We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Villa D'Este in Palm Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers

Save Saved
You added The Breakers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Breakers
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Online Summer Offer
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
Berkeley, CA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“The Villa D'Este in Palm Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We arrived last November in the middle of the night. Walking in to the grand lobby of The Breakers, it was hard to believe we were still in America. Imagine magically lit high ceilinged, marbled entries and corridors. Imagine frescoed walls and ceilings, authentic and painstakingly brought over from Italy over 100 years ago. Our 1 a.m. welcome could not have been more gracious. Our room, facing the parking lot and with an uninteresting view, was still beautifully appointed and comfortable. Sheets, towels, bed, closets -- all of these amenities were well above average. The service was excellent, across the board. As we were part of a conference, most of our meals were provided by the hotel's catering service. The food was acceptable, though not exceptional. I am sure that their restaurants serve higher calibre fare. As we were experiencing a significant tropical storm that weekend, the weather was dramatic. High swells and wind kept everyone off the beach and away from the pools. Never mind, as just being in the hotel is entertainment enough. There are many cozy corners to snuggle in to, to read a book or enjoy a game of cards. Being at The Breakers felt like really getting away -- to another era, to another country. My only disappointment is that the Hotel has slowly sold off its property over the years. Surrounding the hotel now on all sides are awful condos and golf courses. I wonder what the extensive gardens might have looked like 100 years ago. All and all -- we had a marvelous time, and look forward to returning one day.

Room Tip: Even the rooms facing the parking lot are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    219
    80
    42
    39
See reviews for
345
375
27
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This hotel lives up to its reputation! Amazing.

From the moment we checked in to the moment we left nothing was too much trouble and everyone we met was charming, efficient but relaxed ..... They really deliver.

Ate in the Seafood restaurant and the staff here really ensure that each guest is wowed .......

Would recommend to everyone

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Today's America is a scary place. Politically, economically, socially - it's a tumultuous land of contempt and uncertainty. So it borders on impossible to fathom a place where one can go to enjoy life's finer things in the comfort and safety once thought to be exclusive to bygone eras.

Nestled deep in Florida's coastal south is a utopia; a veritable bubble shielded from the rest of the world. Clean streets separate meticulously restored period-correct buildings whose yesteryear facades deceive onlookers from the modern goings on behind closed doors. The people, the city, the county, they all come together to maintain a certain look, a humble attitude, a constant quiet that soothes residents and visitors alike.

But with all the painstaking trouble taken to ensure West Palm Beach's appearance, those collective efforts pale in comparison to the impression expertly cultivated and preserved by the staff at The Breakers. No hotel or resort or exotic getaway could ever hope to emulate the care, quality, and attention to detail so deftly demonstrated, on a daily basis, by the personnel manning every area and aspect of this other worldly retreat.

The Breakers is multifaceted in its purpose and existence. It's not simply a hotel; it also caters to residents, as well as guests who are only visiting one of the many shops or restaurants. Additionally, The Breakers is host to many conventions throughout the year. It's no coincidence that organizations from around the world hold annual meetings and events at The Breakers, graciously accommodated by one of The Breakers' many halls and banquet rooms.

Gaining employment at The Breakers is no small feat. It's a rigorous three-step process that ensures that any interaction guests have with staff is both pleasant and knowledgeable. This includes eateries, shops, the pool, lounges, members only areas, and even the valet.

The seemingly endless stretches of marble, complimented by paintings, ornate metal sculptures, and fresh bouquets of flowers, compose the grand hallways that extend the lobby to different wings of this open-to-the-public palace. The ceilings are so elevated, you have to wonder if maintenance is required to possess a certain caliber of testicles to swap out of the bulbs of the dustless chandeliers hanging high overhead. The noteworthy details of The Breakers are so plentiful, they're overwhelming in both their abundance and decadence.

But what sets this place apart; this borderline-ostentatious edifice that humbles the Mar-a-Lago estate down the road, is the staff. The staff that, as a team, acts as a well-oiled machine, unctuously keeping the entire place in Swiss-like tune, solving trouble before it ever has a chance to arise. Without its faculty, The Breakers would much like a hollow chateau in a baron Chernobyl.

The location and presentation of The Breakers is head and shoulders above any other place within the United States. But the people who keep it going are the cornerstone of The Breakers success and reputation.

Friends told me I should've postponed my visit until later in the year; that June or July is host to babe-filled beaches, some of whom are careless and topless. But as I stood on the hand-laid stone walk along the beach wall, watching the ocean crash into jagged rock formations just beyond the shoreline, uninterrupted by the noise or presence of throngs of beach goers, I knew I came here at just the right time.

But irrespective of the time of year, you can't go wrong with a visit to The Breakers. If you're looking for a downside, you're reading the wrong review. The only reason I rated The Breakers five stars is because that's as high as the rating will go. My only complaint is that I'm not there right now. This is a bucket list location, and you're kidding yourself if you think some exotic foreign island will make you happier or be more fun than this domestic, Floridian paradise.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Mississippi
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My family and I stayed at the Breakers for a conference/mini-vacation. Our kids are 7 and 4. We've simply never stayed any place as nice. The staff was everywhere and always helpful - truly anticipating our needs. Our oceanview room was beautiful. Meals were delicious and reasonably priced for such a first-class resort.

Most of all, we were impressed with how much care was taken to cater to our kids. They were made to feel at home from the moment we checked-in. And, when it was time to leave, our 4-year-old summed up what we all felt with "Aw, man, we're leaving?!"

Room Tip: The oceanview is unbeatable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I just returned from my annual girlfriends get away to the Breakers. As usual from the moment we pulled in I felt relaxed. There are many reasons to visit the Breakers, beauty of location, luxury hotel rating, beauty of the building, historical significance, but what makes the Breakers unique is what I like to think of as 6 star service. From bellmen to front desk, pool attendants to concierge, room service and restaurant staff, the employees at the Breakers are the most polite, speedy and professional I have ever come across in any stay at a ultra luxury hotel. This place feels like home. Whenever we leave I regret to have to go home, and believe me I love my home:-) If you haven't been - GO! Yes it is pricey, but the old saying of "you get what you pay for" has never been better applied. My kids love it as well, they enjoy the liberty of coming and going at the kids center with giant arcade, computers and game stations, basket ball court, tortoises and playground.
We will be back, every year, hopefully more than once a year.
I have a fondness for independent/family owned hotels and this one is my favorite of all of them.

Room Tip: If you have the means to splurge get a junior ocean front suite or ocean front room. It is lovely an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Gorgeous hotel with excellent service. Just a tip - the rooms with 2 beds have only full size beds (not queen). Definitely can't sleep more than 2 adults comfortably. We ended up changing rooms for a suite that cost a lot extra, but needed it for space. Didn't use the spa or eat in any of the restaurants (besides breakfast buffet, which was very good).

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are the best but of course, are the priciest as well. Guest rooms with two beds ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hydes
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The breakers is a beautiful place. We had an oceanfront corner suite that gave us front and side views of the ocean. The bed was really comfortable. Everything was clean and the room spotless. It was very quiet and peaceful in the room. The air/heat was very quiet. The pools are really nice and heated. The life guards seem to actually watch the children. They have a kids area with wii and movies that are free. They have an arcade that the kids liked. I have to agree with a previous review that some of the clientele are snooty and they let their kids run wild. All the staff was very nice and helpful. We were there tagging along on a conference so we ate a lot of the conference food supplied by The Breakers. Most was excellent. Once they had a cocktail hour in the exhibitor's hall and that was not great. There was no place to sit and eat and the food needed a knife and fork. This may have been the fault of the conference coordinators. I don't know who made that decision. As we were waiting for a cab to leave they gave my kids stuffed animals. It was all really nice. I would love to go back. Ask for an ocean front room. It is really worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for corner ocean front. You will get two views of the ocean and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Address: 1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Palm Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Breakers 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the island of Palm Beach amid 140 acres of picturesque oceanfront property, The Breakers is recognized as one of North America’s iconic resort destinations. Independently owned, this legendary resort has been completely revitalized to offer a paradise for couples, families, and special gatherings. Revel in a new tropical feeling at the glorious beachfront, play the greens, and enjoy the blissful spa, delicious dining, and incredible services energized by a genuinely caring staff, integral in helping you make fabulous memories. * Nine distinctive restaurants and five bars* A private beachfront oasis with five sparkling pools, bungalows and watersports* An oceanfront spa, offering moonlit massages amid Atlantic breezes* 36 holes of championship golf including the on-site Ocean Course and Rees Jones® Course; a golf academy* 10 lighted Har Tru tennis courts and instruction by USPTA/USPTR-certified professionals* 10 on-site boutiques including Lilly Pulitzer, Guerlain and Ralph Lauren* A family entertainment center and kids’ camp; 11 boutiques.* The Flagler Club, private club level with a private concierge and residential ambiance, Interactive Family Entertainment Center and Kid’s Camp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Palm Beach
The Breakers Resort
Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Resort Palm Beach
The Breakers Palm Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.