passing the private country club on the north end of Singer as a point of egress. (I'm sure someone else could have described this more eloquently. I did not mean to come across as snobby, but let's face it, when you are on vacation you'd prefer to relax and think happy thoughts.)

Ocean Pointe is a comfortable place which provides spacious rooms, resort activities for those interested (like mini-golf), and an attentive staff. Every employee we came in contact with was upbeat, helpful, and customer oriented. Singer Island is nicely located with easy access to Palm Beach, West Palm, PB Gardens, Jupiter, etc. Whether you just want to relax on the beach or eat well or play golf on excellent courses it is a fine base camp. Depending on how you come by the week, it can also be a very cost effective week. (We were fortunate enough to upgrade a studio lockoff unit in Aruba for a 1-BR Master during New Year's Eve week. Based on our rental history that equates to ~$1,000 gross, pre-tax.) I think our view from the balcony summarizes the place perfectly. We had a decent ocean view with a parking lot in the near foreground. If possible, we'd give the resort a 3.75. It wouldn't be an annual destination, though definitely in a 5-year rotation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Ocean Pointe, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott's Ocean Pointe! Our team appreciates your positive review and we are happy the villa accommodations worked well for your family. To answer your question, the equipment by the canal is a sand dredger that keeps the beach from eroding. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had a 1 bedroom apartment at this resort, staying in Cobia block. The resort consists of 4 adjoining blocks. each with its own car park, and a 5th block just a very short walk away. It is a very large resort but well organised, we arrived early for check in but only had to wait a short time before being given the sixth floor apartment keys by a member of the very friendly, knowledgeable front desk staff

The apartment was very well furnished throughout and we couldn't find any fault with it. The sitting/dining room was very large, separated from the well-appointed kitchen by a breakfast bar. The kitchen had various electrical gadgets from full oven, microwave, food blenders to sink waste disposal units to dish-washer etc. We were supplied with plenty of crockery, glassware, serving dishes, pots, pan. and it was all very clean.

The bedroom was plenty large enough with a very comfortable, kingsize bed. There was also a wash basin and jacuzzi type bath, although must admit I am not really into a bathtub actually in a bedroom! This led through into a shower room with toilet and wash basin and then into the apartment hallway, in which was a large closet with a clothes washer/drier duo. A furnished balcony was reached both through the living area and bedroom and looked out over the grounds and ocean.

The grounds were not over-large to serve 5 blocks but fitted plenty in - 3 pools,one of the largest free-form spa pools I have ever seen, mini golf,putting green, childrens' play area, bar/snacks etc. Access to the beach was direct, through gates with security locks. Rather surprised that Marriotts do not provide beach beds - they were there but privately owned and rented to guests. Also surprised that they did not have a restaurant. The pool bar did food but it was mostly of the "fast food" type. We got food to takeaway to our room which was advertised on the menu as with coleslaw. Got it upstairs - no coleslaw. The same thing happened a couple of days later so we asked for the coleslaw and was told that yes, of course we could have it but they did not give it automatically because most people just threw it away and it was part of a cost-cutting exercise! Why don't they just take it off the menu if they don't really want you to have it?

The real things that require attention are
1. The perimeter hotel/scrubland before the beach bushes. In places there are large gaps in the bushes, which are filled in with what looks like unsightly dead scrubby prunings.
2 The rough lawn behind the jacuzzi dips alarmingly and is boggy for a lot of the time, quite bad to walk on.
3. The same lawn has what appears to be a dump of cement(the ground was too bad for us to make the effort to go closer to inspect it) towards the back.
4. There are also dumped chairs trying to hide behind the bushes at the back of the jacuzzi toilet block which need moving, together with various piles of old furniture in the Cobia inside car park.

Come on, Marriotts, you can do better than that - give the external areas a good clean out! The grounds are so nicely tended everywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Ocean Pointe, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Our team is happy to receive your positive review of Marriott’s Ocean Pointe! As a loyal Tripadvisor contributor, we truly value your feedback that you have provided. Your comments about areas needing attention will be shared with our facilities team so they may look into correcting these issues. We look forward to your next visit with us in sunny Florida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a week's stay at Ocean Pointe in December. The front desk employees were very helpful with our complicated reservation (multiple bookings through Marriott owner services). Our room was roomy, clean, and well-stocked. We especially enjoyed the large Jacuzzi spa tub. The only down-side was the yellowish-colored water - it made drinking water and lounging in the tub a bit less appealing. I'm sure it was just the minerals in the water, but it was still disconcerting.

The bed was comfortable, but a bit on the firm side for me (my back is quite sensitive). The kitchen had a nice, new electric stove/oven, microwave, fridge, blender, etc., so we were able to eat in for all our meals. There aren't really that many stores or good restaurants within walking distance of the resort, so eating in is a good option. We rented bikes from the resort one day and enjoyed riding around the town and then down the highway to John D. McArthur park (about 4 miles one way) and back. We also enjoyed playing tennis (they only have two tennis courts at the resort, so book early). They also seemed to double book the courts frequently, so double check your reservation or plan to play doubles with the other group that gets double booked). We noticed some public courts at a park a block down the road, so that could be another option.

Ocean Pointe offered daily activities like a scavenger hunt, ping pong tournament, trivia contest, etc., so join in when you want some social interaction. The pools are nice, but we enjoyed the Cobia pool the best as there were fewer kids in that one. The Cobia spa was supposed to be for adults only, but there were always kids in it when we went to it. The jets in the spa weren't angled right, so you don't really get a good massage from them either.

The activities staff were always super friendly (especially Sarah) and helpful. You can check out equipment to play shuffle board, corn hole toss, mini golf, ping pong, or tennis. You can easily spend your days at the resort and hardly leave. We ventured out for a movie on Christmas day to find that almost all the movies were sold out! We also ventured out for a light hike/walk at the Blowing Rocks Preserve. The beach trail takes you through a trail of mangroves and out to the beach (very sandy trail, but pretty). The Lagoon trail takes you along the lagoon and through some wild grasses/trees. Wear bug repellant and shoes that work well in the sand.

In summary, Marriott Ocean Pointe is a great place to stay for families or couples who just want to have fun and relax outside of the hustle and bustle of city life.

Room Tip: Sailfish building is near all the activities, but only a few rooms actually have an ocean view. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Ocean Pointe, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for your detailed Tripadvisor review of Marriott’s Ocean Pointe! We are so glad to hear you and your husband enjoyed your time with us and the many activities around the resort. Our team is appreciative of your kind words for Sarah and the rest of our associates. We look forward to your next visit and thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I must have inquired into about 60 rentals from Miami to Daytona for the holiday week of December 21-28th. I was introduced to this property by Donald Archer of TravelScowt and he was able to secure a 2 bedroom, 2 bath suite with only a 30 day notice before my travel date. My family of 5 were booked into the Copia on the 5th floor with an ocean view. Our balcony was facing north so we were out of the sun when we needed a break from it. The room was beautiful with full kitchen, 2 king beds, a sleeper sofa in one of the bed rooms and another sleeper in the living room. The room is super quiet, I never hear anyone next door, walking on the floor above or the elevator bell (we were the first room next to the elevator). There are 3 flat screen TVs and DVD players, full washer and dryer in the room, full set of dishes, utensils and cookware. There is only one place to eat on site, the Tiki bar. There is a small market with some prepared food but there is a Publix grocery store within a 6-7 minute drive. There is also a Wings store near by if you forgot or need any beach equipment. As others mentioned, the cost to rent an umbrella and a couple of chairs for 5 days is about $125. The least expensive chair at Wings was $20 but it is fairly cheap, not sure how comfortable it would be.

You can go to the website to see the amenities the hotel has to offer, they were all in working order and enjoyable. The pools are heated to a nice temperature and hot tubs are hot. The gym is nice and there is a bathroom with showers and a sauna right next to it. We used it on our last day to cleanup and change before we left in the afternoon. There are a couple of locations with multiple (8 at each location) gas grills that are clean and well maintained. Access to the beach is easy so you can move from the pool area to the beach in a few steps.
Free covered and uncovered parking, free WiFi and we received a coupon for a free Shutterfly photo album.

All in all a very nice place to stay, I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: As other have mentioned, you want to get on the forth floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott's Ocean Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Ocean Pointe

Address: 71 Ocean Avenue, Palm Beach Shores, FL 33404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Palm Beach Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Ocean Pointe 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott's Ocean Pointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Ocean Pointe Hotel Palm Beach Shores
Marriotts Palm Beach Shores
Marriotts Hotel Ocean Pointe
Marriott Palm Beach Shores
Marriott Ocean Pointe
Marriotts Ocean Pointe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Ocean Pointe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.