We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pillows!?!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Breakers to your Saves list
The Breakers
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Online Offer
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Pillows!?!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

My family just finished our 8th visit to the Breakers. Once again this one of a kind, iconic, and storied resort proved why it is certainly one of the great hotels ever conceived. Having said that...the Pillows!?! What have they done to the Pillows? Let me explain. Whenever we visited the Breakers in the past, the four pillows provided on your bed varied in softness. You could choose the pillow that best met your needs. Not any more. You are now provided with four pillows that are exactly the same, and in my opinion were equally awful. Our entire party felt the same (8 people in 4 different rooms). I called housekeeping to ask for softer pillows and I was given two of the exact same pillows. Since 1/3 of your stay will be spent sleeping, I felt it important to give prospective visitors a heads up. Under no circumstances should this prevent anyone from visiting this amazing hotel, but you might want to pack your own pillows.

Room Tip: Definitely try to get a room with a view of the Ocean. It will cost more, but few hotels are situat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,020
    250
    94
    45
    43
See reviews for
375
429
32
347
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

From the moment you drive up to the property, you are blown away by the beauty and historic feel of the hotel. I was working in Palm Beach for the two days we stayed, but my husband and son started our vacation early. They both had an amazing time and plenty to do on property. They took exceptional care of my 4 year old from providing beach toys to having a game room with tons of things to keep him busy.

in terms of the property, our view was amazing (looking right over the water), the beds were very comfortable and all the little details exceeded my expectations. Highly recommend to anyone staying in the Palm Beach area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Everything is excellent at this outstanding location. The facility, the staff and location are beyond compare. The cost is to be expected for such an incomparable resort. I especially cannot say enough about the staff, from the valet parking through the front desk personnel, anyone I came in contact with went out of their way to make May stay perfect.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I enjoyed my recent stay at The Breakers, this is my second stay at the property.
You walk in and have the feeling of storied history, old money and luxury. The property is manicured all the way down to the finest points of the landscaping- simply gorgeous.
The front desk staff is very friendly and professional. The valet is friendly yet I had an issue in which they "lost my car" , which contained my luggage that they promised to bring up to my room. I had to go back down to the front desk twice to check on it as I could not go to bed until I received my luggage. Finally I waited at the valet stand until it was found and I brought my luggage upstairs myself. The valet acted disappointed that I did not tip him for that adventure! If it was not for this episode, I would give The Breakers an excellent rating.
There are many choices of where to dine that all are excellent. They have an amazing wine program with in depth wine lists along with very approachable, helpful sommeliers to assist in choosing the perfect beverage accompaniment to your meal. There is fabulous bar in which you can choose wonderful wines as well as cocktails etc.
I particularly enjoyed dining solo poolside on a gorgeous summer day. They have a terrific cafe/sundries shop option in which you can purchase carry out coffee, salads, sandwiches etc which included the very best jambon & fromage croissant I have ever encountered (and that includes all of France- well done!)
This is a resort and with it comes guidelines/rules so you can properly enjoy yourself in an upscale manner meaning- A Dress Code; no flip flops, no cut offs, etc.. understated Bling is encouraged. This Breakers is very Lilly Pulitzer with a side of Tory Burch and Ralph Lauren.
You don't go here to party- you go to have a lovely, relaxing, delicious luxurious time with no annoying boisterous guests ruining your perfect paradise.
There is on site shopping for that new bathing suit and pair of sandals that you must have. Also, if you feel like going for a dreamy Palm Beach walk- Worth Ave is less than a one mile walk away and you can enjoy the greenery and geckos along the way!
I enjoyed the overall experience very much and even extended my stay for a day to soak all the Palm Beach goodness in. I will return again soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a full ocean view. You will need to pay an upgrade but it is worth it as they have quite a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed here in June this year with our three boys for our fourth year in a row. In the past, this has been our Heaven, our trip to make up for all of the craziness of spring and our perfect family excursion. I have been putting off writing this review because I thought it might make me remember more good than bad--but not so much. When you get down to it, my husband and I could not BELIEVE how much we were nickled and dimed compared to other years. We are more than willing to spend--this is the place to do it. However, the prices in every single restaurant went UP, and i mean WAY up, and so did the prices in the shops, etc. The camp, which in previous years had been included in our summer program, was no longer included, which, we were told upon arrival, making our stay an extra $70 times 3 kiddos, per day. No complimentary coffee in the lobby any longer in the mornings, but rather, one must trudge to the cafe to get it for themselves, and again, pay for it. No more use of the gym in the main building where the views of the ocean are present as you use the equipment--now, suddenly, another CHARGE for this but we were welcome to use a different gym on the 2nd floor......The playground, which is one of the reasons we come, knowing that our boys will have a place to blow off some steam before the dinner hour, was CLOSED for construction while we were there. I did alert the management to the fact that we were disappointed both with the camp situation as well as the kid center, to which, we were given a bungalow for a day as an amenity to our disappointment. Really? Fine but that, in addition to the CRUMMY condition of the beach which was basically overrun with weeds, so much so that we couldn't swim, we didn't feel that the luxury we had in the past. Really too bad--perhaps the timing did have something to do with it as the kids facilities were being re-done, but no excuse really. We have loved this property for years, had it in our minds as our spot of family tradition but we are likely going to put off returning anytime soon. I will add that the housekeeping staff was beyond great and did an incredible and consistent job, the pool staff was attentive and friendly, the camp staff TERRIFIC, but the front desk staff avoids speaking to folks, unfriendly, unprofessional and really not up to par for a property such as this. We hope things perk up before we consider visiting again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I stayed at The Breakers for a company function. I wouldn't have gone to the resort on my own in August because it is REALLY hot and humid. It was so hot that we couldn't even make it through a round of golf because the humidity drained us. The pool and beach are the best places to be. If you are staying at the resort in August, plan on thunderstorms every afternoon around 4pm. The staff is very serious about protecting guests from lightening. They make everyone completely evacuate the pool area and beach. They pack up the umbrellas and remove the chairs. The best plan is to get down to the beach and pool early.

Tipping goes a long way at the beach. If you want a good seat, tipping will get you one. If you want to leave your chairs and take a walk along the beach, tip the staff to ensure that you still have your place when you return. I saw one couple lose their spot even though they had left personal items on the lounge chair and asked the staff to hold their chairs.

The Breakers has the nicest staff I have ever encountered. Everyone went out of their way to provide outstanding customer service. I agree with the another reviewer about housekeeping. They seem to be the only department not highly trained in customer service. They came at odd times or not at all.

We ordered room service one morning. It not only arrived in a timely manner but the staff person delivering the food called from down the hall to let us know he was on his way. He said he didn't want to surprise us by just showing up at our door. It was such a nice touch. I wish every hotel did that.

The food at all the restaurants is pricey but excellent. They have some high end clothing stores and one sports shop. They have a surprisingly good selection of clothing and a great staff at the sports clothing store. If you want to shop at the fancy boutiques on Worth Ave in Palm Beach, be prepared for a ghost town. There is not much action and some of the stores are closed for the month of August.

This resort is wonderful. The Breakers is a grand, iconic hotel. It was a joy to stay there....even in August.

Room Tip: The partial ocean view is probably not worth the extra expense. There is construction going on at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Stayed here for a night with a in-house group event. Other than price I can't think of one complaint. Even got a free room upgrade without asking. Service and amenities are fantastic. I work for luxury hotels around Miami and this was my first time in palm beach.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Address: 1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Breakers 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the island of Palm Beach amid 140 acres of picturesque oceanfront property, The Breakers is recognized as one of North America’s iconic resort destinations. Independently owned, this legendary resort has been completely revitalized to offer a paradise for couples, families, and special gatherings. Revel in a new tropical feeling at the glorious beachfront, play the greens, and enjoy the blissful spa, delicious dining, and incredible services energized by a genuinely caring staff, integral in helping you make fabulous memories. * Nine distinctive restaurants and five bars* A private beachfront oasis with five sparkling pools, bungalows and watersports* An oceanfront spa, offering moonlit massages amid Atlantic breezes* 36 holes of championship golf including the on-site Ocean Course and Rees Jones® Course; a golf academy* 10 lighted Har Tru tennis courts and instruction by USPTA/USPTR-certified professionals* 10 on-site boutiques including Lilly Pulitzer, Guerlain and Ralph Lauren* A family entertainment center and kids’ camp; 11 boutiques.* The Flagler Club, private club level with a private concierge and residential ambiance, Interactive Family Entertainment Center and Kid’s Camp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Palm Beach
The Breakers Resort
Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Resort Palm Beach
The Breakers Palm Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.