We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disapointed !” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas to your Saves list
Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Ocean Avenue, Palm Beach Shores, FL 33404   |  
Hotel amenities
Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“very disapointed !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We were very happy to come to this residence. However, the reception at check-in we were disappointed . Indeed, we first came to 14.00 , he had to come back later, the room was not ready. Ok , we left and came back around 15.30 . And then we had to wait 16.00 ! This is the first time in over 20 years that we do stays RCI that we are made to wait . We made a long trip, we are tired , I am handicapped because I walk with a cane. Finally after insist the person (unpleasant ) at check-in we wanted to stay on the 1st floor , we did not. It is currently housed on the 5th floor , room 518 , but with lots of imperfections : worn carpets , no fogging at the show , worn, broken glass cupboard, brake broken door shelf of the broken machine toaster disassembled furniture (we repaired it ) etc ... etc ...
The only positive point is the restaurant staff is very friendly and attentive, the food is good. We leave next Sunday , but we will not go back this residence and we do not recommend .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We were not aware that you were unhappy with our service until we received your comments here. Since you are still at the resort we have made several attempts to contact you to discuss your review. We do everything we can to provide a great vacation experience for our guest. We regret that you now have a negative impression of our service and hope that you will respond to our messages and contact the front desk so that we may have an opportunity to address the issues you presented. Thank you for your patronage and we hope to improve upon your experience before you leave and prove that we are always the best choice for a Florida beach vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    248
    125
    60
    60
See reviews for
244
259
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We loved this resort greatly, it was close to nightlife tennis courts and of course it was right on the beach. They take great pride taking care of their guests! The only downer was that all the windows were foggy because the seals have failed!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for your recommendation. We do take great pride in taking care of our guests and we’re thankful that you appreciated our efforts during your stay with us. Condensation will appear on windows when warm humid air meets cooler glass, so that is probably the reason your windows appeared foggy. Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back to the beach on your next vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copley, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We spent a week at Palm Beach Shores Resort beginning on April 20. This was our first time at this resort. The check-in was quick and efficient. Our request for the north tower, upper floor with an ocean view was accommodated. Our room was very nice and included all the amenities. The bathroom was huge! The building and grounds were extremely well maintained. We were pleasantly surprised by the food at the restaurant, especially the reasonable prices. The pool area was very well maintained, and one thing that surprised us was that their staff makes sure there is no saving of chaise lounges for hours on end. That's so different than we've experienced at other resorts. The entertainment at the pool every day was most enjoyable. Our only complaint was that the air conditioning did not maintain a constant temperature, so at night we experienced periods of hot and then cold. We will go back!

Room Tip: Upper floor with a pool/ocean view is a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
First impressions are lasting and we’re glad to know that our resort made a great impression on you. Thank you for your recommendation of Palm Beach Shores Resort and our awesome team. We look forward to sharing our hospitality with you again the next time you want to head to the beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We traded for this property thru RCI and based on other reviews were a little concerned about what to expect. As someone who travels frequently for business I have found that service can be rated not only when things go right but also how things are handled when there is an issue. Here is our story
Based on other reviews, we decided to be proactive and call and request a room in the north building on an upper floor. We let them know that we would not be checking in until late Thurs. We arrived around midnight and learned that they had put us on the 2nd , not as we had requested.
The night auditor , Quirino, could not have been nicer. He saw immediately that our request had not been granted and offered to change our room to a better one, although not what we desired He said that he would leave a note for the morning to see what they could do. True to word, we were accommodated the next morning to a nice room on the 6th floor. So for that alone 5 stars. The rest of the stay was wonderful, great music by the pool, very reasonable drink prices , served at your chair by an amazing waitress, Lisa. Not sure where she gets her energy but always smiling. Such an asset.
Our checkout was scheduled for Sun but we decided that we would extend our stay If we did not have to change rooms. We went to the front desk on Sat and spoke with Ryan ,the on duty manager. He very nicely explained that he would not know until the day of checkout whether or not they could accommodate that request as people may be checking into that room. Totally reasonable. He advised that we check at from desk the morning of checkout around 9. That is where our first issue, the entire stay occurred. The person at the front desk, Bloudy, without even checking our room, told me that if we wanted to stay we would have to move to the first floor.She let us know that whoever told us to check with her that morning did not know what they were talking about ,when I mentioned that we would told to check the morning of check out.
As an RCI member, this resort has many amenities of a full service resort, valet parking, children's program,entertainment and pool beach service.Although an older resort, it appears that they are constantly maintaining with everything immaculate.
In my opinion they were short of 5 stars for 2 reasons. First, in a 5 star resort you frequently get a safe in the room, which I use consistently. I have never however been charged for it. I would suggest upping the parking fee or charging for internet. Better yet, charge a per day resort fee with all those things included. Perception is a big thing. The other is the front desk. Make sure that everyone is customer friendly. The last interaction dampened the wonderful experience with everyone else. It is one thing not to be able to meet a request but to not attempt to try is not good customer service.




Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your first trip to Palm Beach Shores Resort. We’re committed to creating lasting relationships with our guests and we apologize for the lack of service you received by one of our front desk employees. Your comments have been shared with the resorts management team and will be used as a training opportunity to improve our customer relations and to “see things from the guest point of view”. We’re thankful to know that overall we provided you with a relaxing vacation. We look forward to your return so that we may have a future opportunity to prove that our employees are the most attentive and friendly employees on Singer Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Our first time here and we were generally very pleased with this resort. There really is a lot to like here - suites are small but well appointed, staff including parking valets and bell captains are very helpful, very nice pool and beach, drink service at the pool and beach, a really neat tiki bar adjacent to the pool, entertainment every day at the pool and every night in the restaurant, the restaurant is very good and reasonably priced, housekeeping service is excellent, and I could certainly name other wonderful features.

What keeps this from being rated higher? First and foremost, the incessant badgering from the time share sales crew. We let them know in very certain terms upon checkin we were not interested but still received daily phone messages and flyers under our door. Enough!

We had mechanical problems with our refridgerator (twice) and kitchen sink. Maintenance attention was extremely prompt but I don't expect to have to deal with those issues.

The pool was overcrowded every day - you had to get there by 9 A.M. every day to get a chair. The place was overrun by kids - spring break, I guess. The beach rental prices for chairs and umbrellas are outrageous.

If you can overlook the negatives and don't have any maintenance issues, this is a really neat resort in a great location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for sharing the highlights of your vacation with us. The warm weather and beautiful beaches makes Florida a vacationer’s paradise. Along with this locale, the various resort amenities are the reason Vacation Village Resorts has chosen Palm Beach Shores Resort as a prime location to showcase the benefits of Vacation Ownership. Yet if sometimes their presence may disrupt relaxation, we do apologize because that is not our intent. Many who come as guests to Palm Beach Shores Resort leave as members of the Vacation Village Resort family of owners. We apologize for the issues you had in your room. It is inevitable that from time to time mechanical issues will occur but thankfully we have a great maintenance team to respond to these incidences quickly. We understand that the fees associated with the beach rentals may seem excessive to you but they are quite competitive for this area in Singer Island. We hope that our many amenities and friendly hospitality will entice you to return for another vacation with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineral, VA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The resort is on the beach but also has a very nice pool area and tiki bar. We have been timesharing for nearly 25 years and found this property one of the nicest and best maintained we have seen. The resort offers every amenity from gym and spa to pool to restaurant to store to complimentary valet parking, etc., all well run and efficient. The rooms, applicances and common areas are very well maintained by an extensive staff (the ice maker in our room, for example, wasn't working so we called the desk and had a uniformed maintenance tech at our door in 10 minutes... at 9pm.)
The resort's restaurant serves very good food and has live entertainment most nights, as does the poolside tiki bar area.
Our timeshare week is in Pompano at very nice property, but this one is definitely the top of the list.

Room Tip: The thursday craft show and sale at the local marina is well worth visiting. There is a free shuttl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you, what nice things you have to say! Naturally we feel we offer a great vacation experience but it is always a pleasure to hear from guests who appreciate our great accommodations and attentive employees. Thank you again for taking the time to post and we look forward to sharing our hospitality with you again at Palm Beach Shores Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I imaging in 1990 this was a great place, but for 2014 it is sub-par. But, first the good news. The location is fantastic and the beach is world class.

Now the bad news...

- The furnishings are vintage 1990, the "kitchens" are small and there is just not enough room. The furniture is all dinged up. (Good news is that they do have state of the art TVs)

- Who in 2014 gives you two double beds? Why not one king. Come on guys, owners pay over $1,000 a week for maintenance, so $50,000 a year should buy you new mattresses.

- As I said, the beach is great, but they want $30 to rent an umbrella. $30!!! Wow, how is it that I can rent a $30,000 car for $26/day from Avis, but a $100 umbrella (at most) cost me $30? This is outrageous.

- The pool, although nice is extremely crowded and they play loud music ALL DAY LONG. What happens if I want to rest? And, NO SHADE and NO UMBRELLAS! Use this pool only if you like to sit out in the sun all day long.

- The "hard sell" is one thing but this place goes way beyond that. This is a time-share resort and the push to get you into a presentation is non-stop. EVERY DAY there is a flier under your door and a phone call. They don't even had a do-not-call list.

- Check-in is at 4.00 PM and that is fine. But, if you get there before noon they will put you on a list when a room is available. 12.10? No deal, you can't get on the list.

- The lobby is VERY LOUD with the front desk, the concierge and the time-share "Hospitality Desk". It's the opposite of elegant.

- There is very little parking. Okay, they offer free valet parking but that just adds to the hassle of getting your car and a few bucks tip each time.

- One day we decided to work out. Their workout room is quite small and very warm. I took off my shirt because of the heat and within ten minutes someone from the front desk came in and told me the rule was that a shirt had to be worn. I told him that as soon as they cooled the room down I'd put the shirt on. He told me he'd kick me out if I didn't put on a shirt. Later, looking at the dozen or so rules for the room I noticed there was not a rule about shirts. So much for being customer friendly.

- The restaurant is dingy, warn and the food mediocre. Upon checking in they give you a voucher for two drinks at the bar (good only the day you check in). So we went in and ordered a couple of glasses of wine only to be told that the voucher was only good for a very small list of drinks. A disappointment at best.

So, we won't be going back and we do not recommend this to anyone. We'v owned time shares for almost 40-yrs and this is in the bottom few resorts we've stayed in.

Truly a disappointment.

Room Tip: Get as high as you can. The noise from the pool is terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share because your candid comments of our resort are appreciated. We take pride in our property and strive to exceed guest expectations. When we fall short, we share your disappointment. Your experience doesn’t reflect the normal standard of service we provide as you can see by the many reviews here on Tripadvisor, and we regret that now you have such a negative impression of us. We’re sorry that we couldn’t provide you with the vacation experience you were looking for and we wish you better travels in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas

Address: 181 Ocean Avenue, Palm Beach Shores, FL 33404
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach Shores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Palm Beach Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Beach Shores Resort And Vacation Villas Hotel Palm Beach Shores
Resort Vacation Villas Palm Beach Shores
Palm Beach Shores Resort Vacation Villas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.