We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Ocean Pointe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Ocean Pointe to your Saves list
Marriott's Ocean Pointe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   71 Ocean Avenue, Palm Beach Shores, FL 33404   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 20%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband and I just spent our 10-year anniversary at this beautiful resort, and we couldn't have been more pleased! We have stayed at Marriott timeshares in Orlando, Phoenix, and Aruba, and this one was by far our favorite. The resort is clean and well-kept, and the pools, kids' area, bar, bathrooms, Marketplace, etc. are all centrally located, and very convenient no matter which building you are staying in. The parking is free, which was an added bonus. Beware if you are a smoker. The resort is smoke-free, so you are not even permitted to smoke on your balcony. There are a few designated smoking areas, but that's it. We could not get enough of the beach here. The water is crystal clear, and we had a great time bobbing in the waves. The resort is the last one on the strip, so it doesn't get as much foot traffic as I imagine the resorts further down do, which makes it really enjoyable, and not overly crowded. If you don't have chairs of your own, you will need to pay to rent lounge chairs and an umbrella (shade is a must on this beach or you will roast). We paid $100 for the week, and it was the best investment we made. The chairs are adjustable, our spot was right near the water, and the guys that run the service come around a few tmes a day to see if you need your umbrella moved to provide more shade. They are highly attentive, and also a great source of info for recommendations for places to eat, and things to do in the area. We were even lucky enough to see a giant sea turtle laying her eggs on the beach one night when we went for a moon-lit walk! I really can't say enough about this resort. It is just spectacular. And if you have children, it's a great spot. They have a kiddie pool, a sprinkler park, and a whole area of games...minigolf, shuffleboard, bocce, corn hole, etc. And the resort offers a variety of daily activites for kids and families. You can even rent boogie boards and bikes right there at the resort. Book a few nights here...you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view or ocean front room above the third floor for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    293
    102
    43
    28
See reviews for
361
288
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarksburg, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed in a studio while here and was fairly comfortable. Room was clean, showing some wear. It's my understanding they are in the process of renovations. Brochure for food was out of date, the Pizza Hut express doesn't exsist. They created a sub shop that sells pizza but no Pizza Hut. Store was pricey. Staff were courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We visited the Marriott's Ocean Pointe May 17-24, 2013. We had previously stayed at this resort in September 2011 and were pleasantly surprised that it had gotten even better. Although we had gotten our room through an Interval International exchange, the desk clerks made every effort to give us a decent view. We were in the Sailfish building with a private balcony and a pleasant view of the pool and the ocean. The facilities were clean and attractively decorated-this was the first time that we had stayed in one of the refurbished buildings! Love the location with restaurants, groceries and shopping close by and convenient. We also went down to the full-service Marriott for a lovely dinner. Our villa was large and comfortable and just perfect for two people. The pools, hot tubs, and tiki bar just make the whole outdoor area really special and the beach is lovely this time of year. We had a great time.

Room Tip: Although you don't have a lot of choice when you are exchanging through a timeshare, be polite a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Marriott's Ocean Pointe is a larger resort in the Marriott Vacation Club collection. Rooms are nice but the main living side is a little smaller compared to others we've stayed at (Marco Island, Panama City Beach, Kauai). We stayed in one of the renovated towers (Cobia or #5) so it was nicely updated. High end appliances including washer/dryer. Service, although mostly friendly, was sometimes very slow, otherwise I would have given it a five. Pools are great and even though it was 93% full or so, there were always chairs to be had. Beach is great with easy access. Fitness center seemed to have plenty of equipment (did not venture to the other fitness center at the Kingfish bldg, or the pool there) and all worked great. Drinks at the bar were good, though pricey. Food at the bar was decent, not great, but convenient. Onsite pizza to go was average. Great Starbucks coffee in the MarketPlace was better than at the others we've stayed at, plus they had a full service espresso bar there as well.

Palm Beach has some great restaurants if you're willing to drive a ways, but we stayed pretty local. Sailfish Marina Restaurant is fun and easy to get to, food is good to average. Some of the fresh fish was a bit butter-soaked, but fried shrimp was great. Waterway Cafe was good. Two Drunken Goats, which was very close, had some great tropical 'bar food.'

Overall, great beach hotel and weather is typically pretty good. We had one day of rain but the rest were beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilton head island
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We are currently at this resort and it gone DOWN HILL since our last visit. The check in girl was beyond rude. The beach is NASTY and they are making no attempt to clean it up! the rooms need to be re-cleaned. crazy disappontment! We are platinum Marriott members
And the front desk girl said this is Marriott vacation club we don't care about platinum here. Currently we are trying to move locations even though we will lose money because we pre-paid. I'm sure the manager we talked to will pop up with a patronizing reply to this review but I'm warning you, if you like hospitable service, like you would expect from a Marriott go down the beach to the Singer Island Marriott and Spa, that's what we are doing!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, MVW Customer Care at Marriott's Ocean Pointe, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you are not having a positive experience at Marriott's Ocean Pointe. This is not typical of the guest experience at our resort so we would appreciate an opportunity to personally address your concerns. While many of the Platinum benefits available at Marriott Hotels do not apply at the Marriott Vacation Club resorts, we very much value your loyalty to Marriott and you as a customer. Please contact us at customer.care@vacationclub.com or at 800 860 9384. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We arrived the Saturday before Mother's Day. I booked the place using an Interval International timeshare exchange. Honestly, after several mediocre experiences with RCI exchanges, I was not sure how this would turn out. There were mixed reviews here and other places on the web. I was not disappointed at all. Check-in process was very smooth. It took less than 5 minutes! Extremely grateful after a 7-8 hour drive. We were assigned a two bedroom villa on the first floor of the Pompano building. I knew before the trip that the lower floors didn't have a view of the ocean...but that wasn't really important to me. For those people fussing about the view...the property makes their policy of reserving higher floor units for OWNERS very clear...that's right..people who buy into the Marriott Vacation Club can have that great view...

Moving right along...the villa was great. Parking was abundant..and we even snagged two spots under the building. There are two elevators in the building (which is handy when lots of people are checking out). The parking areas and elevators are secured by RFID card access. The hallways were well lit and clean. Our villa had a lockout option and with separate entrance (this is just one of the efficiency suites connected to a larger suite by a locking door similar to a hotel room) so we could all come and go as we pleased without disturbing anyone. There were plenty of pots, pans and dishes as well as towels (which always seems to be a problem) and a washer/dryer stacked unit. The master suite had a really nice two person spa tub and a huge shower as well. Sliding glass doors exit to a balcony connected to the living room. I can't say much about the other room...I didn't spend any time in there, but the other couple that was with us seemed to enjoy it thoroughly.

After we got settled we decided to take a trip down to the pool bar and grab a bite to eat. It was closing but we were served anyway and the food was pretty decent for bar fare. Fish tacos,chicken quesadilla and blackened mahi sandwich were a few of the items on the menu. Drinks were all about 10 bucks but this is to be expected at a resort. My only complaint about "On the Rocks" is that they didn't accept cash. Credit or room charge only...but I survived. Not a bad experience to top of a really long day traveling.

I won't delve into all the little things that our group did, but I do want to throw in some highlights about the resort and Singer Island/Palm Beach Shores. The resort is well appointed. Plenty of activities for children and a towel exchange near the pools. Plenty of restrooms everywhere and a nice marketplace for things that you may have forgotten. They advertise Starbucks coffee but it is horribly brewed. There is also a sub and pizza shop on site but I didn't even make it there. There are 4 pools - but two are so close together it should really be counted as one and another is at the Kingfish building ...pretty far from the rest of the resort. During the day the larger pool near the bar was mostly occupied by children and the Cobia pool generally was full of older people. The two HUGE spas were great for evening relaxation. You could seriously fit at least 20 people in these overgrown hot tubs. The fitness center in the Pompano building was very nice and had a very clean locker room area with sauna and shower connected to the private massage rooms. There were always plenty of chairs around the pools and grounds. So many chairs that you could just grab one and drag it to a spot of sun on the grass if you wanted. In fact, they had chairs stacked near areas of the lawn that I guess are popular for sunbathing. If you are a smoker, there are plenty of designating smoking areas surrounded by beautiful landscaping for you. The main resort has two beach access paths, one near the main pool and one near the Pompano building. There are also two really large and clean grill areas on the grounds as well as mini golf, shuffleboard, cornhole, and other games and activities.

The beach...ahhhh the beach...the reason for this vacation. I was surprised -- shocked even -- that the beach was clean and not at all uncomfortable to walk on barefoot. My previous experience with east coast beaches in Georgia and Florida is not entirely pleasant. There was plenty of room on the beach and the water was absolutely crystal clear. Walking out 100 feet at low tide, you may only be waist deep and you can see your toes through the water. This property is next to an inlet to the intracoastal waterway and there is a large pumping station of some sort at the end of the beach. Jutting out from this is a concrete walkway that allows for some stunning views of the coast line. You can also follow this walkway back towards town to find a walking/bike path.

This review is getting really long so let me just point out that Singer Island is beautiful, but specifically the town of Palm Beach Shores. The whole town MIGHT be 1 square mile with resorts along the coast and a residential area in the middle. The walking/bike path cut through the middle of the town was fantastic...something I bet a lot of folks miss out on but that I would definitely recommend. If you start walking west at the end of South Ocean you will find it...absolutely stunning landscaping and some of the coolest plants and trees I have ever seen. The resort does try to provide everything you need for entertainment and dining purposes but there are a few decent to damned good restaurants within a short walk. There is also a liquor store, small grocery store, a Wings beach store, gas station and 711 all within a short walk or bike ride.

In short (after a very lengthy review) this resort was amazing and I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My family spent 3 nights at the Ocean Pointe for a competition my daughter was in at Palm Beach Atlantic. I have to say I was really surprised about how great this resort is. I was expecting it to be good as it is a Marriott resort, but this one far eclipsed my expectations. The front desk staff was amazing and the entire resort staff seemed to bend over backwards to meet our needs. We stayed in the Studio room with a king bed and sleeper sofa. Small kitchen area with fridge/freezer and microwave. This room was perfect for our family and the balcony had a great view. The ammenities were great, 3 pools, a kiddie pool, and 2 huge hot tubs. Also this resort has a great putt putt golf course, shuffleboard, and a beach volleyball court. I highly recommend this resort to anyone taking an extended vacation in the West Palm area.

Room Tip: The Cobia building was just completely remodeled and is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Ocean Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Ocean Pointe

Address: 71 Ocean Avenue, Palm Beach Shores, FL 33404
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Palm Beach Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Ocean Pointe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 682
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz and Marriott so you can book your Marriott's Ocean Pointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Ocean Pointe Hotel Palm Beach Shores
Marriotts Palm Beach Shores
Marriotts Hotel Ocean Pointe
Marriott Palm Beach Shores
Marriott Ocean Pointe
Marriotts Ocean Pointe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Ocean Pointe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.