We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shovels? During Sea Turtle Nesting Season?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas to your Saves list
Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Ocean Avenue, Palm Beach Shores, FL 33404   |  
Hotel amenities
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Shovels? During Sea Turtle Nesting Season?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Someone must earn a lot of money selling beach umbrellas. Employees dug several large holes with industrial shovels just a few feet away from all the marked sea turtle nests. Perhaps because it is a private beach, the resort has permission to dig up these nests if they are in the way of a paying customer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
We appreciate your concern for the sea turtles on our beach, but you are mistaken. The beach vendor never uses shovels when putting an umbrella in the sand for a cabana. The only time a shovel is used is when burying seaweed. The law states seaweed should be buried in the tidal area, which is called the wet sand area. We adhere to those parameters and are very cognizant of nesting sea turtles. Nests on our beach are marked with caution tape and monitored closely. We work diligently with Environmentalists that monitor the turtles and educating our guests of the sea turtles’ endangered status.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    248
    125
    60
    60
See reviews for
244
259
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at this resort from June 8th - 15th. We were very skeptical about this place because of the bad reviews. Well, we were very surprised how beautiful the resort and location was. We called ahead and asked to have a room on the North Tower upper floor and we were given room number 602, with an ocean front view and a view of the pool. Very nice. We said no to the timeshare invitation, and we ignore the flyers and phone messages that we received from the sales people. We did notice that the toilet was very weak, so my advice is to use little toilet paper at a time and flush multiple times. Our shower handle was broken and the door to the balcony was also broken, but the maintenance guy fixed them right away. So thank you for that.

We didn't rent the beach chairs and umbrella, we brought our own, we just set up our stuff on the public beach to the left side of the hotel. We tried the pool which was nice but we prefer to swim in the ocean. Yes, the beach has seaweeds and some garbage laying around, but the staff tried to clean them every morning. People, stop littering. The hotel restaurant was ok. We prefer Johnny Longboats, and the Sailfish Marina Restaurant better. We went to Publix for groceries, but if you don't plan to have a car with you, there is a 7Eleven close by. Check out Sailfish Marina, it's really nice. And if you can, try to visit City Place outdoor mall at West Palm Beach, it's really pretty. Also, do not wander off passed Publix grocery store at Riviera Beach (the city next to Palm Beach Shores), it's not a good/safe location in my opinion.

Overall, we had a great vacation at Palm Beach Shore Resort. We will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Call ahead for North Tower upper floor. Also, note that you have to pay for parking and safe for $7...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your recommendation of Palm Beach Shores Resort. We’re happy to know that you were pleasantly surprised by our resort and services. Please note that beach areas to the left and right of the resort are not public, but still within the resort’s private beach area with food and beverage service. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and we hope to welcome you and your family back to beautiful Singer Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My wife and I spent last week "decompressing" from work. Our first time staying at Palm Beach Shores Resort since we purchased our time share. WHAT A GREAT PLACE - WHAT A GREAT TIME!
The unit we were lucky enough to be assigned overlooked the ocean/beach as well as the courtyard & pool. We enjoyed the sunrise in the morning over a cup of coffee on our deck. A short walk down the boardwalk and the clean / warm sand led us to the crystal clear inviting waters of the Atlantic. Afternoons were enjoyed around the pool, sunning - making use of the outside Tiki bar and listening to live music everyday - what a treat!
The amenities of the resort were wonderful, staff pleasant and hospitable. Be sure to rent bikes when you go and enjoy a self tour of the island, stop by the Marina for a "water taxi" ride over to Peanut Island.
At the south end of the Island is a nice Gazebo to sit and watch the yachts, fishing boats and freighters enter and exit the inland waterways.
The resort can arrange all kids to actitivies (parasailing, kayaks, etc), tours and fishing excursions - a full service concierge desk!
The grounds were impecible with lush vegitation, beautiful palm trees and flowers - all well manicured.
The condo was well furnished, very comfiortable and spacious. Had read reviews of lack of hot water or worn furnishings or poor parking. We experienced none of these issues, everything was top notch and we had an absolute blast!
The Owners Services Department certainly insures that time share owners are happy and well taken care of.
Cannot wait to go back again.

Room Tip: Any room courtyard view or ocean view (those would be in north tower, north view). are excellent. Gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We appreciate that you have chosen us as your home resort. We can receive no better compliment than knowing that you have entrusted us to provide you with great vacations for years to come. The next time you want a front row seat to the beautiful Atlantic Ocean, we’ll be here to welcome you at Palm Beach Shores Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This place is disgusting! Both my room and my cousin's room were infested with bugs. The beach was nice and the food was good but the overall stay was just okay. They only cleaned our room one time out of the whole 7 days, the decor is a flashback to the 70's and it is not eye-appealing at all. The staff was really nice but some of them were a little weird. Honestly, I would of preferred to stay somewhere else but I was going to enjoy my stay despite the the circumstances.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room on the 6th floor, which are the better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you found bugs in your room. Many guests leave the balcony doors open for the sea air and unfortunately in Florida’s tropical climate, the bugs will come in. The resort regularly services for pests and we would have gladly had someone come to the room for additional service if we were aware of the issue. Owners and exchangers arriving on Saturday receive full housekeeping services including linen changes on Wednesday. Sunday arrivals receive full service on Thursday. Renters receive full service daily. This housekeeping policy is noted on our website and advised at check-in. We regret that we didn’t meet all of your expectations and hope that you will return so that we may have a future opportunity to show that we off the best value for a Florida beach vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Resort has dirty and very crowded feel; room was clean but furniture is very old and poorly laid out. No maid service but they charge you $25 cleaning fee after you check out. Parking ($6/day) & safe fee ($1/day even if you do not use it) is a joke. Cleaning staff is constantly in elevators with huge laundry bins - apparently no service elevators. Misery abounds - thankfully the ocean is near

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
We regret that we did not meet your expectations because we strive to provide great vacation experiences for every guest that chooses to stay with us. As you can see by the many guest reviews here we are successful most of the time, however it seems in the case of your visit we fell short of that goal. Thank you for taking the time to review us and we wish you better travels in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We travelled here in May with friends who have a time share at this location. We (wife and I) are more used to all inclusives, this was our first as part of a time share. We got to sit through a time share presentation (brief sales pitch as our friends already have units) which was interesting. We had adjoining rooms on the 3rd floor. Both had nice balconies, one full length of the suit. Each unit had separate bedrooms, one with king bed the other with 2 doubles. Each had their own kitchen with everything to prepare full meals. The bathroom was huge with separate shower and bath.
The pool and deck were nice. People were nice enough to take their towels when they left the pool area, unlike a lot of A.I.'s that sit unused except for a towel for hours on end. You can bring your own cooler of beer/drinks to the pool area.The pool was nice, not huge but never really busy. They had a good sized hot tub that was well used at night. There was a Tiki bar at the pool open until 11pm ish. It was busy during the day, but very quiet at night. there was a restaurant on site that we ate at once for dinner that was very good. Wife had an egg for breakfast that was raw but got fixed quickly.
They had a one man band playing at the pool during the day who was very good. Night at the resort were really quiet, after dinner it seemed dead. Beach area was beautiful, you had to pay if you wanted chairs/umbrella. If you like to collect shells this beach is awesome, although little hard to get. There were a couple of bars only a minute away from the resort which were nice and a 7-11 to buy your beer for the room. Lots of area to walk around, like the marina and watch the swarming fish. Overall very good stay with good friends. Lots of older people and if you are looking for nightlife this is not the place.Resort was nice and clean and never really bugged by the time share people.They had some activities but not many people taking part. gym was small with mostly cardio, but not busy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for your comprehensive review on Palm Beach Shores Resort. Tripadvisor reviews are vital to our reader’s decision-making when choosing a vacation destination and we appreciate it when a guest of ours takes the time to share their experience in detail. Your comments will surely help others get the most out of their own beach vacation. It’s truly a pleasure to know you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you back to the beach on your next Florida vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I did not like that every time wanted to go to bathroom had to plunge toilet and had to run hot water 45 mins ahead of time before you wanted to take shower if you wanted a hot shower the time share sales folks non stop bugging you I paid 156 a night for this they did have a guy come and snake the toilet 4 of the 7 days i was there did they offer to reduce my rate or help me in any way heck no they did nothing I would not send my worst enemy to this place .....nice outside bar but a beer is 7 bucks... staff is very rude

Room Tip: My tip would be choose marriot and not this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review. If a guest calls in an issue we log it, dispatch engineering to clear the problem and then the front desk will call the guest to check for satisfaction. We investigated your review and could find no mention of plumbing issues of this magnitude reported from May 1st to June 9th, the day your review posted. We are pretty consistent with our procedures and are very sorry that we can’t provide any further information. We deeply regret that you were unhappy with our service and we hope that you will reconsider returning so that we may have another opportunity to prove that not only are we the friendliest, but overall always best choice for a beachfront vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas

Address: 181 Ocean Avenue, Palm Beach Shores, FL 33404
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach Shores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Palm Beach Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Beach Shores Resort And Vacation Villas Hotel Palm Beach Shores
Resort Vacation Villas Palm Beach Shores
Palm Beach Shores Resort Vacation Villas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.