We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Ocean Pointe

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Ocean Pointe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott's Ocean Pointe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   71 Ocean Avenue, Palm Beach Shores, FL 33404   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Columbus , Ohio
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Loved this place! Right on the ocean, and a piece of paradise. Very clean suite. Fantastic comfy beds. We will absolutely come here again. Beautiful property with a relaxing atmosphere. We had no complaints. We wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    257
    90
    36
    25
See reviews for
304
247
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Allen
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was one of the best Marriott resorts that we have ever stayed at. Check-in (Sunday) was quick and easy, but unfortunately, we couldn't get into our room early. We were allowed use the resort's facilities until our room was ready. The one bedroom condo was clean and all of the appliances were in good working order, as well as the furniture was in good condition. All of the staff members were friendly and a member of the cleaning staff walked us to our room after we checked in.

We reviewed the activities for the week and ended up participating in several activities including morning stretching and water aerobics on several occasions. Other activities included Zumba, line dancing, salsa lessons and poker. There was also a welcome event on Monday morning that provided activities going on at the resort as well as the surrounding community. The resort has three pools and a very large hot tub. The pools are non-chlorine pools, which is great. There is also a nine hole putt-putt golf course, shuffleboard, volleyball, a tiki bar and a children's water area. There is so much available that I am sure that I have missed something. Another plus is that the resort has DirecTV, which means that there are many more channels available than usual. The beach is also great the water was still warm when we stayed in early October. Security at the resort was also top notch. There is a code to access the resort from the beach that changes during the week, a valid key card is required to park in the lots and a key car is required to access the buildings and use the elevators. In addition, the local police department isn't far away and we always saw a patrol car when entering or leaving the resort.

The surrounding area is very nice to explore. We had stayed at the other Marriott resort on Singer Island a couple of years ago and didn't do much around town. During this trip, we visited Worth Avenue, the downtown West Palm Beach area, the botanical gardens, the Diva Duck tour and several shops in Palm Beach Gardens off of PGA Boulevard.

Being that we exchanged into the resort using Interval International, we were able to request a building and room preference, but others had priority ahead of us, which was understandable. We received the building that we requested, but the room floor wasn't as high as we would have liked.

The only issue that we had was with the typical timeshare tours. When we first arrived on Sunday, we heard that the tours were offering a $125 gift card for a 90 minute tour. When we checked in and picked up our welcome package we were only offered $100. By Monday morning's welcome event, the gift card was down to $75. I'm not sure what determines the amount of the gift card, but it was concerning that the amount moved down so fast.

If you get a chance to stay at Marriott's Ocean Pointe, you should. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: If you want a view of the ocean, the fourth and higher floors are best due to the palm trees between...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have stayed at the property before, as this is our little getaway-go-to-place from Miami. We have recommended it to our friends and collegues, untill now.
previously we were checked into a dirty room, no problem, they apologized and ofcourse upgraded us to a suite. This time, we booked a guest room, as we were only staying for one night. after checking in, we were dissapointed in the room and called to see if there was not a different room, even in a different location. this was located by the parking area. after talking to the frontdesk agent, she transfered me to the mangager, not sure why, we just asked about the move. The manager, Kamal, was quick to tell me that he assignes the rooms and that there was nothing else, and this was what we had booked. I agree. But then he said, and this to me is the dealbreaker, "if you dont like the room, you are more than welcome to find a room at another hotel in the erea". Well, Im in the industry myself, and yes, that was the room we booked, and I believe there was another location. nontheless, that response is unacceptable. I tried to give my son a bath and the tub was leaking, the stopper barely closing, after calling guest services the girl thanked me for letting them know, ok, but im still trying to give my son a bath. Im not sure if we will go back, which is sad as we really loved going there. That is not customer service, everything else there is wonderful, just not their attitudes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Ocean Pointe, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share a review of Marriott's Ocean Pointe. While we appreciate your feedback, it is disappointing to hear that your experience from our staff was not up to the Marriott standard you expect and deserve. We have addressed your concerns with the resort general manager so corrective action can be taken. If there is anything else we can assist with, please contact our customer care team at 800 860 9384 or via email at customer.care@vacationclub.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Ocean Point is one of our home resorts in the Marriott Vacation club system. Since becoming an owner in 2000 we have enjoyed many fun vacations at singer island. The staff always goes above and beyond to make your stay the best. Everyone greets you with good morning, good afternoon, good evening. Need anything, just ask, they will take care of you. The beach is right at your door step. Spent every morning watching the sun rise on the beach, met people from all over the world at this resort. Drinks and food at the tiki bar where fine. Standard resort pricing($$$)' but the drinks where strong and cold and multiple TVs for viewing. Love the rooms at this resort. Even if you are not ocean front every unit has an ocean view. One of the first things we always do is open the curtains in the living room and set a chair looking right out the corner window. It's always a race to see who gets the window seat after a day at the beach. Kitchen is stocked well and towels are plentiful, pool and beach towels are provided and they do offer a towel exchange at the pools. The only quirk in our stay was the requirement of using your room key to make the elevator work. Usually had to place the key multiple times to get it to register. Not really sure how this makes the system more secure as on our last visit you had to use your key just to get into the vestibule but now you can just walk in to the vestibule without a key. Many times we saw people waiting on the elevator and they would piggyback on us in the elevator without showing a key. I would feel safer having the vestibule as well as the elevator keyed. Another little note. Always check your in room messages when the light is blinking. They change the gate codes on Thursday ( it would be nice if they gave you that heads up upon checking in) I figured it was just a sales call and did not check the message. Went out to the beach on Thursday morning and could not get back in the Marriott gate. Had to wait to piggyback! Do not hesitate to go to Ocean Point. You will have a great stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed from Sunday- Sunday and the staff was extremely friendly and the beach was amazing. There is so much to do within this area also. I highly recommend going snorkeling at the local park it is free and within just a few miles of the condo. Also on Thurs. nights at Starfish Marina there is a crafts fair you dont want to miss! There is reasonable priced jewlery and other unique items. This island is truly paradise! The Marriott's staff is very friendly and helpful. The Marriott also offers lots of free activities for its guests such as black jack, texas hold'em, dance, water arobics just to name a few. The only problem staying here is that you wont want to leave.

Room Tip: The higher floors will have a better view of the ocean. If you stay in the last building (the Kingfi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiscasset, Maine
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Great location, right on the beach and a short drive from West Palm Beach airport. We checked in on a Sunday, with a reservation for a 2 bedroom suite. We were given a handicap room, which we didn't want. Phoned the front desk, and they sent up a trainee, very nice young lady, who told us they had no way of knowing at the front desk that the room was handicap equipped. Seriously?

She showed us another room which had a number of water stains on the ceiling. Surprising, since the building was renovated two years ago. So we returned to the front desk and the front desk manager was able to find us another room, just one floor away from our original room. Speaking with the manager, we questioned why we would be given a handicap room when other were available, and then be told that they had no way of knowing which rooms were handicap equipped. While we were having this conversation, the couple checking in right next to us asked the desk clerk (the same one, by the way, who checked us in) if their room was handicap equipped. He quietly assured them it was not. Interesting.

Other than the initial poor impression, the rest of the stay was great. The property is immaculate, the rooms comfortable and well-equipped... typical of Marriott's high standards. Important take-away from this is: don't be afraid to ask for what you want. You shouldn't have to ask, but sometimes it's the only way.

Room Tip: All rooms have at least a water view. Buildings are renovated on a rotating basis, one a year and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monongahela
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great stay. Leave the beach towels at home, they have a towel exchange. The kitchen has everything you need, if you are going to have some meals in. The condo was very spacious and rooms were clean, the beds were nice, could have better pillows. All in all it was a wonderful week

Room Tip: Great stay, everything you need for the week, leave the beach towels at home, you can change towels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Ocean Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Ocean Pointe

Address: 71 Ocean Avenue, Palm Beach Shores, FL 33404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Palm Beach Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Ocean Pointe 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Marriott's Ocean Pointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Ocean Pointe Hotel Palm Beach Shores
Marriotts Palm Beach Shores
Marriotts Hotel Ocean Pointe
Marriott Palm Beach Shores
Marriott Ocean Pointe
Marriotts Ocean Pointe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Ocean Pointe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.