We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“definitely a ten” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Breakers to your Saves list
The Breakers
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
MD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“definitely a ten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2007

my husband and i celebrated our 6th wedding anniversary in July '07. our initial plan was to visit Orlando or Miami being that we'd never been to FL before. However, we wanted to do something different from the regular disney vacation or hanging out on the beach so we chose Palm Beach. I must say that after booking the trip and telling people where we were going, we then became very discouraged for picking what was considered " a location for snotty rich folk". I even tried changing the package we had but Orbitz would not allow it so we had to to go on the trip.

Boy were we glad we did. Everyone at The Breakers was far from "high faluten". From staff to guests alike, all were soooo friendly, it was unbelievable. I must say though that it became quite a pricy trip but thank God it was only for five days. However the resort has so many activities (some free and others tagged with a price) to engage in. There was the 2 hour bike tour with Eda and Summer, the many swimming pools, the beach front, snorkeling, the arcade (for the young and young-at-heart and we also did some major shopping @ the Polo Ralph Lauren and Burberry stores and the staff at the City Place Mall (12mins away) knew us as regulars.

  • Liked — high quality service and varied activities to engage in
  • Disliked — quite pricy
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,035
    254
    95
    45
    43
See reviews for
378
438
33
350
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenxiville, AP
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2007

My husband won a stay at The Breakers during his annual sales conference. As a dyed-in-the-wool practitioner of frugality, I was not looking forward to taking this trip. It all seemed so excessive to me. In fact, I tried bartering the trip so as to avoid going. In the end, it's lucky that this didn't work out.

The Breakers is an extremely elegant resort and definitely not the sort of place I would be willing to hand over my money to. After all, $400 a night for a room you just sleep in seems absurd. However, even though we didn't pay for this trip, I will now think twice before forming a hard and fast opinion again. We had a wonderful time, a truly restful, relaxing experience.

The room was lovely, with comfortable beds, the softest sheets ever, and a very homey bathroom. We even had a partial ocean view, which was thrilling. Service was impeccable; I don't think there was a time we walked the halls that we didn't see staff hard at work.

What really made it for us was the staff; everyone was NICE, really nice, not just deferentially nice in the way that service staff can sometimes be when dealing with moneyed guests, and extremely helpful. They were happy to converse with you, not merely jump to attention. That made a big difference.

At The Breakers, we were able to walk on the beach, enjoying strolls both at dawn and in the moonlight. In inclement weather, there was plenty to explore in the hotel itself, which is beautifully appointed -- definitely pay attention to the detailed ceilings. The various restaurants both on and off the property were amazing. Delicious food, beautifully presented and service was definitely with a smile.

I even took advantage of a couple of spa services, a rather new experience to cheapskate me, and was delighted with the serenity of the spa and the care and attention of the staff. Their ability to put me at my ease while I was wrapped in a bathrobe was extraordinary.

We enjoyed our stay at The Breakers and used the opportunity as a second honeymoon. We're definitely considering going back there for our third honeymoon in a few years -- or maybe sooner!

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaire, Georgia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2007

Wow, having a chance to stay at this historic and elegant property for a business trip was special and very enjoyable. I get to travel to some pretty nice places on business like the Broadmoor, Ritz Napels, Ritz Amelia Island, Fairmont Orchid, etc. so I want to be fair in my comparisons.

The breakdown

This hotel has an austerity about it that can be visible on the palm beach skyline even before you cross the bridge to the hotel. It is beautiful, there is not doubt about it. You feel very important pulling up to this place. The staff is friendly for the most part and very accomodating although they sometimes were unorganized. On several occasions I asked the front desk for information about the convention I was attending and they did not have the information. The property did not seem to be crowded at all, in fact it was very peaceful and relaxing. The pools including a relaxation pool are pretty serene. The spa and fitness center are nice to have although I was charged $30 to use the fitness center and steam room/sauna. Food and drinks are the most outrageous here of any place I have been on earth. I paid $8.25 for a beer at one of the convention functions. Hamburgers are $18 plus tax and service charge. Cokes, etc. are $4 or $5. I would advise you to hit the grocery store on the way in. The room was disappointing, although the bedding was very nice and comfortable, it was small with no balcony. Just a side ocean view. We also had some small ants on our nightstand that I mentioned to the maid, I'm not sure they ever handled the problem. The beach is very small, which was not a major issue considering few people were here, but I could see it getting overcrowded at a busy time. Check the place out, tour around, see the gardens, I hear they were nice but I didn't see much of it.

We got a deal at this place paying an offseason rate of something like $169 night for the conference. I have to say that for that price, this place was pretty awesome. But for $500 and up, or whatever the normal going rate is, I would stay elsewhere. This place is defintiely geared for the rich and wealthy. I would say The Broadmoor as far as service, amenties, spa, and things to do is far superior to this place.

Some other tips:

If you have never been to Palm Beach, I would say this is the Beverly Hills of the south. Check out the Blue Martini bar in downtown Palm Beach, a good nightspot with live bands, etc. Rent a Lexus or Mercedes or something, you will be the only person without one! The golf course at the hotel is pretty nice, but very short, only 6,100 from the tips. There is a good jogging/bike path along the intercoastal. Don't run on the beach, the sand is too soft and slopes to the water. Have a good time, don't go broke drinking $8 beers!

  • Liked — Beautiful Surroundings
  • Disliked — Food and Beverage is a ripoff
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2007

We stayed at The Breakers for four nights as part of an industry meeting. Wow. The service, atmosphere, dining, spa and resort were amazing.
Although the rooms are rather small for the money, the quality of the bed, bedding, etc. were top notch. The staff is extremely attentive and responsive. The hotel has two fitness rooms, one for hotel guests and one for those who use the spa. (Hotel guests can use the "spa fitness center" for $40 extra/day.) The hotel fitness room was adequate but the one in the spa was terrific. I had a "seastone" massage in the spa which really should be illegal - it was that good. (Ask for Melinda.) The pools and beach were terrific. We spent most our time at the relaxation pool which lived up to its name.
We had dinner one night in the "Circle Room." I think it's only used for banquets or weddings, but if you have the chance, you must see it. I can't begin to explain how beautiful it is. Timeless, elegant...
Even though we were "off season," I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Liked — The elegance of the hotel
  • Disliked — The room size for the price
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2007

My husband and I recently stayed at the Breakers for 4 days, 3 nights. The hotel was beautiful and the staff was very pleasant. However, I was surprised at the size of the rooms (smaller than expected) and we had a view of the parking lot (it was a nice parking lot, but I would have preferred to be looking at something a little nicer when I'm making a long trip.) I was very surprised at the prices here. We have stayed at comparable hotels and I am always shocked about the prices that are charged. My husband and I shared a lunch (appetizer and hamburger) and a couple of sodas for $52. Of course, the tip was included with everything. The pools were nice, the beach was much smaller than I expected, the staff was attentive (as they should at these prices). I would recommend this hotel, but be advised the rooms are the size of a average hotel room. I would also suggest bringing your own beverages (water, soda, etc) and snacks to avoid the high prices.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2007

My husband, six month old son and I stayed at The Breakers 5/17-5/20. The hotel was fantastic!!! Service was impeccable. The hotel is extremely child friendly. The hotel provided us w/a refrigerator and crib for the room. The crib was a REAL crib and the sheets were clean (a nice change from some of the other hotels at which we've stayed). Housekeeping was also very considerate and put our son's teddy bear and blanket in his crib every night. Very, very sweet.

We got a club level room which was terrific. Since I had to make formula, the free bottles of water were very handy.

The hotel has a number of child-friendly areas/activities and restaurants.

The spa was also terrific. I had a facial and an aromatherapy massage and my husband got a fantastic haircut.

Even before we left, we were thinking of when we could come back. Will definitely be back next year.

One note: There's a 20% gratuity charge for dining and spa services. However, the staff is up front about the charge and there is no line on the bill for you to make the mistake of giving a 40% tip.

  • Liked — The room and view were lovely.
  • Disliked — The room was a bit small.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2007

The Breakers was phenomenal from start to finish. Be prepared to shell out some serious change for anything within the confines of the hotel.
However, if you want to really relax and celebrate a special occasion this rates high on my list.
The Breakers is so immense that you never have to leave the grounds for any reason. Golf, tennis, spa, 3 pools, the beach, wonderful food at every restaurant, breakfast buffet in the Circle. It's simply all wonderful.
Our room was superb, I read the review of a small room but we most certainly did not get that one.
We even arrived at 10:30am and they went ahead and gave us our room.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Address: 1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Breakers 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the island of Palm Beach amid 140 acres of picturesque oceanfront property, The Breakers is recognized as one of North America’s iconic resort destinations. Independently owned, this legendary resort has been completely revitalized to offer a paradise for couples, families, and special gatherings. Revel in a new tropical feeling at the glorious beachfront, play the greens, and enjoy the blissful spa, delicious dining, and incredible services energized by a genuinely caring staff, integral in helping you make fabulous memories. * Nine distinctive restaurants and five bars* A private beachfront oasis with five sparkling pools, bungalows and watersports* An oceanfront spa, offering moonlit massages amid Atlantic breezes* 36 holes of championship golf including the on-site Ocean Course and Rees Jones® Course; a golf academy* 10 lighted Har Tru tennis courts and instruction by USPTA/USPTR-certified professionals* 10 on-site boutiques including Lilly Pulitzer, Guerlain and Ralph Lauren* A family entertainment center and kids’ camp; 11 boutiques.* The Flagler Club, private club level with a private concierge and residential ambiance, Interactive Family Entertainment Center and Kid’s Camp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Palm Beach
The Breakers Resort
Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Resort Palm Beach
The Breakers Palm Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.