We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great choice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Ocean Pointe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Ocean Pointe to your Saves list
Marriott's Ocean Pointe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   71 Ocean Avenue, Palm Beach Shores, FL 33404   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Orlando, FL
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Always a great choice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I spent 4 nights at the Marriott Ocean Pointe in Palm Beach at the end of September. We had the 850 sq. ft. one bedroom suite and it was perfect. This was a last minute visit as my daughter was out of school for a Thursday and Friday so we made a nice long weekend out of it. From the time we arrived the staff we more than cordial and bent over backwards to help make our stay pleasant. The pools were in tip top shape and the beaches were beautiful. The pizza/sub shop was being renovated as well as one of the building which gave them a little more limited inventory to work with, but they still found a way to get us in a building close to the main pool. This is our second stay here and we highly recommend it for their outstanding service and the overall amenities of the resort. Don't hesitate to stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in one of the newest renovated buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    269
    96
    37
    28
See reviews for
319
272
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott Ocean Point Oct 2-6. So it was off season i guess you could say. To start this location is only about 10-15 min fro PBI airport. We arrived at 1:00 and had to wait till 4 to check in. We were a family of four, two kids ages 2 and 6. We scrambled to get the suits on the kids because they just could not wait to get into the pool. We were on the promo package and requested the Dolphin building, which I recommend because of its location to the kids pools. There are two in this area and an additional kiddie pool and a BIG hot tub. The pool area is large and plenty of chairs and shade options. The activity area/arts and crafts area for the kids is also close by, our six yr old spent a good penny making all kinds of crafts in there. There is also a water play area, bocce ball and mini golf. The Tiki bar had an OK menu. It would be great if they could provide cheaper kid options, variety of adult options were not that great. The food at the Tiki bar is average. Note: there are no "restaurants" on the property. I highly recommend going to the Sailfish Marina, its about a 10 min walk ( 30 min with kids who complain about walking) and the breakfast from the menu was great. Moderately priced, not cheap. But the quality is certainly there. I recommend the moms striking on some days and making everyone go there for breakfast. Coffee was excellent too. RIght on the water so you can see all the boats, fish..etc. Back at the hotel, once we were able to get into our room, which was a two bed/two bath suit. The room was very big, very clean. The rugs need to be cleaned, some stains that were gross, so I yelled every time the kids rolled around on the floor. NOTE: I have been to Florida a 100x times and never noticed but the water in this hotel is YELLOW!! Bright YELLOW, so when I had to give the kids a tub, I yelled at them for peeing in the tub..my 6 yr took forever to convince me that neither her or my two yr old peed in the tub.. I called the front desk, and they assured me it was normal and it had to do with the limestone in the water, but i have to say, Marriott: Please look into some type of water treatment, its gross. I used tons of bottled water when boiling stuff in the kitchen and making coffee because it just made me uncomfortable. There is a TV in each room so everyone was able to watch whatever they wanted. The cleaning staff stop by in the morning to check on your supplies and if you want cleaning, which I denied, and just took the towels, etc. I think there is a charge for this but not sure. The room size is great and very clean. The beach is nice. We had dinner one night at Johnny Longboats, it was OK, don't order the snapper with crab, it was gross and so were the ribs. The kids ate chicken tenders and did not complain. We did not go back. Thats when I decided to head to publix and stock up and used the grills they had at the hotel, which were very clean and easy to use. We did not eat out for the rest of our trip, I wish we had. For a day trip I highly recommend going to Lion Country Safari, get there as soon as they open. It was FANTASTIC...look online for discounts you can save $10 a person.. there is a drive through safari and then a walk through animal/rides/waterpark place, bring bathing suits and towels. You can feed the giraffes up close.. This was excellent. I would go back in a second! Our overall experiece at the Marriott Ocean Point was excellent. The staff was nice, we did NOT have any issues with anyone. We would stay here again. If there is any Marriott staff that read this, here are some suggestions, the walkway by the elevator in the garage area need to be marked with a stop sign for the cars.. although it only happened once, the kids ran out from the elevator door and almost go run over. Also the gate near the turtle hut, needs a sign to turn the handle UP to open.. sooo many people were confused and every time I walked by I had to open the gate.

Room Tip: If you have children call ahead and put in a request for the Dolphin building. the view does not mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We went here for a couples weekend. It was a great getaway and the staff was great to get us into a room extremely early so that was really nice. There was bocce on property which was a nice surprise! The beach view is obstructed by the landscape, so that was sort of a drawback but otherwise we enjoyed our stay all around. Marriott Vacation clubs are always a great value and offer a ton of space.

Room Tip: We didn't have a great view and had a far walk to the pools but we didn't spend much time in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was our first visit to Palm Beach. The resort was first rate across the board. From check in to the use of the pools, restaurant, and courteous staff. Easy access to the beach. Not too much to see or do within walking distance. But there is plenty of shopping, restaurants, bars etc. within a few short miles. The concierge at the Marriott was very helpful providing directions to the downtown nightlife. Most of the daytime was spent hanging out at the pool and soaking up some warm Florida sun. We took daily walks on the beach and enjoyed the beautiful ocean views from our room. Staying there in late September, it was pretty low key. Kids are back in school and the snowbirds haven't arrived yet. Very nice!!!

Room Tip: Request upper floor, ocean view. minimum one bedroom. Sailfish or Dolphin bldg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The resort itself and the beaches are great, however the location is awful. It's in the middle of the freaking ghetto and there isn't much happening in west palm beach.

Pros:
- Beaches are nice
- Rooms are nice and clean
- Comfy beds

Cons:
- In the middle of the ghetto. The resort area is nice, but everything surrounding the resort is ghetto.
- Few restaurants nearby
- Not much to do nearby. If you want a relaxing vacation by the beach, this is it.
- Internet connectivity is awful
- No room service

Room Tip: We stayed in a 2 bedroom room. The rooms are hotel-style connecting doors. The first room has a kin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed a relaxing day on the beach, and then swam in the pool when I was tired of the waves. There are several pools to choose from, all are great! Very nice atmosphere and so relaxing!!! The beaches are secluded from the rest of Florida's beaches because the resort/hotel is on an island. Very cool, and you can see the Florida coast spreading south from the island!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Big resort with lots to do if you can amuse yourself and as you can expect with larger properties the service can be a little off. As a platinum member was promised a high floor with sea view and also told at check in that our requests were respected. However the 3rd floor looks onto the palm trees rather than giving you a sea-view. The Cobia building was recently refurbished and looks ok. The tiki on the rocks shows all the football games and has a good ambiance. Housekeeping well it would be good if they actually show up.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Ocean Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Ocean Pointe

Address: 71 Ocean Avenue, Palm Beach Shores, FL 33404
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Palm Beach Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Ocean Pointe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 682
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Ocean Pointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Ocean Pointe Hotel Palm Beach Shores
Marriotts Palm Beach Shores
Marriotts Hotel Ocean Pointe
Marriott Palm Beach Shores
Marriott Ocean Pointe
Marriotts Ocean Pointe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Ocean Pointe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.