We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conference at the PGA National” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PGA National Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added PGA National Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
PGA National Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Avenue of the Champions, Palm Beach Gardens, FL 33418   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersBronze level
Schenectady, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Conference at the PGA National”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great place to have a multiday conference. Accommodation and services are excellent. Great courses as well as activities for spouses and children. A vacation spot to combine with a conference and have something for everyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    211
    92
    58
    41
See reviews for
166
231
40
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel was very high class and since I booked through Expidia they charged me 25.00 per night for what the called a hotel fee charge, that includes the coffee in your room,2 complimentary drinks from the bar, parking(had no choice to park the hotel is 10 min. Drive from the main road)' use of the facilities,. We checked in at 11 pm and checked out at 8am. We were told that if we stay 2 nights the service fee would be waived.
Very nice place for people with very deep pockets.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great spa for spoiling oneself. But the rooms need a facelift. Also the rooms need soundproofing. I thought my room was under a disco, but then the next morning realized it was only another guestroom above me. In the hallway I heard several peoples private phone conversations from their rooms. I was walking down the hall and could clearly hear them talking on the phone. Not the place place for discretion.
The staff however was superb.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a conference for 8 days. I didn't golf but its an absolutely beautiful course. The rooms are recently redone and they are fresh.
The food was excellent.
My #1 complaint is the automatic gratuity added to everything. What it means is slow and I believe poorer service because they get a grat of 18% regardless of the service provided.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Just returned from a 3-night stay at this resort. Was there on business for a conference. It is a nice hotel, especially if you play golf. Since I cannot yet count that among my talents, I generally prefer to stay at beach properties. That said, the PGA resort is definitely a great place to stay, to enjoy the atmosphere and relax. There is a world class spa (which unfortunately I did not have the opportunity to experience, and their swimming pools are well maintained , with the lounge chairs all around getting terrific sun exposure. I think a big plus for families with small/young children is that the main pool has a zero-entry.

The front desk was helpful and professional and courteous, as was the rest of the hotel staff in general.

The decor, especially in the main lobby, was contemporary and well appointed. I found the entire property to be very clean throughout.

To be clear, I had a positive experience and PGA is a very nice hotel. The following however are some of the areas I think the hotel could improve:

I stayed in a Junior Suite on the 1st floor. It was spacious and well laid out. The shower was also spacious. I liked the modern feel of the bathroom - but my complain here is that the shower door opens into the shower, such that when you open the water, you instantly get sprayed. I believe the hotel would do well to consider re-engineering the shower doors to open outward, so as to minimize or avoid this situation.

The floors were laid with a Spanish style tile, but there are nice area rugs as well. I typically prefer wall to wall plush carpeting in hotel suites rather than tile floors - but hey, that's just me.

The other thing I'm wondering is why did they empty out and do away with the mini-bar ? Though it is useful at times to have an empty fridge in the room which it does have now that the hotel no longer stocks a mini-bar int he room.

Given I was there on business, it was more important that usual to have wifi access. My experience with their wifi was very frustrating in fact. For three days, my wifi connection was extremely spotty and poor at best. And I am referring to the lobby, the hallways, my suite, the conference area and outside - basically, all over the property.

In terms of the bath care products, they do provide a fine shampoo, shower gel, body lotion and facial and body bar soaps. The shampoo tube is marked conditioning shampoo (like a 2 in 1), but I feel it would be much more appreciated if a separate conditioner was provided. A 2 in 1 may save costs, but it's just not the same.

Would I stay there again? Quite possibly! And the odds increase of course the sooner I take up golf :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had a 3 day stay with 3 rounds of golf that included the champion course - total cost $2500 - so we would expect good standards and great service. The organisation of the golf was first rate with your clubs and buggies ready and waiting for you, practice facilities great and drink stations and buggy food service all working well. Playing the Champion course 2 weeks before the Honda Classic you have to expect the rough to be penal and....it certainly was! Only the Squire course had greens with rogue grasses in places but they still played well...it also had a resident alligator that was just massive!
The hotel however has a few issues mentioned by previous writers - the foyer / bar area is far too noisy & difficult to get served between 6 -8pm. The piped music in the pool area would not shame a 2 star hotel in Spain but our main issue is that the reception staff ( and perhaps the manager)need to improve customer service. We had the temerity to query part of our bill - their attitude was that if we had signed for it then we would have to pay for it - well not in my book I don't - because if it was wrong then it is wrong that they try to charge for it! We were proved correct but in good hotels in the UK and Europe they would have seen the bigger picture - it left us with a sour taste (especially when 18% service is added to every bill) and to cap it all they cocked up the bill by charging it to the wrong credit card when we had specifically told them what to do the night before... so now we have been charged twice... and have the trouble of ensuring it is then corrected! A little more humility is required by hotel staff in this place!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silver spring, md
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This resort is very expensive, but it's worth it. The grounds are immaculate and the landscaping is beautiful. The lobby is huge and has a very nice bar/eating area. The main pool area is really nice. There are plenty of lounge chairs, so you don't have to grab one early, and the pool is warm. There is poolside bar service, as well as a very nice poolside cafe for lunch and beverages. Most of the afternoon, there was very pleasing live music. My friends were impressed by the PGA golf courses, but my wife and I are not golfers. Instead we enjoyed the Spa area and Waters of the World pools. The Spa has two very small pools and a Jaccuzzi that are in a relatively secluded part of the resort. The Spa has poolside bar service, which I particularly enjoyed. My wife especially enjoyed a 50-minute massage at the Spa. For exercise and recreation, there are plenty of nice walking paths, tennis courts, and a gym on the grounds.

All of the employees we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The only negative experience was that we were told as we registered that they did not have a room with a King-sized bed, even though we had specifically requested such a room several months earlier. After a half-hour negotiation, the manager found us a well-located room with a king-sized bed. We observed that this same discussion was repeated with many of the guests as they registered. Management should fix that problem, because it's not a very good way to welcome guests.

Room Tip: If you've requested a specific type of room or bed when you made your reservation, insist on get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to PGA National Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PGA National Resort and Spa

Address: 400 Avenue of the Champions, Palm Beach Gardens, FL 33418
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Palm Beach Gardens
#5 Family Hotel in Palm Beach Gardens
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach Gardens
#6 Business Hotel in Palm Beach Gardens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — PGA National Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PGA National Resort & Spa is a national, premier golf vacation and meeting destination located in prestigious Palm Beach Gardens, Florida. The legendary 369-room Florida resort recently unveiled a $100 million revitalization, including two new dining venues, a new Lakeside Lawn outdoor venue with scenic views of the golf course and lake plus a floor to ceiling makeover of all rooms. PGA National Resort & Spa offers 90 holes of championship golf on five courses, including the famed Champion course, home to the PGA TOUR’s Honda Classic. The resort’s storied golf history includes hosting the 1983 Ryder Cup, 1987 PGA Championship, and nearly two decades of the Senior PGA Championship. In addition to The Champion, PGA National’s award-winning golf courses are: The Palmer, The Fazio, The Squire and The Estates.Other distinguishing features include a 40,000 square-foot European Spa with 32 treatment areas and the exclusive "Waters of the World" outdoor mineral pools, a world-class 33,000 square-foot health-and-racquet club with 19 Har-Tru tennis courts, 40,000 square feet of self-contained conference space and nine on-site restaurants and lounges.Conveniently located within easy driving distances to major Florida population centers, the AAA Four Diamond resort is a 15-minute drive from Palm Beach International Airport (PBI), one hour from Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport (FLL) and 90 minutes from Miami International Airport (MIA). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your PGA National Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pga National Hotel Palm Beach Gardens
Pga National Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PGA National Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.