We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great golf destination that your significant other will like too.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PGA National Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added PGA National Resort and Spa to your Saves list
PGA National Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Avenue of the Champions, Palm Beach Gardens, FL 33418   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Great golf destination that your significant other will like too.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Outstanding golf resort. All courses on site and very enjoyable to play. Atmosphere of resort is relaxed casual. Ironwood Rest quite good. Service throughout resort was excellent. My favorite coursed in order were Championship, Palmer and Fazio. Pool restaurant was a great spot after golf

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    233
    100
    63
    42
See reviews for
169
247
45
184
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

i have been coming to this great resort for over 25 years
it is fab
Amazing Golf on the course that has hosted Ryder Cup,PGA seniors and now Honda Classic
Rooms have just been refurbished,great new food outlets and quite simply the most attentive staff around
Terrific value and also tennis spa and fitness centre are all world class
see you there next xmas

Room Tip: get the new refurbished pool facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

After many years the hotel has undergone a major much needed renovation. The rooms, common areas, restaurants and pool area are beautiful.. Service in the lobby at I bar was excellent. The food at Ironside Restaurant was very good but service poor once the restaurant got busy. All in all a nice stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I attended a trade show in Jan., 2013. The hotel just completed a multi million dollar remodeling and it showed. The furniture was new and the room was spacious. The room lighting in the bedroom was marginal, but the living room was bright and cheerful. The cost was high, even by Palm Beach Gardens standards in season, but we were very comfortable.
The meeting rooms were in good condition and the chairs were comfortable.

The golf was awesome, albeit very expensive!! Four golf courses on site, with the Champion being the best by far (also the most expensive.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the pool and it could be quite noisy when the music was playing, which was sever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I am specifically addressing the hotel. The golf is top notch, but still a marginal value. The room was $300/night (with tax and "resort fee"). The room was old (the door and doorknob were beat up), ants were everywhere, and the noise insulation is poor. After I checked in, a maid barged into my room as I was changing (in my underwear thank goodness) and she acted like I was squatting; she clearly was not aware that someone had checked in. Approximately 30 minutes later, a couple keyed into my room because the front desk did not know I was here. The whole set-up in the check-in area is chaotic: There is a huge (albeit nice) open space bar in the reception area, but is very odd. The concierge service is poor: I needed a cab to the airport, but the concierage would only push their town car service, which is $80 (15 miles). When I asked for them to arrange for a cab, she wrote the phone number down and said I needed to call. Overall, I left with the impression (after a 4-night stay) that the hotel is poorly managed, and that the resort does not value its customers' experience.

Room Tip: Second floor room are ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed here for a conference and were quite disappointed. It might be renovated but I wouldn't call it luxury. The rooms weren't very clean and many details were overlooked. I have stayed at nicer Hampton inns for much less.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The beds were so comfy! The pool area is awesome and the golf courses were great. We played 4 out of the 5 courses and they were all in great shape and we spent our afternoons relaxing by the pool. The ironwood grill was tremendous and the entire staff of the whole resort were great. Our experience could not have been better

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to PGA National Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PGA National Resort and Spa

Address: 400 Avenue of the Champions, Palm Beach Gardens, FL 33418
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Palm Beach Gardens
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach Gardens
#5 Family Hotel in Palm Beach Gardens
#6 Business Hotel in Palm Beach Gardens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — PGA National Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PGA National Resort & Spa is a national, premier golf vacation and meeting destination located in prestigious Palm Beach Gardens, Florida. The legendary 369-room Florida resort recently unveiled a $100 million revitalization, including two new dining venues, a new Lakeside Lawn outdoor venue with scenic views of the golf course and lake plus a floor to ceiling makeover of all rooms. PGA National Resort & Spa offers 90 holes of championship golf on five courses, including the famed Champion course, home to the PGA TOUR’s Honda Classic. The resort’s storied golf history includes hosting the 1983 Ryder Cup, 1987 PGA Championship, and nearly two decades of the Senior PGA Championship. In addition to The Champion, PGA National’s award-winning golf courses are: The Palmer, The Fazio, The Squire and The Estates.Other distinguishing features include a 40,000 square-foot European Spa with 32 treatment areas and the exclusive "Waters of the World" outdoor mineral pools, a world-class 33,000 square-foot health-and-racquet club with 19 Har-Tru tennis courts, 40,000 square feet of self-contained conference space and nine on-site restaurants and lounges.Conveniently located within easy driving distances to major Florida population centers, the AAA Four Diamond resort is a 15-minute drive from Palm Beach International Airport (PBI), one hour from Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport (FLL) and 90 minutes from Miami International Airport (MIA). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your PGA National Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pga National Hotel Palm Beach Gardens
Pga National Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PGA National Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.