We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Romantic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Ocean Pointe

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Ocean Pointe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott's Ocean Pointe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   71 Ocean Avenue, Palm Beach Shores, FL 33404   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Orlando, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed for a weekend in September. The property was very nice and new. We loved our room and the lady at the front desk was very nice and upgraded us to a pool view room. The pool was very nice and I loved how there are romantic little hidden spots with swings. The beach is right behind the property and everything else is a short drive away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    257
    89
    36
    25
See reviews for
304
246
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Prior to any trip, I consult TripAdvisor for reviews and opinions of various aspects of an upcoming vacation. Often I find many positive reviews and a more than a handful of negative. While I certainly understand that individuals can have a bad experience, I have come to realize that some people set unrealistic expectations for their vacation experience.

Some of the negative reviews of the Marriott Ocean Pointe I felt were unfounded. Sure there were signs of wear and the occasion "dings" on the walls, sure there were places a refresh on paint was in order but what does one expect from a place that operates 365 days a year. None of the small, cosmetic blemishes detracted in any way from the vacation objectives of rest and relaxation.

Upon arrival, the desk clerk was extremely helpful and enthusiastic about making our vacation great from the start. When asked for a high floor, she replied that they were full with owners for the week and that would be hard to accommodate but she did make every effort to find the best room possible. It had an "ocean view" if you looked through the palm trees but it wasn't looking at the back of a building so I was pleased. The room was in the a building slated for renovation this fall and when she told me that, I admit I was a bit nervous. I was pleasantly surprised upon entering the room. Again, there were a few dings here and there but it was clean, comfortable and just right for two people.

The property caters to families with many opportunities to keep the kids active. Having no kids, I prefer to stay away from the "family" areas and the pool outside our building was mostly adults. There is miniature golf, ping pong, pool, shuffle board etc. to keep everyone entertained. The workout area was top notch and the hot tubs were large and never overcrowded. A big bonus on the hot tubs is that no kids under 16 are allowed and the staff insured parents followed the rule!

The concierge was probably the most disappointing part of the experience. She was less than interested in finding out our needs and recommending possibilities. She simply printed lists, maps and things to do and handed them to me. When asked her recommendations, she indicated "all of them, they wouldn't be on the list if we didn't". Not really what I was looking for.

Finally, the food options are very limited and basically amount to a pool bar and a Pizza Hut. I was told by an owner that due to Florida regulations, they were unable to erect a restaurant due to needing to maintain more green space for water run off. Fortunately, there are about a dozen restaurants within walking distance so we never went hungry.

All in all I found the Marriott Ocean Pointe and enjoyable experience and spent many morning walking on their beach enjoying the sunrise. If you enjoy a quiet island, simple amenities and the chance to sit back and relax, I feel this property is the one for you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Do not hesitate to take your family to Ocean Pointe. Everything is within a short car ride and the property is very nice. Make sure to ask for a newly remodeled room. Our room was recently remodeled and it was perfect (granite, large shower, etc.).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My family stayed in a 3 bedroom / 3 bath unit over Christmas. We had a great time with the beach and all of the other activities that this Marriott resort offers. We stayed in the dolphin building on the 4th floor. The ocean view was great and our unit was in excellent shape (nice furniture, 4 big flat screen TVs, etc. I would recommend this resort for the beach and for the location to Palm Beach

Room Tip: I would recommend staying in the dolphin or the cobia building as they have recently been renovated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

After reading some of the reviews before, I was very wary and had slightly low expectations, However, was pleasantly surprised at size and quality of the apartment., so I'm giving this 4/5. Ask for a high floor in dolphin building or the one next door. Ask for sea view. Nothing much to do in resort and no real food there either. Beach is dirty and uneven and you need to go out of resort for food and beach. Kitchen was not well stocked with cups/plates etc, but staff very obliging when you called for these. We are Marriott timeshare owners in Europe. Beware they will do all they can and try to lure you into a 'presentation'. My advice - dont go - not even for the lousy incentives they offer you, its just not worth a whole morning of your vacation, let alone the aggravation and the unpleasant attitude of the sales staff (they wanted 28000 dollars from us!!) and then when you tell them you have absolutely no intention of buying more time or its equivalent without due consideration, and when you want to leave then suddenly everything is a lot less 'awsome'.Also when you say you are jet lagged and need some time to look at figures etc before you sign on the dotted line they dont like it! They must think we are all morons and will do anything for a salseman we have met for a few minutes who shares immediately with you all his intimate life moments and then shows you a family picture album! What a nice regular guy he must be, and honest and trustworthy too! They try to capitalise on your supposed greed by offering an incentive and trying to obligate you.
Resort on the other hand was OK. Palm beach is a bit of a no mans land place anyway, its not Miami and its not Orlando. Publix - the supernmarket was good. Would not have stayed there had we not swapped in our timeshare week. Perfectly safe to walk outside the resort, but you MUST have a car otherwise you are stuck. No maid service, beds - uncomfortable, poolside loungers very uncomfortable.The little shop on site was overpriced and not all that well stocked.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view, high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Hi - we are marriott owners (not at this resort) so have stayed at many Vacation Clubs so we may be more Marriott savvy than others. Firstly Singer Island is very quiet so don't go here expecting to walk to some nightlife, this suited us so we liked that aspect. Staff are all great - special mention to Rich on Concierge who was super helpful - but they were all very friendly and helpful as we would expect from MVC. We were allocated 4411/4412 in Pompano Building as we had booked a 3 bed apartment so this is a lock-off studio with kitchenette and 2 bed apartment. This building has not been refurbished and it shows in the room decor and furnishings. When we checked in there was a door handle on the floor and a blocked toilet but both were resolved quickly. Even though it was not up to the standard we have experienced at the other MVC's, the location was great as our view of the entrance into the intracoastal and all the boats coming in and out (inc a cruise ship) was a highlight for us. One truly disappointing factor in the room was how stingy and very used the crockery and kitchenware was compared to any other MVC we have been to, the dishwasher was on constantly as the minute we had all had a meal, there were no cups etc left. Also the frying pan was quite used and there was only 2 baking trays. In addition the twin room only had sheets and blankets not duvets like the other rooms which again made it seemed a little unloved. The balconies have tiny tables which was disappointing as you cannot eat on the balcony. Having said all this we had a great week, we loved the view and the beach is fantastic (you can hire chairs etc but its cheaper to go to the surf shop down the road and buy some cheap beach chairs if you are going every day), the pools are very nice, lots of activities such as mini golf, 6 gas bbq's for guest use and generally all well kept. Our tips would be ask for a room above the 4th floor if you want a view, Sailfish Marina is a short walk away and great for food (inc breakfast) whilst watching the boats coming and going - and the herons! - so do go there even if its just for sunset cocktails. We ate at Charleys Crab on Xmas Day on Palm Beach which was superb. We also ate at Johnny Longboats which was OK but don't go if you can't afford to wait as the service is slow. Would we go again to Ocean Pointe yes from all 6 of us! We did go and look at Ocean Palms up the road and the apartments there are brand new and lovely but we still think our view of the boats (which they don't have) was more than worth it.

Room Tip: 4th floor and above have rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My family and I stayed at this hotel for the 3rd time in early December. We were checked in by an associate named Jane. She wasn't as welcoming as the previous associates who checked us in on previous stays, but she did manage to get us into our villa early. So kuddos to her. The room was nice with a partial ocean view. The beds were comfortable even the pull out bed in the living room, we loved the flat screen televisions and the nice showers. The hotel had a host of activites going on throughout our stay, but my family and I just enjoyed the beach, the HUGE whirlpools and the pools. We will definitely visit this resort again and I would definitely recommend this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Ocean Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Ocean Pointe

Address: 71 Ocean Avenue, Palm Beach Shores, FL 33404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Palm Beach Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Ocean Pointe 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Marriott's Ocean Pointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Ocean Pointe Hotel Palm Beach Shores
Marriotts Palm Beach Shores
Marriotts Hotel Ocean Pointe
Marriott Palm Beach Shores
Marriott Ocean Pointe
Marriotts Ocean Pointe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Ocean Pointe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.