We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Winter Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Ocean Pointe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Ocean Pointe to your Saves list
Marriott's Ocean Pointe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   71 Ocean Avenue, Palm Beach Shores, FL 33404   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 20%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Burke, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful Winter Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I must have inquired into about 60 rentals from Miami to Daytona for the holiday week of December 21-28th. I was introduced to this property by Donald Archer of TravelScowt and he was able to secure a 2 bedroom, 2 bath suite with only a 30 day notice before my travel date. My family of 5 were booked into the Copia on the 5th floor with an ocean view. Our balcony was facing north so we were out of the sun when we needed a break from it. The room was beautiful with full kitchen, 2 king beds, a sleeper sofa in one of the bed rooms and another sleeper in the living room. The room is super quiet, I never hear anyone next door, walking on the floor above or the elevator bell (we were the first room next to the elevator). There are 3 flat screen TVs and DVD players, full washer and dryer in the room, full set of dishes, utensils and cookware. There is only one place to eat on site, the Tiki bar. There is a small market with some prepared food but there is a Publix grocery store within a 6-7 minute drive. There is also a Wings store near by if you forgot or need any beach equipment. As others mentioned, the cost to rent an umbrella and a couple of chairs for 5 days is about $125. The least expensive chair at Wings was $20 but it is fairly cheap, not sure how comfortable it would be.

You can go to the website to see the amenities the hotel has to offer, they were all in working order and enjoyable. The pools are heated to a nice temperature and hot tubs are hot. The gym is nice and there is a bathroom with showers and a sauna right next to it. We used it on our last day to cleanup and change before we left in the afternoon. There are a couple of locations with multiple (8 at each location) gas grills that are clean and well maintained. Access to the beach is easy so you can move from the pool area to the beach in a few steps.
Free covered and uncovered parking, free WiFi and we received a coupon for a free Shutterfly photo album.

All in all a very nice place to stay, I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: As other have mentioned, you want to get on the forth floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    293
    102
    43
    28
See reviews for
361
288
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I've been a frequent visitor to Ocean Pointe for several years. This year, I spent 3 consecutive weeks at 3 different MVC resorts. Ocean Pointe continues to lead the way. Overall condition of the property and villas - excellent. Variety of scheduled activities - excellent. Customer Service, especially from the Guest Activities crew - superb! I've compared them to some of the other Marriott Vacation Club Resorts - Orlando, Williamsburg, and Hilton Head and they've surpassed all of them.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Ocean Pointe, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
It is always rewarding to hear when we have exceeded our guest’s expectations! We appreciate your five-star review and thank you for your kind words for our team. We look forward to your next visit to Marriott’s Ocean Pointe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is timeshare establishment and Marriott also rents out per night. Good concept.

Hotel tesla is beautiful, but you need to be aware that housekeeping is on demand and have to pay per day, if you don't decline they would come in and charge automatically to your bill!
There are some bear minimal dinning facility by the pool but quality is Poe an price is...hotel price. It's best to dine outside or cook your own. Stay away from the bar alcohol items as they seem to lack any alcohol in it and just sugary mix. There is no place to eat breakfast!
The pool is moldy and that was somewhat concerning, also broken glass was observed. Also marriott's no smoking policy don't apply here, you see people smoking everywhere.

This isn't bad place, just be aware of cons.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Ocean Pointe, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott’s Ocean Pointe. While our team is disappointed we did not exceed your expectations, we appreciate your feedback. As a rental guest, daily housekeeping service is included at no additional charge. Your comments about the pool area are also concerning and will be shared with our recreation department for further review. We hope you will visit us again in the future, and thank you again for sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placitas, New Mexico
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We recently spent a few nights in a lock-off unit at Marriott's Ocean Pointe. The room was comfortable and very nice. I'm not sure if it's been redecorated or not yet; everything was in very good condition but the furnishings and colors are of the rather garish Caribbean sort that were popular a few years ago. The beach is quite beautiful, and very walkable. As other reviewers have noted, better beach views are to be had from the higher floors. The lush foliage separating the grounds from the beach is there primarily for erosion control. It's actually very attractive and requires a whole lot of maintenance to keep it relatively low. Beds and pillows were comfortable. It's a good place to relax since there isn't much else to do (but that's the point, right?). There are some very low-key planned activities scheduled if you so choose. The pools and spas are lovely and nicely landscaped. There are a couple restaurants that are in easy walking distance. Sailfish Marina restaurant is very nice but rather pricey; Johnny Longboats is quite good, more reasonable, and the quintessential tourist-pleasing-straw-hut sort of place. For anything else, you must drive off the island, which is certainly not difficult, but you'll need to plan your activities a bit in advance.

Room Tip: Higher rooms will have better views. Some of the rooms on the lowest floors are above the parking a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Ocean Pointe, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for visiting Marriott’s Ocean Pointe! We are thrilled to receive a five-star rating from a well-traveled guest such as yourself. Please come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, MD
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Have stayed here about half a dozen times; this time we had a 3-BR and it was SUPER! Marriott has maintained the amenities well and will keep our family and friends coming back, for sure. Enjoyed water aerobics for first time ever and wish I had done it before. Had a corner balcony from which we enjoyed amazing views and daily pigeon visits. The only glitches: my 24-yr-old daughter was treated like she was a lying teenager at the bar by two rude female bartenders (she did not have her license with her and they refused to serve her even tho she had a copy of her license on her phone and her mother with her to back her up. She had never been carded there before all these years so it was annoying). Also, the Pizza Hut was shut down and we had not been told. It is one feature we like here over other Marriott properties, especially since food choices are minimal on property. Swimming was interesting one day when we spotted a shark just feet away from us at the shoreline -- within minutes some locals had caught it on their fishing line (and released it), but after that, we stayed out of the water.

The area around the restaurant has improved since we started coming to this resort about 10 yrs ago and we found more places to eat and drink than ever within a mile. It is nice, too, that there is a newer Publix just over the bridge for grocery runs.

Room Tip: Call and speak directly to a manager before your stay. There is ongoing construction and knowing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

The resort is located right on the beach on Singer Island but the beach is nigh on invisible unless you are on the higher floors.
There are 4 buildings - 3 together and one separated from the rest by a neighbouring property. We had thought to stay there as it would be quieter, but there was no bar or restaurant open there at the time of our visit- so we are glad we didn't.
We were contacted before our stay to select which building we wanted and how often we wanted room service which is charged ( the main difference between timeshare and a hotel). a map of the property with facilities marked was sent through to aid our choice.
Staff were helpful.
There were daily activities to do, or not, plus a choice of pools. One for adults only for a good part of the day. Attractive garden layout separated different areas and facilities ( and hid the beach from view!)
There are Several different room options from hotel type with mini kitchen to 3 bedroom condos . We had a newly refurbished 2 bedroom 2 bathroom, which was spotless. Most rooms have a side view ( therefore looking at the next building rather than ocean facing) but our balcony gave us a view of a pool and part of the garden. Refurbishment is regular here. Which added to noise, unfortunately. As did the aqua aerobics classes each morning! But this is a beach resort not an Island hideaway, after all. The mini market was small but handy for emergencies. There is a good supermarket a couple of miles away back over the bridge. There was no restaurant as such, but there is a bar which serves food in the garden. The pizza outlet was shut during our stay.
There are a few other restaurants within walking distance on the Island, which gave us an evening outing.
All in all better than expected. But the dining and bar options were less than expected, whilst the accommodation was very good indeed.

Room Tip: Best rooms are ocean facing. Higher floors get better views and less noise. I would have been disapp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

No problems with any part of our trip, concierge gave great tips on nearby sites lighthouse in Jupiter for starters!

Oh the ocean.... loved it! Music at night wonderful had to compliment the guy we could easily listen to him from our balcony, which tempter us outside to hot tubs! a few drinks too
staff welcoming, very clean, and again worth it! carts available for your luggage in the downstairs garage plenty of parking too No concerns for our safety well lit and populated at night time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Ocean Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Ocean Pointe

Address: 71 Ocean Avenue, Palm Beach Shores, FL 33404
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Palm Beach Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Ocean Pointe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 682
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Marriott's Ocean Pointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Ocean Pointe Hotel Palm Beach Shores
Marriotts Palm Beach Shores
Marriotts Hotel Ocean Pointe
Marriott Palm Beach Shores
Marriott Ocean Pointe
Marriotts Ocean Pointe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Ocean Pointe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.