We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super location on the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas to your Saves list
Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Ocean Avenue, Palm Beach Shores, FL 33404   |  
Hotel amenities
Apopka, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Super location on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Nice facility including actual fully equipped kitchen and separate bedroom. We went with friends and booked 2 rooms next to each other, they were connected by doors so we had a sort of duplex apartment for the 7 of us, very convenient for family with young children.
Beach access including possibility to rent tent or sunbrella etc... or order refreshment while on the beach.
Nice pool + small kids pool (perfect for <2years kids!) + spa.
Quiet, perfect location for a walk up to the south point and view on Palm Beach, very close to diving center and diving gear rental location, close to Publix and several nice and cosy restaurants.
Special rate for FL residents.

Room Tip: We asked to book 2 rooms next to each other because of kids, do not hesitate to call the same day ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
We’re so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at Palm Beach Shores Resort. Our resort amenities and beautiful beachfront location make us a sought-after vacation spot. Thank you for taking the time to share and we can’t wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    248
    125
    60
    60
See reviews for
244
259
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The resort is average overall, we stayed in a 1 bedroom which had nice granite countertops in kitchen and nice furniture but a bit on the small side. The bathroom seemed larger than the living space and kitchen combined. Bathroom does have a seperate tub and shower, and a double vanity which was nice. The restaurant was average food, would recomend City Diner that is located downtown. Resort did have a lot of activities planned for guests if you were interested. They do try talking you into a timeshare presentation when you are signing up to get your parking pass. Cleaning staff was very friendly and door greeters, pool workers and employees in charge of setting and renting items on the beach could use a lesson in manners and common courtesy. Those employees seemed burnt out on customer service. Location was wonderful, beautiful golden beaches and they were clean. Took many relaxing strolls on the beach. THINGS I DID NOT LIKE: Resort demands a $300 security deposit on credit card for room if you don't want the credit card charge they will let you put a $150 in cash as the security deposit, also $1.00 a day for use or even non use of safe in the room. Usually I go through my timeshare and that is it no extra charges, this is the only resort that had to have a security deposit and upfront charges on our credit card. There is only 1 set of washer and dryer on each floor by the elevators not in each room. Only Half kitchen, no oven and 2 burners.

Room Tip: Only Owners of that resort will get the large corner rooms facing the beach, I would reccomend askin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Even though we were not able to meet all your expectations, we’re happy that you enjoyed your vacation and our locale. We hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to Singer Island again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Do NOT stay at this hotel!! All they care about is signing you in. After that, you're dog meat. One day after checking in, we came back from the pool in wet bathing suits and our card keys didn't work. I went downstairs, tried to speak to the manager, and he advised me I would have to wait in line behind 12 parties checking in. I advised him that my wife was freezing and this would only take 30 seconds, which he knew. He said to get in line, got nasty about it, and then ignored me. I had to finally make a speech to entering guests to get him to pay any attention. I had already waited about 15 minutes, and would have had to wait another 20, but a guest kindly let me in in front of them. The manager, continuing to be obnoxious, made up the keys, which took all of 20 seconds.

Hotels should stand for hospitality -- not rudeness and indifference. This manager should be fired!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our service. We normally receive high marks for our attentive employees and were dismayed to learn that you had an issue with our staff. We expect all of our guests to receive exemplary customer service and we're sorry that we were unable to meet those standards during your time with us. You contacted RCI and informed them and Sherry, the General Manager at Palm Beach Shores Resort that you would be checking out the next day because you didn’t want to stay the rest of the week. RCI had given you your week back and Sherry advised that those involved would be counseled. Even though RCI returned your week, Sherry was apologetic and asked that you would reconsider and stay for the remainder of your reservation, which you declined. When you checked out the next day you asked if the beach cabana you rented could be reimbursed. Beach equipment is supplied from an independent source and prior authorization from the vendor was required. You didn’t want to wait for an answer and left. We still contacted the beach vendor on your behalf and were told that you had advised them that you had to leave on a family emergency and you wanted a refund. Troy the vendor offered you a credit on your next visit, which you accepted because you said you would be back next year. We're sorry that we could not provide you with a great vacation experience and we sincerely hope you consider staying with us again next year so that we may have another opportunity to prove that we are the best choice for lodging in Singer Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

We were told that we had to go to Palm Beach Shores for a tour of our cruise that was the next day.. Well when we got there we had a lady trying to sell us Time Share. And would not take no for an answer. We wasted our whole day here at palm beach shores resort. South Florida is all about making money!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience. We are so sorry that you felt misled by the tour company that reserved your timeshare tour at Palm Beach Shores Resort. We can’t comment on the sales tactics used by other companies other than Vacation Village Resorts, but we do regret that your experience with them has left you disappointed in our company. We realize the prospect of purchasing timeshare is a big decision and that is why we try to take as much time as we can to present all the benefits of vacation ownership. The length of the presentation also greatly depends upon the attendee’s perceived interest and as in any sales environment a sales person will try to overcome objectives. What may seem like a hard sell for deeded real estate interests, we feel is no different than any other sales presentation that markets significant purchases in a lifetime. We understand if you did not appreciate the value of the presentation but we hope that we may welcome you back to Palm Beach Shores Resort as a guest one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

All I can think of is cheap! This "resort" is nothing more than a boiler room for timeshare sales. They try to nickel and dime you right down to the towels and the room safe. We travel constantly so we know what we are talking about. Can not recomennd this one.

Room Tip: Skip entirely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Our stay at Palm Beach Shores Resort lasted a good two hours. We arrived at the hotel just about check-in time, 4:00 p.m.. It took a good 10 minutes to even reach the door because the 4 valets present were just allowing cars to pile up. Check in process was okay and I can confirm what previous reviewers have said about the pushy sales pitch to 'provide them feedback on the property' (and to buy into this hell hole). You had to endure this in order to receive your parking permit. The hotel charges $6.00 per day for parking--whether you valet or self-park which is ridiculous when you see the lot. This is just the beginning of the nickel and dime game they try to run on you in this place.

We get to the room that was supposed to have an ocean view. It turned out that our ocean view could be seen just a tiny bit past the huge dumpster that was right below us. But wait, this is supposed to be a two bedroom. Turns out the key cards they provided us didn't even open the adjoining suite. I called the front desk and they asked me to come back down for new keys. (Did I mention there was only one operational, slow elevator?) I get to the front desk and the kind young lady provides me two MORE keys--all of which look the same. So I asked if the two existing keys could be programmed to open both doors--no dice. Then I asked how I am supposed to tell which keys go to which room. She takes them back and marks one set with a sharpie. Wow.

We retire back to room to check it out. I can definitely say this resort is all about loss recovery. In our room was an 'inventory' of the things provided, along with associated prices that will be charged to you if any of them come up missing. Seriously? But that wasn't the worst part, they charge you for EVERYTHING. Do you want new towels? Sure, that'll be $10. Do you want them to take out the trash? Sure, that's another $10. If you want both, that'll be $20. Another $40 if you want your room cleaned. Late checkout? Sure, but that will cost you $125.00 extra!! Are you kidding me?!

Shortly thereafter, we decide to go to the in-house restaurant downstairs. The host greets us and escorts us into an, almost, empty dining room. He then turns to me and asks, 'Where do you want to sit?' I answered, 'This is fine'...at which he drops the menus on the table (in a stack) and rolls out. He then walks over to our server to let her know she's been sat a party at which point the two of them get into a full blown hissy-fit because she wasn't ready for another table just yet.

That was it. We went back to our room and called RCI to place us somewhere else. We ended up driving another 45 minutes away to a new hotel. On our way back to our room we noticed buckets and towels all over the place due to the leaking roof. There were so many, the lobby looked like an obstacle course. My kids rather enjoyed that part, actually. How sad is that?

Just as an additional note, if you're looking for a 'full service spa' like the one they advertise having, please be aware that this is a room the size of a closet where they do nails. Although, there is a large curtain in the corner of the small room where they do massages. Hardly the picture of 'serenity'.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. While we understand that parking fees can be inconvenient, they allow us to supply you with the very best service and security for your vehicle and valet service is complimentary. RCI’s confirmation letters only state the resort is oceanfront. We try very hard to honor all specific room requests but they are not guaranteed. Most timeshare properties will include an inventory sheet in the unit listing housewares. We believe you misunderstood the other charges listed in your comments. Trash removal and clean towels are delivered every day at no charge. A complimentary mid-week full service is given on either a Wednesday or Thursday depending if guests are on a week’s exchange and depending on if check in is on a Saturday or Sunday. RCI guests who are on the Points system would still receive complimentary trash removal and towel exchange delivered to the unit every day and will be charged a $25 housekeeping fee if they stay less than 5 nights. We do offer daily maid service for an additional $15 a day if a guest would like that. The $125 on the registration card refers to an excessive cleaning fee that may be invoked if necessary. Excessive cleaning fees are standard policy for most resorts. We apologize for the service you received at the restaurant. Palm Beach Shores Resort does not own or manage the Island Grille and Tiki Bar but we have forwarded your comments to the restaurant’s management so that they may be addressed. We are very sorry for the condition of the lobby when you returned. We did have leaks spring up during Tropical Storm Isaac and we were trying our best to control them during the storm. The Maintenance Department has since worked around the clock repairing the damage done. We’d also like to comment that the room you described where manicure and pedicures are performed is where massages are booked, they are not performed behind a curtain. The curtain you described shields the pedicure station so clients can relax away from the reception area. Massages are done in a separate room. We pride ourselves on providing a relaxing vacation environment and the challenges you faced are not the normal standard we offer. We're very sorry that we could not provide you with the service so many of our other guests have received and we hope this experience does not deter you from visiting Palm Beach in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhurst, Pa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We enjoyed a much need family vacation. The kitchenette was great. The dining area wasn't so great. The glass was attached to the cabinets so it was a little uncomfortable. The sleeping was a little uncomfortable on the pull out couch, but the bedroom was great. I think having two teenagers and two adults, it was a little tight. Had a problem with the sinks and shower draining and maintenance was there within five minutes, they were great! The even had housekeeping come in and clean the bathroom over. The one thing, the staff is very pushy. Don't go to breakfast, unless you want to be pushed into purchasing there. We read the reviews first, so , we were aware of the neon sheets under your door and the phone calls daily.
The resort is beautiful! Everyone was very nice. Anything you need, they will help with out a doubt.
The pool is very nice, however, there is NO shade unless you are drinking at the TikiBar.
What we enjoyed most, was the fact that you could be on the beach within three minutes. The beach rentals are very high but much needed. The water and beach are beautiful. We even saw a manatee swimming by. It was a great experience.
Just a few minutes away, you can get what ever you need at the 7 Eleven, Subway, Wings for anything you forgot to bring with you, etc.
Want a great breakfast and/or dinner, Johnny Longboats is awesome. If you are going on a honeymoon, you will love the shops, scuba diving rentals and surf wear. There are so many other places within walking distance. Also, there is a nice park next to the resort and on the weekend, there is usually people playing volleyball. Relaxing, Quiet and a great time. We would recommend this to anyone.
Oh, by the way, make sure you always put the "Do Not Disturb" sign on your door, or the cleaning staff will walk in on you when you are going to the bathroom.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor facing the park. It was still nice, however, you should try to get somet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for your recommendation. We are happy that your family enjoyed their time with us even though we’re sorry that we weren’t able to meet all of your expectations. We hope that our other amenities and continued attentive staff will entice you to stay with us again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas

Address: 181 Ocean Avenue, Palm Beach Shores, FL 33404
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach Shores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Palm Beach Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Beach Shores Resort And Vacation Villas Hotel Palm Beach Shores
Resort Vacation Villas Palm Beach Shores
Palm Beach Shores Resort Vacation Villas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Beach Shores Resort and Vacation Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.