We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good large apartment, refurbished” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Ocean Pointe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Ocean Pointe to your Saves list
Marriott's Ocean Pointe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   71 Ocean Avenue, Palm Beach Shores, FL 33404   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good large apartment, refurbished”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

After reading some of the reviews before, I was very wary and had slightly low expectations, However, was pleasantly surprised at size and quality of the apartment., so I'm giving this 4/5. Ask for a high floor in dolphin building or the one next door. Ask for sea view. Nothing much to do in resort and no real food there either. Beach is dirty and uneven and you need to go out of resort for food and beach. Kitchen was not well stocked with cups/plates etc, but staff very obliging when you called for these. We are Marriott timeshare owners in Europe. Beware they will do all they can and try to lure you into a 'presentation'. My advice - dont go - not even for the lousy incentives they offer you, its just not worth a whole morning of your vacation, let alone the aggravation and the unpleasant attitude of the sales staff (they wanted 28000 dollars from us!!) and then when you tell them you have absolutely no intention of buying more time or its equivalent without due consideration, and when you want to leave then suddenly everything is a lot less 'awsome'.Also when you say you are jet lagged and need some time to look at figures etc before you sign on the dotted line they dont like it! They must think we are all morons and will do anything for a salseman we have met for a few minutes who shares immediately with you all his intimate life moments and then shows you a family picture album! What a nice regular guy he must be, and honest and trustworthy too! They try to capitalise on your supposed greed by offering an incentive and trying to obligate you.
Resort on the other hand was OK. Palm beach is a bit of a no mans land place anyway, its not Miami and its not Orlando. Publix - the supernmarket was good. Would not have stayed there had we not swapped in our timeshare week. Perfectly safe to walk outside the resort, but you MUST have a car otherwise you are stuck. No maid service, beds - uncomfortable, poolside loungers very uncomfortable.The little shop on site was overpriced and not all that well stocked.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view, high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    267
    96
    37
    28
See reviews for
316
268
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Hi - we are marriott owners (not at this resort) so have stayed at many Vacation Clubs so we may be more Marriott savvy than others. Firstly Singer Island is very quiet so don't go here expecting to walk to some nightlife, this suited us so we liked that aspect. Staff are all great - special mention to Rich on Concierge who was super helpful - but they were all very friendly and helpful as we would expect from MVC. We were allocated 4411/4412 in Pompano Building as we had booked a 3 bed apartment so this is a lock-off studio with kitchenette and 2 bed apartment. This building has not been refurbished and it shows in the room decor and furnishings. When we checked in there was a door handle on the floor and a blocked toilet but both were resolved quickly. Even though it was not up to the standard we have experienced at the other MVC's, the location was great as our view of the entrance into the intracoastal and all the boats coming in and out (inc a cruise ship) was a highlight for us. One truly disappointing factor in the room was how stingy and very used the crockery and kitchenware was compared to any other MVC we have been to, the dishwasher was on constantly as the minute we had all had a meal, there were no cups etc left. Also the frying pan was quite used and there was only 2 baking trays. In addition the twin room only had sheets and blankets not duvets like the other rooms which again made it seemed a little unloved. The balconies have tiny tables which was disappointing as you cannot eat on the balcony. Having said all this we had a great week, we loved the view and the beach is fantastic (you can hire chairs etc but its cheaper to go to the surf shop down the road and buy some cheap beach chairs if you are going every day), the pools are very nice, lots of activities such as mini golf, 6 gas bbq's for guest use and generally all well kept. Our tips would be ask for a room above the 4th floor if you want a view, Sailfish Marina is a short walk away and great for food (inc breakfast) whilst watching the boats coming and going - and the herons! - so do go there even if its just for sunset cocktails. We ate at Charleys Crab on Xmas Day on Palm Beach which was superb. We also ate at Johnny Longboats which was OK but don't go if you can't afford to wait as the service is slow. Would we go again to Ocean Pointe yes from all 6 of us! We did go and look at Ocean Palms up the road and the apartments there are brand new and lovely but we still think our view of the boats (which they don't have) was more than worth it.

Room Tip: 4th floor and above have rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My family and I stayed at this hotel for the 3rd time in early December. We were checked in by an associate named Jane. She wasn't as welcoming as the previous associates who checked us in on previous stays, but she did manage to get us into our villa early. So kuddos to her. The room was nice with a partial ocean view. The beds were comfortable even the pull out bed in the living room, we loved the flat screen televisions and the nice showers. The hotel had a host of activites going on throughout our stay, but my family and I just enjoyed the beach, the HUGE whirlpools and the pools. We will definitely visit this resort again and I would definitely recommend this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed in a studio room at the Ocean Point 4 weeks ago. We stayed for a week and had a great time! The rooms have been recently updated, we had a comfortable bed, lots of pillows, flat screen tv, small fridge, nice shower, balcony with an ocean view, etc. It was a great experience, the resort was quiet, the pool was great, the beach is a-m-a-z-i-n-g! I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jericho, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Using Interval World, we traded one of our time shares to stay at this Marriott located on Singer Island. Although we are Starwood owners, we have stayed at plenty of Mariotts in the past. Unfortunately this resort, although in a great location, just does not measure up to the Mariott name or reputation. We stayed in a studio villa that was quite small but adequate. I tried to get an upgrade and even offered to pay for it. The front desk said it was not possible ( I found out that there were many empty villas available that week yet Marriott told me I would have to pay full price for the larger villa). In any event we made the best of our small accommodations. As for the resort, there is nothing to write home about. Because of Hurricane Sandy, there was virtually no beach to sit on. The pool is just ok. The gym is adequate. We are tennis players and there are 2 hard surface courts. We thus spent most of our time visiting other area in South Florida (South Beach, Palm Beach, Las Olas, etc). Not a very inspiring resort. There are plenty of other resorts much nicer and accommodating.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greencastle, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Larger 20 acre property nicely maintained on Singer Island next to the cut. Beach is nice with good swimming near shore and fun shelling ( sea glass is our thing). Several nice pools and very large hot tubs throughout the property. Rooms are nice but many do not have water views due to low rise buildings. Many nice nature parks in the area for kayaking. Busch Wildlife Rehab Park and Loggerhead Rehab both in Jupiter were great day trips and basically free. Not much nightlife and only a few dining options but we mainly cooked ourselves or ordered fron Tiki Hut on property...great burgers. Overall very nice snowbird resort.

Room Tip: Go as high as you can for better views...only 7 stories
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of days last year and came back this year and stayed 3 nites. This is a beautiful property with many activities. I am an exercise nut, and they have Zumba twice a week and watered aerobics every a.m. At 9:30. Heated pools and a very quiet area, great for walking. It's a very small community surrounded almost entirely by water (3 Sides anyway). The weather in November has been great both times, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Ocean Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Ocean Pointe

Address: 71 Ocean Avenue, Palm Beach Shores, FL 33404
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Palm Beach Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Ocean Pointe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 682
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Ocean Pointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Ocean Pointe Hotel Palm Beach Shores
Marriotts Palm Beach Shores
Marriotts Hotel Ocean Pointe
Marriott Palm Beach Shores
Marriott Ocean Pointe
Marriotts Ocean Pointe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Ocean Pointe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.