We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your time” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas to your Saves list
Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Ocean Avenue, Palm Beach Shores, FL 33404   |  
Hotel amenities
Orlando, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

If you like paying a $6.00 daily fee to park in a lot that may or may not have available parking, taking the chance of getting a terrible view, paying a $1.00 a day fee for the safe whether you use it or not, going out to eat all the time because the kitchen accommodations are worse than any apartment, and the sound of your neighbors seeping through the 1/4 open space surrounding that adjoining door, then don't hesitate to vacation at this place. It looks nice but all the fluff in the world can't make up for lack of function and profit mongering. We had to point out to the front desk that the tropic birds in the cages near the pool were all missing food AND WATER! The service company showed up after 7pm to take care of those animals. We couldn't help but wonder if the empty cages were due to birds losing their life to poor care. The restaurant is owned by a different company and is wonderful.

Room Tip: Make sure it faces the pool and if you want to see the beach, ask for the 5th or 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment. We’re disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your vacation. Palm Beach Resort is nestled directly on the beach in Singer Island where parking is at a premium. Our fees are quite competitive for this area and it’s important to also note that our parking charge includes complimentary valet service. We do everything possible to fulfill special requests for guest but we can’t guarantee them. Like most hotels, travelers can choose to pay the full rack rate for a specific view if they find it necessary. Our kitchens contain most appliances including dishwasher, refrigerator and a 2-burner stovetop. Cookware is also included along with dinnerware for six. We assure you the woman that owns the birds featured in the resort’s pool area loves them like her own children and would never do anything that would harm them. All of the birds have been with us at the resort for almost 12 years and have never been sick. The animals are all fed and watered and cages cleaned between the hours of 5 am and 6am. Sometimes guest may think they don’t have water or food, but at times the owner of the animals will make the decision not to refill the bowls as they sometimes “play with full bowls” and knock them over. The water bowls are refilled sometime in the evening if a water bowl has been knocked over many times during the day. The birds receive plenty of fluid regardless due to the fruit cocktail they also eat. The one empty cage belonged to a Toucan and due to his age, he has become arthritic and his owner decided to take him home with her where he can relax and not have to jump on a perch. We are sorry that we couldn't provide you with the vacation you expected but we hope your experience doesn’t deter you from visiting Singer Island again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    266
    138
    64
    64
See reviews for
262
291
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Martinsville, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had an excellent stay at the resort. Front desk staff was friendly the entire time. We acutally arrived very early on check in day, and were told they would call us when we could check in. Took about 20 minutes and we were good to go! Tiki bar staff was great, poolside staff fun and attentive. Beach side staff fun and loved the green flags to let staff know we wanted to order something to eat or drink. We did not find the voicemails and literature left under the door, wanting us to come to see the timeshare presentation intrustive at all, as #2 deletes voicemail, and the trash can takes care of the paper. :-) This time of year there are many adults, and a few small children, so the pool area was not crowded at all.
The only thing I can recommend is using a larger towel pool/beach side. They seem to be the same towels that are used in the rooms, although we had no problems when asking for two towels for the pool/beach use.
We did not eat at the restaurant.
Overall, we had a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Request ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for posting such a positive review about your experience at Palm Beach Shores Resort. We are pleased that the accommodations were to your liking and that our staff was welcoming. The next time that you want your front row seat to the beautiful Atlantic Ocean, we hope that you will once again choose Palm Beach Shores.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My wife and I purchased a unit during our honeymoon back in 2009 and this is the first time we had the chance to stay here for a week. After reading numerous reviews on here, I was not sure what to expect. Upon arrival, the wait was very short. We arrived around 3 and there were no issues with checking-in early. I did call a month before we arrived to request an ocean view and we did get one. We also overlooked the pool, but no issues with that. In order to receive a parking pass, we had to go over to the Public Relations desk and they tried to offer some deal in exchange for just looking at a new room and completing a survey. From the other reviews I read, I knew this was a timeshare sales pitch, so I said no. The lady looked very confused and said there is no obligation and I once again said no. I got my parking pass and was all set. We were on the 5th floor and at most we had to wait maybe 30 seconds for an elevator at any given time. There are 4 elevators in the resort and there are also stairs (but I am not sure how to access them from the ground floor, we never needed to use them). Our room was very clean, but the sliding glass door in the bedroom was broken and we could not use it throughout our stay. It was not a big deal since we could use the other one, but it would have been nice to sit outside when our baby was sleeping in the living room. For a family of 3, there was enough room. If you have more people, it might be a little tight. The sound-proofing was pretty good and we could not hear people in either room next to ours. We could hear some water running and a little pipe rattling the one evening, but nothing major. The bathroom is pretty big with a separate tub and shower. There are two sinks and some storage. The bedroom had an older tv, while there was a new HDTV in the living room. The channels are very limited and there are quite a few Spanish channels. For people spending a lot of time outside, this may not be an issue. We ended up going to the pool/beach in the morning so we could keep our baby out of the strong afternoon sun. There was an inventory sheet in the room when we entered, but it is to point out how much you would be charged if you removed any items from the room. The cleaning staff came every day to empty trash and change towels, and they came in mid-week to clean the unit. If you want extra days of cleaning, it is $15/day.

As for people stating they charge you for towels for the pool/beach, this is not the case unless you do not return them. They asked me for my room number/name and then said to let them know when you return them. There were no issues with being charged for towels. We were charged $6/day for parking and $1/day for the safe. I have been to other resorts that charge a “resort fee” of $15-$20/day, so I did not feel too bad about paying for this. The parking lot is on the small side, but we never had an issue finding a space after the Labor Day weekend was over. It was pretty close to being 100% filled over that weekend. We did not use any of the beach chairs, so I am not sure what they charged. The restaurant was pretty good and they have some good specials. They do automatically add 18% for a tip, but I am sure this is because people were not doing it. A lot of the same people work every day of the week, so they deserve 18% tip in my opinion. We did not purchase any alcoholic beverages, but they seemed to have several specials throughout the week. There were also quite a few activities that were available during the week, but we ended up driving to where we wanted to go. The area approaching Singer Island is a little questionable, but that seems to be the case with most of the beach areas in south Florida. The island itself is very nice and quiet. There is a marina on the island (Sailfish Marina) and there are a lot of beautiful fish in the water. There is no fishing allowed at the marina, but it is nice to see the fish and nice boats. The gift shop is on the small side, but the prices are pretty good depending on what you are looking for. The spa looked VERY small, but the gym was not too bad. The only real complaint we had was the daily phone calls offering a different deal for going through a timeshare presentation. I just said we were not interested if I answered the phone and the offers stopped after Wednesday. We did notice quite a few families going through the presentations before getting their cruise tickets, but it did not bother us. It did bring back some memories of going through it back in 2009. Overall, it is not a 5-star resort, but a solid 4. We were very happy with our stay and cannot wait to go back next year!

Room Tip: Call ahead to request an oceanview room (if desired).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
TripAdvisor reviews are vital to the reader’s decision-making when choosing a vacation destination and we truly appreciate it when an owner of ours takes the time to share their experience with us in such detail. We’re thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us at Palm Beach Shores Resort and we know your timeshare purchase will provide you with many wonderful memories to take home from vacation year after year. Thank you for choosing us as your home away from home on the Atlantic Ocean and we look forward to sharing our hospitality with you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Nice facility including actual fully equipped kitchen and separate bedroom. We went with friends and booked 2 rooms next to each other, they were connected by doors so we had a sort of duplex apartment for the 7 of us, very convenient for family with young children.
Beach access including possibility to rent tent or sunbrella etc... or order refreshment while on the beach.
Nice pool + small kids pool (perfect for <2years kids!) + spa.
Quiet, perfect location for a walk up to the south point and view on Palm Beach, very close to diving center and diving gear rental location, close to Publix and several nice and cosy restaurants.
Special rate for FL residents.

Room Tip: We asked to book 2 rooms next to each other because of kids, do not hesitate to call the same day ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
We’re so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at Palm Beach Shores Resort. Our resort amenities and beautiful beachfront location make us a sought-after vacation spot. Thank you for taking the time to share and we can’t wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The resort is average overall, we stayed in a 1 bedroom which had nice granite countertops in kitchen and nice furniture but a bit on the small side. The bathroom seemed larger than the living space and kitchen combined. Bathroom does have a seperate tub and shower, and a double vanity which was nice. The restaurant was average food, would recomend City Diner that is located downtown. Resort did have a lot of activities planned for guests if you were interested. They do try talking you into a timeshare presentation when you are signing up to get your parking pass. Cleaning staff was very friendly and door greeters, pool workers and employees in charge of setting and renting items on the beach could use a lesson in manners and common courtesy. Those employees seemed burnt out on customer service. Location was wonderful, beautiful golden beaches and they were clean. Took many relaxing strolls on the beach. THINGS I DID NOT LIKE: Resort demands a $300 security deposit on credit card for room if you don't want the credit card charge they will let you put a $150 in cash as the security deposit, also $1.00 a day for use or even non use of safe in the room. Usually I go through my timeshare and that is it no extra charges, this is the only resort that had to have a security deposit and upfront charges on our credit card. There is only 1 set of washer and dryer on each floor by the elevators not in each room. Only Half kitchen, no oven and 2 burners.

Room Tip: Only Owners of that resort will get the large corner rooms facing the beach, I would reccomend askin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Even though we were not able to meet all your expectations, we’re happy that you enjoyed your vacation and our locale. We hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to Singer Island again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Do NOT stay at this hotel!! All they care about is signing you in. After that, you're dog meat. One day after checking in, we came back from the pool in wet bathing suits and our card keys didn't work. I went downstairs, tried to speak to the manager, and he advised me I would have to wait in line behind 12 parties checking in. I advised him that my wife was freezing and this would only take 30 seconds, which he knew. He said to get in line, got nasty about it, and then ignored me. I had to finally make a speech to entering guests to get him to pay any attention. I had already waited about 15 minutes, and would have had to wait another 20, but a guest kindly let me in in front of them. The manager, continuing to be obnoxious, made up the keys, which took all of 20 seconds.

Hotels should stand for hospitality -- not rudeness and indifference. This manager should be fired!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our service. We normally receive high marks for our attentive employees and were dismayed to learn that you had an issue with our staff. We expect all of our guests to receive exemplary customer service and we're sorry that we were unable to meet those standards during your time with us. You contacted RCI and informed them and Sherry, the General Manager at Palm Beach Shores Resort that you would be checking out the next day because you didn’t want to stay the rest of the week. RCI had given you your week back and Sherry advised that those involved would be counseled. Even though RCI returned your week, Sherry was apologetic and asked that you would reconsider and stay for the remainder of your reservation, which you declined. When you checked out the next day you asked if the beach cabana you rented could be reimbursed. Beach equipment is supplied from an independent source and prior authorization from the vendor was required. You didn’t want to wait for an answer and left. We still contacted the beach vendor on your behalf and were told that you had advised them that you had to leave on a family emergency and you wanted a refund. Troy the vendor offered you a credit on your next visit, which you accepted because you said you would be back next year. We're sorry that we could not provide you with a great vacation experience and we sincerely hope you consider staying with us again next year so that we may have another opportunity to prove that we are the best choice for lodging in Singer Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We were told that we had to go to Palm Beach Shores for a tour of our cruise that was the next day.. Well when we got there we had a lady trying to sell us Time Share. And would not take no for an answer. We wasted our whole day here at palm beach shores resort. South Florida is all about making money!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience. We are so sorry that you felt misled by the tour company that reserved your timeshare tour at Palm Beach Shores Resort. We can’t comment on the sales tactics used by other companies other than Vacation Village Resorts, but we do regret that your experience with them has left you disappointed in our company. We realize the prospect of purchasing timeshare is a big decision and that is why we try to take as much time as we can to present all the benefits of vacation ownership. The length of the presentation also greatly depends upon the attendee’s perceived interest and as in any sales environment a sales person will try to overcome objectives. What may seem like a hard sell for deeded real estate interests, we feel is no different than any other sales presentation that markets significant purchases in a lifetime. We understand if you did not appreciate the value of the presentation but we hope that we may welcome you back to Palm Beach Shores Resort as a guest one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas

Address: 181 Ocean Avenue, Palm Beach Shores, FL 33404
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach Shores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Palm Beach Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Beach Shores Resort And Vacation Villas Hotel Palm Beach Shores
Resort Vacation Villas Palm Beach Shores
Palm Beach Shores Resort Vacation Villas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.