We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Hotel when you visit Palm Beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Breakers to your Saves list
The Breakers
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
The New Ocean Fitness
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
west palm beach
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Pretty Hotel when you visit Palm Beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2007

The Breakers hotel, Is geared for the older clientelle. A bit stuffy . The room was very small. The spa is unbelievable. I had a facial that was one of the best I 've ever had. The gym is very nice. I enjoyed the new equipment. The staff was pleasent. Given the choices in the palm beach area , Breakers is probably the best. The rooms were expensive. It was close to the nice resturants . The valet people too a long time in getting the car. The pillows where down, so the bed was comfortable.

  • Liked — spa and gym
  • Disliked — small room and cost
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    982
    238
    84
    42
    41
See reviews for
364
408
28
334
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
the bahamas
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2007

Our extended family spent a January 2007 weekend at The Breakers for a 50th Wedding Anniversary. The Breakers is a magical experience in all aspects. The staff, from the moment the valet opens your car door, to the last moment on the property is sheer perfection. The rooms are an oasis of calm, the lobbies restaurants and grounds impeccable, and the new pool areas are delightful. If you can swing this even just once in your lifetime, you should go for it. A special thanks to the security department in trying to locate a small stuffed bunny that went MIA while we were there. They followed up every day for weeks via email on the case. A splendid experience.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2007

My wife and I came down to Palm Beach for her mother's funeral. We decided to stay here at the Breakers because we have heard very good things about it through our friends and co-workers. We got a very nice room on the fourth floor with a view of the driveway. Our stay, while very costly, was HEAVEN! (The same goes for the staff, food, and pools as well.) Even though I was there for my mother-in-law's death, which was a very sad occasion, I could not help having the time of my life here at the Breakers.

  • Liked — EVERYTHING!!! (scratch the money, of course...)
  • Disliked — The cost, but this stands alone
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2007

I stayed at the Breakers for 4 nights in July, since my husband was so kind to give me a solo spa getaway. From the moment I walked into the lobby to the moment I checked out, everything was perfection. I had to go back down to the lobby after I checked in and was shocked that one of the bellman actually knew my name. What a way to start!

The beach was wonderful - there are assistants that anticipate every need and whim. They were all delightful. I thought the food by the beach pool was really good - great wrap sandwiches. I would hunker down at the end of the beach under an umbrella and staff regularly came by to offer me a drink, a fresh towel or just to check in.

I really went to enjoy the spa and was not disappointed. I had 2 treatments a day scheduled and added a few because they were all so superb. Having been to many different destination spas, I have to say that the Breakers ranks right up there with quality of products, experienced estheticians and masseuses and superb treatments.

In a word, professionalism is what I experienced. Yes, the rooms are outrageously priced, but you really do get what you pay for. I was completely impressed and can't wait to go back. For anyone who is hesitant to travel alone as a woman, this place will erase that fear. They really take care of you here.

  • Liked — The Spa
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2007

I belong to an organization that meets every six months in Palm Beach. Over the last 7 years, I have had the chance to stay at many properties in Palm Beach. I have stayed at the Ritz and the Four Seasons, but until December, I had not stayed at the Breakers.

Before my arrival, I was really looking forward to the trip, having heard nothing but good things about the Breakers over the years.

Sadly, while its lobby is beautiful, there is really very little else to recommend the place. My room was ugly and looked like it had been decorated in the 70s. My kids were with me and we used the pullout sofa. It was atrocious, like the cheapest pullout I'd ever slept on as a student. It was an hour long chore every night to get them to turn that bed down.

The hotel restaurants are OUTRAGEOUSLY overpriced (even by Ritz and Four Seasons standards). $6 for a 10 oz diet coke, for example, $20 for the cheapest cocktail. The food is good, but that's it, good, not great by any stretch of the imagination.

We had a number of problems (broken thermostat, items thrown away by the housekeepers, etc. etc.). I spoke with management and got lots of words of apology, but very little action. I then spoke with our meeting planner who was also unable to help us. Interestingly, she said that in her 20 years in the business, she had never had that much trouble helping a client with a hotel issue, much less in as expensive a property as the Breakers.

I could go on and on, but the bottom line is this: the place rests on its laurels because of its famous name. It would be a rip off at 20% the price.

  • Liked — Beauty of Lobby, Pools
  • Disliked — Room was terrible, Worst Value I've ever experienced
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2007

Beautiful hotel which lived up to my high expectations, however it is possible to hear everything in the rooms next door! We were fortunate to receive an upgrade to a larger room for which I was grateful, however the view was of the garbage! Other than that we found staff to be accomodating, room very ample size, bathroom had 2 sinks and separate shower, tub. Altho it is expensive we found ways to "eat around" the prices. Great gift shop which sells sandwiches, coffee, etc.
We were there on a sold out weekend and still didn't find pools to be crowded.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2007

We stayed at the Breakers for 7 nights in June (the off-season for Palm Beach) and although we had already paid for the accomodation our bill at the end was over $800!

One night we fell asleep after coming back from the pool and slept all through the evening (jet lag catching up) so the next morning we were celebrating saving at least $150 on evening meal and drinks.

Joking aside, this is a lovely hotel. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. We stuck to the pool area as we found we got insect bites when on the beach.

It is a very expensive hotel, and you need a car if you are going to go somewhere else to dine. However, it is an experience I am glad I had and I doubt I will stay in such a sumptuous hotel for a long time.

  • Liked — Location/setting
  • Disliked — Expensive Restaurants
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Address: 1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Palm Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Breakers 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the island of Palm Beach amid 140 acres of picturesque oceanfront property, The Breakers is recognized as one of North America’s iconic resort destinations. Independently owned, this legendary resort has been completely revitalized to offer a paradise for couples, families, and special gatherings. Revel in a new tropical feeling at the glorious beachfront, play the greens, and enjoy the blissful spa, delicious dining, and incredible services energized by a genuinely caring staff, integral in helping you make fabulous memories. * Nine distinctive restaurants and five bars* A private beachfront oasis with five sparkling pools, bungalows and watersports* An oceanfront spa, offering moonlit massages amid Atlantic breezes* 36 holes of championship golf including the on-site Ocean Course and Rees Jones® Course; a golf academy* 10 lighted Har Tru tennis courts and instruction by USPTA/USPTR-certified professionals* 10 on-site boutiques including Lilly Pulitzer, Guerlain and Ralph Lauren* A family entertainment center and kids’ camp; 11 boutiques.* The Flagler Club, private club level with a private concierge and residential ambiance, Interactive Family Entertainment Center and Kid’s Camp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Palm Beach
The Breakers Resort
Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Resort Palm Beach
The Breakers Palm Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.