We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facility, nice beach, close to Plam Beach, but without the hassles” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Ocean Pointe

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Ocean Pointe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott's Ocean Pointe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   71 Ocean Avenue, Palm Beach Shores, FL 33404   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Chicago
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great facility, nice beach, close to Plam Beach, but without the hassles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I am a long-time Marriott time share owner, and a relatively happy one. Having stayed at a dozen or so of their resorts, this is definitely one i liked and would return to. The 2 bedroom unit I had was comfortable and well equipped, as usual for the Vacation Club. The staff was pleasant and accomodating to every request. The location of the resort was in Palm Beach Shores, which is north of Palm Beach, across the inlet, so it is pretty peaceful, but still close to the amenties of Palm Beach, West Palm, and Palm Beach Gardens. The grounds are well kept, there are several nice pools (with some restricted to adults, good), and a bar and a restaurant. There is easy, private access to the beach. It is pretty easy to relax and unwind.

About the only word of caution is that the southernmost building of the complex is disconnected from the rest because of another resort being located in between. If you are located there, it is a short hike to the rest of Ocean Pointe (but they do have their own pool). Oh, and the elevators in some of the buildings have a very annoying constant buzz, which almost sounds like an alarm. Wish they would fix that.

Room Tip: Just remember that a room off the pool has more noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    340
    252
    88
    36
    25
See reviews for
297
238
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We recently returned from our second visit to the Ocean Pointe. This second visit was significantly better, and I thank the good weather for that.
Ocean Pointe is on the southern end of Singer Island, beachfront. The beach isn't the best that Florida has to offer, but it has sand and plenty of shells for the kids to play, build, collect. And the waves were active enough for all of us to enjoy. The pools are really lovely. Large, not too deep, and provide plenty of space for you to sit around the pool to keep an eye on the kids. There is a hot tub as well. They even put in a nice, small, splash pad for the little kids, very cute.
The property is huge: 4 buildings. If you want to be right in the action, most convenient to getting to the main pool area, kids activity centre, mini golf... ask to stay in the Dolphin or Sailfish buildings. If you prefer more quiet, ask to stay away from these buildings!
The rooms are comfortable, clean (upon arrival - more on this in a moment), with a large and fully outfitted kitchen, which we really appreciate on family vacations. A two bedroom unit can comfortably sleep 4-6 people, you can even squeeze in 8 people if you need to.
There are many planned activities throughout the week, always something going on for the kids and adults including but not limited to: organized Zumba classes, aqua fit, tennis clinics and round robins, karaoke nights, scavenger hunts, mini golf, even the nice lady that is always there to braid the girls hair for $50-70 a head!!! Very few of these activities would be fun if it was raining or cold outside...
The staff at the childrens centre are wonderful. very sweet with the kids, and always happy to help and chat with the kids.
Having visited several Marriott vacation villa properties in the past, I do have a few criticisms for Ocean Pointe:
- From the moment we arrived at the hotel, we felt like we were being nickeled and dimed. Everything costs extra. Sundaes for the kids... tennis clinic (that I was told was free when i reserved on the phone), borrowing movies on DVD... I can understand a charge to the room if we DON'T return the movie, but to pay for a movie as a guest???
- There is NO housekeeping for your room throughout the week. We have stayed at places that offer once a week housekeeping included, plus you can ask for additional. No such thing here.
- When we asked to extend our stay by one night (2 units) we were given such a hard time. We actually ended up going online to book an additional night because we were told how difficult it would be to find 2 units for one night!!!
- On our last night, we were woken at 5 am by VERY LOUD workers in the neighboring unit. Apparently the room was going to be renovated and so they thought 5 am would be a good time to start moving furniture and appliances around.
There is also quite a bit to do in the area. Great shopping (City Place and the Gardens Mall), as well as along PGA Boulevard. Restaurants are OK in the area, plus the Loggerhead Marine Life Center is a fabulous and educational place to visit to learn about sea turtles. There is a PlayMobile fun park in Palm Beach for the younger kids. You can also take a nice boat ride through the intracoastal waters to see all the magnificent houses along the water.
Will we return? Yes, probably. We have relatives that love the place, so we will likely join them again in a few years, more to spend time together than to be at Ocean Pointe.

Room Tip: Dolphin/Sailfish buildings to be close to the "action" Higher floors are quieter, nicer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Because information is confusing about exactly where this hotel is located, know that it is located on the southern end of Singer Island immediately south of Riviera Beach. If you are interested in a Marriott location, there are two others within a mile or two of Ocean Pointe: Oceana Palms and the Marriott Resort. The beach is fabulous all along Singer Island! We were there during the third week of January and the water temp was 75, perfect for wading or swimming. There is a minimum of nightlife within the immediate area and most of the restaurants are located in other hotels, though there are a few good ones within walking distance. There is a very good, large Publix grocery store located next to the bridge to Singer Island. There is a wonderful walking path down the middle of the Palm Beach Shores area and another short one on the southern edge of the island.

We stayed on the third floor of the Dolphin building. We had a two bedroom suite and it was nicely (and newly) furnished, though not luxurious. We used the kitchen quite a bit and it was very functional and useful. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had one problem that has caused us to knock our rating down by one notch. The larger bedroom had a large tub with jacuzzi but my wife had difficulty figuring out how to make the jacuzzi work. When one of the maintenance workers was at our room to swap out a battery in the room's door lock so our room key would work, she asked him to show her how to start it. It turned out that the unit itself was unplugged and the motor was burned out and needed to be replaced. So we had checked into a room that was not ready, uninformed about it, and had to report this problem in order to get the problem fixed that should have been evident based on check-out procedures (not to mention a probable previous report). It was fixed promptly once the maintenance worker discovered it.

A real positive thing that was not clear from information in advance: almost every living room in the four newer buildings of this complex has a view of the ocean. The design of the buildings has each large room built out further from the room next closer to the ocean, and each has large corner windows that clearly view the ocean. Each bedroom has a small porch with table and chairs. You can sort of see the ocean from these porches. The rooms were quiet though most were occupied.

We were very disappointed in the Welcome Center because it is nothing more than a checkin-checkout area. When you arrive you will wonder if the rooms are as unattractive and poorly designed as the Welcome Center! The answer was, No. But if you want a large indoors area to relax (as almost every large hotel has), this one doesn't have it. We were told it will be renovated later this year. The pool area is large and very nice. There is a convenience store that includes a few gift items but no gift store (go to the Marriott Resort two miles down the street for that).

We did attend the Marriott Tour for those who aren't familiar with the Vacation Club. It lasted 2.5 hours though we were told it would last 1.5 hrs. That doesn't mean that we were pressured but there were three people who came to talk with us about different aspects of ownership. This "Tour" occurred down the street at the Oceana Palms Marriott (about a mile away).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed for a weekend in September. The property was very nice and new. We loved our room and the lady at the front desk was very nice and upgraded us to a pool view room. The pool was very nice and I loved how there are romantic little hidden spots with swings. The beach is right behind the property and everything else is a short drive away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Prior to any trip, I consult TripAdvisor for reviews and opinions of various aspects of an upcoming vacation. Often I find many positive reviews and a more than a handful of negative. While I certainly understand that individuals can have a bad experience, I have come to realize that some people set unrealistic expectations for their vacation experience.

Some of the negative reviews of the Marriott Ocean Pointe I felt were unfounded. Sure there were signs of wear and the occasion "dings" on the walls, sure there were places a refresh on paint was in order but what does one expect from a place that operates 365 days a year. None of the small, cosmetic blemishes detracted in any way from the vacation objectives of rest and relaxation.

Upon arrival, the desk clerk was extremely helpful and enthusiastic about making our vacation great from the start. When asked for a high floor, she replied that they were full with owners for the week and that would be hard to accommodate but she did make every effort to find the best room possible. It had an "ocean view" if you looked through the palm trees but it wasn't looking at the back of a building so I was pleased. The room was in the a building slated for renovation this fall and when she told me that, I admit I was a bit nervous. I was pleasantly surprised upon entering the room. Again, there were a few dings here and there but it was clean, comfortable and just right for two people.

The property caters to families with many opportunities to keep the kids active. Having no kids, I prefer to stay away from the "family" areas and the pool outside our building was mostly adults. There is miniature golf, ping pong, pool, shuffle board etc. to keep everyone entertained. The workout area was top notch and the hot tubs were large and never overcrowded. A big bonus on the hot tubs is that no kids under 16 are allowed and the staff insured parents followed the rule!

The concierge was probably the most disappointing part of the experience. She was less than interested in finding out our needs and recommending possibilities. She simply printed lists, maps and things to do and handed them to me. When asked her recommendations, she indicated "all of them, they wouldn't be on the list if we didn't". Not really what I was looking for.

Finally, the food options are very limited and basically amount to a pool bar and a Pizza Hut. I was told by an owner that due to Florida regulations, they were unable to erect a restaurant due to needing to maintain more green space for water run off. Fortunately, there are about a dozen restaurants within walking distance so we never went hungry.

All in all I found the Marriott Ocean Pointe and enjoyable experience and spent many morning walking on their beach enjoying the sunrise. If you enjoy a quiet island, simple amenities and the chance to sit back and relax, I feel this property is the one for you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Do not hesitate to take your family to Ocean Pointe. Everything is within a short car ride and the property is very nice. Make sure to ask for a newly remodeled room. Our room was recently remodeled and it was perfect (granite, large shower, etc.).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My family stayed in a 3 bedroom / 3 bath unit over Christmas. We had a great time with the beach and all of the other activities that this Marriott resort offers. We stayed in the dolphin building on the 4th floor. The ocean view was great and our unit was in excellent shape (nice furniture, 4 big flat screen TVs, etc. I would recommend this resort for the beach and for the location to Palm Beach

Room Tip: I would recommend staying in the dolphin or the cobia building as they have recently been renovated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott's Ocean Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Ocean Pointe

Address: 71 Ocean Avenue, Palm Beach Shores, FL 33404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Palm Beach Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Ocean Pointe 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Marriott's Ocean Pointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Ocean Pointe Hotel Palm Beach Shores
Marriotts Palm Beach Shores
Marriotts Hotel Ocean Pointe
Marriott Palm Beach Shores
Marriott Ocean Pointe
Marriotts Ocean Pointe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Ocean Pointe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.