We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish I could get used to this!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers

Save Saved
You added The Breakers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Breakers
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Online Summer Offer
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Palm Beach
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“I wish I could get used to this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

I just arrived back at work after a long weekend at the Breakers. I'm used to 3 stars or less. My husband and I are lower middle income and really had to stretch to fit this into our budget, but it was absolutely, positively worth EVERY PENNY!! I'm normally a go-go-go kind of traveler, but this hotel just beckons you to slow down and take it easy. I spent hours on the pool deck listening to the ocean waves. We were flabbergasted to receive an upgraded room at check-in as we were celebrating our first Anniversary. We had an Ocean View room. The beautiful blue-green water captured my eyes the second the room door was opened. The staff are ridiculously obliging. They seem to instinctively know what you are going to ask before you ask it. They always smile and say hello in the halls. The food is top notch. We really enjoyed the Seafood Bar and the Flagler steakhouse. We can't wait to try Echo. I have opened a special savings account to start saving for my next trip because I will be back. This country bug is hooked for life!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    859
    202
    75
    40
    38
See reviews for
315
357
27
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

So much has already been said but this really is the most wonderful elegant hotel.The staff are amazing,and make you feel special,and the service is second to none.
The rooms,pools,restaurants and bars are all first class.
Yes,it comes at a price,but there are always special offers and incentives,and YES it is worth it.For a special occassion,it would br perfect.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

I stayed at the Breakers for a Convention. I was amazed about the service quality and the friendliness of the staff. This is a remarkable hotel with great restaurant a recreation facilities. There is no need to leave the hotel, then Palm Beach is rather boring at this time of the year and the hotel offers all types of enjoyment. Just the shopping indulgence needs to be done outside the hotel. I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

Recently stayed at The Breakers, in a renovated deluxe room. I would suggest springing for the money for an ocean view. The hotel is old world elegance, with great modern touches- state of the art fitness machines, 4 pools to choose from, poolside cabanas, shops, and 8 or 9 restaurants to choose from. Echo is a short free shuttle ride and worth the trip- excellent food and impeccable service- the bartenders ask your name and actually remember it during your visit! This is not a place to go and watch your pennies, but well worth it even if you live local as we do. It was a great staycation. City place nearby is a great place to go shop and eat, and of course Worth Avenue is nearby. The Golf course is stellar, and in the summer they offer great deals for parents to play with kids. There were plenty of young kids there, and conventions going on. A great place for all!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

This was our 2nd time back to the Breakers but the first time in the summer months. We had an incredible stay over 9 nights in mid August 2010. Here are the big positives:
1) very attentive service from the restaurant manager to receptionist to valet to housekeeping
2) 5 swimming pools to choose from + jacuzzis
3) private beach area accessible from pools
4) glorious views - its worth paying the upgrade for the full ocean front view if thats what you like
5) the kids entertainment centre - very useful when traveling with a 4 and a 6 year old!
6) the quality of the food from breakfast to dinner is top notch
7) lovely little touches - sweets on arrival because we were returning guests, a gift each night from the turn down service, gifts for the kids on departure...

The ONLY negative would be that paradise does come at a cost! Service charge of 20% is added to everything from drinks at the pool through to dinner in the restaurant.

We cannot wait to return (but we need to start saving now!)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

We decided to stay there even though we live close by. Friends from out of town were staying there over the Labor Day weekend so we joined them. It was not our first time there but the first for a holiday weekend. The weather was beautiful thus the beach and pools areas were very crowded. The beach staff tried to accomodate everyone and did a pretty good job. Go early to get a good place. They have ocean cabanas( not on the beach but around the pools but you can see the ocean) for rental, which next time I would take advantage of. They are small but you have your own bathroom with shower, small refrig, day bed and best of all a small area adjacent that you have your own chairs. This is also the only place that you can have food by the pool. If i had small children it would provide a place to get out of the sun and let them chill instead of going all the way to your room. Again, expect to pay for that privledge but you could share the cost with a friend or another family it would be worth it. There is a big push for families and you saw alot of them. Not a bad thing but if wanted quiet and relaxing, don't go on the weekend or holidays They are having great summer promo rates until the end of Sept. and it iis really driving business up.. The restuarants were also very busy and you needed a reservation well in advance. The food is just okay and drinks as expected are pricey. The seafood bar is great for a quick meal and the fish tank in the bar is impressive. We ate at one of Breakers off site resaurants, Top of the Pointe(?) Food not very good but the view great. Provided shuttle service so u did not have to worry about drinking and driving. Try the Palm Beach Grill. You can walk . Good food..owned by the Houstons chain. We are AMX Plat.cardholders( booked thru AMX travel) which allowed us great amenities for the same web price, ($100 resort credit and free continental breakfast). If you have that card look in to the rates online and then thru AMX. All in all we had a wonderful stay. Most of the rooms had been modernized, we had a King with a sliver view of the ocean. Comfy beds and nice toiletries. If you can, go during the week. They run specials with free parking($20) and continental breakfasts. Some of the special disapppear as the season starts (Oct-Apr).
There are other hotels in Palm Beach,that are also nice but no one does it like the Breakers!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

This hotel being built in the early 20th century with so much character to offer was definitely a great place to stay. The beach was nice and the water very warm. Shopping, golf, and spa's on or next to hotel grounds where very nice to have. Great food at the various restaurants. Nice pools, very clean and tidy grounds. My room was very nice with many amenities and great ocean views. One of the best hotels I have stayed at.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Address: 1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Palm Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Breakers 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the island of Palm Beach amid 140 acres of picturesque oceanfront property, The Breakers is recognized as one of North America’s iconic resort destinations. Independently owned, this legendary resort has been completely revitalized to offer a paradise for couples, families, and special gatherings. Revel in a new tropical feeling at the glorious beachfront, play the greens, and enjoy the blissful spa, delicious dining, and incredible services energized by a genuinely caring staff, integral in helping you make fabulous memories. * Nine distinctive restaurants and five bars* A private beachfront oasis with five sparkling pools, bungalows and watersports* An oceanfront spa, offering moonlit massages amid Atlantic breezes* 36 holes of championship golf including the on-site Ocean Course and Rees Jones® Course; a golf academy* 10 lighted Har Tru tennis courts and instruction by USPTA/USPTR-certified professionals* 10 on-site boutiques including Lilly Pulitzer, Guerlain and Ralph Lauren* A family entertainment center and kids’ camp; 11 boutiques.* The Flagler Club, private club level with a private concierge and residential ambiance, Interactive Family Entertainment Center and Kid’s Camp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Palm Beach
The Breakers Resort
Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Resort Palm Beach
The Breakers Palm Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.