We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opulence for the eye, fun and relaxation for the rest of you.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Breakers to your Saves list
The Breakers
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Online Summer Offer
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Opulence for the eye, fun and relaxation for the rest of you.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

This is a gorgeous resort, something out of Europe and just a short drive from the airport. The atmosphere is relaxed and very kid friendly. There are a activities every day for families and adults. Saw a cooking demonstration by a French chef and was scheduled for snorkeling (cancelled due to weather). Lots of quiet nooks to sit in and read or watch the ocean waves and birds overhead. Have adult only pool and lap pool. Food is wonderful, restaurants are beautiful. Loved the Seafood Grill where the bar itself is an aquarium. Staff are great. Spent 6 days and would have loved to stay longer. Hope to come back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,123
    275
    101
    47
    45
See reviews for
402
481
34
383
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, NJ
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We just came back from our 2nd stay at The Breakers. We enjoyed our first stay so much we brought friends with us this time! We were fortunate to be upgraded to Flagler level and ocean view rooms. The Flagler Club level was so amazing. Bernard and Debbie took such good care of us I can't possibly thank them enough. It was so amazing to experience the "hotel within the hotel". I don't know if any other hotel can compare to the Breakers! They are constantly upgrading the property, from restaurants to the pool area to the grounds. Speaking of the grounds, they are so beautiful. The herb garden was enchanting.

The pool area and amentities are wonderful. One of our friends had a terrible cold. Dylan, our server at the pool, was so great. When she ordered tea. Not only did he recommend his favorite teas but he literally prepared her tea for her. He was such a wonderful young man with an incredible smile that made the day for our party. He has a great future in hospitality!

I know The Breakers is expensive but the old saying is so true - You get what you pay for! At The Breakers it is worth every penny!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed at the Breakers in October. Beautiful weather! Room with balcony on the mezzanine floor. Two double beds, plenty of room, brightly decorated great spacious bathroom. Small balcony had to struggle to get a chair out there...but I did it. Tiny desk not good for work, if that's what one needs to do there. I kept my room service table my entire stay as my desk. Agree with other previous guests, hall noise easily heard within the room. I could hear entire conversations. For me not an issue for others perhaps. Huge property which means lots of walking. Seems rather strange to walk through such a formal reception area in flip flops and swimsuit coverup. One can walk around the building. Beach is great...Pools are fantastic..but the Bungalows are a must. Rent one at the farthest pool. Lush foliage, lounge chairs, private bathroom, shower, TV and an amazing view of the pool and the ocean beyond....can't get better...oh maybe throw in the great staff and there you go. A fantastic beach resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This was our second visit; the first was two years ago.

We arrived in the evening and went to the Italian Restaurant. Even knowing that it welcomed children and provided play facilities for them, we were taken aback at the screaming and general noise level. After a few minutes, having commented to each other that it was intolerable, I looked round to where I believed the worst of the children were seated only to discover it was a table of middle aged, drunken women celebrating a birthday; this included throwing things at each other. When we asked to be moved, the staff told us that they had received a lot of complaints about the women but their two requests of them to keep the noise down had been ignored.

A few minutes later an elderly dinner passed our table, telling us he lived in the area and this was his first and last visit to the restaurant. He would have preferred to eat at MacDonalds in future, apparently.

The restaurant manager should have asked the drunken women to leave or refused to serve them any more alcohol, so that the rest of us could have enjoyed our meals - but he didn't.

On our previous visit to the hotel, the pool farthest from the building was designated a serenity pool: children were discouraged, mobile phones banned and no music was played. It was separated from the adjacent pool by a large area of grass. This arrangement has changed and for the worse. The lap pool, containing salt water, situated at the other end of the pool area, next to the hotel now admits adults only, bans cell phones and played the sort of music heard in massage rooms and spas. However it is separated from the Activity Pool just by a waist high hedge, so the rock music played at that pool was easily audible. The pounding tracks used for the aqua aerobics were particularly intrusive.

There was no where to relax in peace. We didn't pay over $400 a night for this so we voted with our feet, leaving after only two days into our week long booking for the Turnberry Isle in Aventura. It's not for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This Henry Flagler-built hotel is simply magnificent...the frescoed ceilings, the attention to every detail, it's spectacular location on beautiful Palm Beach, and the outstanding staff is what makes this hotel - and my wife's - our favorite in all of Florida!...the lobby is a busy place, but has a welcoming atmosphere...and at most times of the day, there is a staff person just inside the front door...the grounds are always impeccable...the retail shops are first class...any hotel room is super...
The room we had, and we were with a business group so we didn't ask for any special room, had a ceiling fan which helped to keep the room cold even though we had a western exposure...the windows have hurricane shutter blinds which are easy to open and close for privacy...though the hotel was built long ago, don't think for a minute that the rooms, any room, will be subpar...our bathroom was over-sized with double sinks and marble counters and floors...it also had both a bathtub and a glass-enclosed shower stall with a head that delivered water with strong pressure and temperature - always a delight!...the toiletries are VERY good, and we love the shampoo so much that we always buy a full-size bottle to take home...
The food is out-of-this-world...again though we were with a business group, all meals were excellent...our luncheon meeting just before we left was a small salad, crab cakes and a dessert each on it's own square glass plate, but all three on a large rectangular serving plate...it was delivered at one time but was three courses!...it was perfect amount of food and very well presented...there are special meeting rooms on the north and south wing (one each), I forget their names, but to have a meeting in one of them is to die for...they are just unbelievable because they just don't put this kind of time and attention-to-detail in hotels anymore...
This is a hotel that has finished a refurbishment a couple of years ago, and it looks better than ever...if you get to take your spouse with you, your guaranteed to have a wonderful time!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view, of course...but even a view of West Palm Beach is beautiful at night because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, FL & New York, NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We attended a conference there; two nights and it was great; excellent hotel, staff, and service. Great to see a well run hotel, bar and restaurant. This is not a property for those on a budget but also not over the top if you pay attention.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony; while there are standing room only; having one is really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

There are numerous other superlatives I could select to describe this hotel but none would really give it justice.

There's a security gatehouse as you approach the hotel and we noticed other discrete security checks and measures throughout to keep out undesirables. Car parking is valet and costs $25 per night. Check in was swift and we were upgraded to a partial sea view room (2132) - it was a bit of a hike from the lobby elevator to the room but there is a benefit in that you are near the elevator at the sea end of the hotel which is very convenient for the Seafood restaurant and sea front. The room was large and full of quality fittings/fitments and knick knacks. The bed and pillows were so soft it took me a while to get used to them as my normal preference is for a harder arrangement - that having said I slept well. The clock/alarm arrangement was beyond my capabilities to set and so the wife had to sort it out! A handy touch was an empty fridge (there's also a stocked fridge). The bath tub has the depth of a swimming pool deep end (I exaggerate slightly!). However, I found the shower head to be rather low (and I'm under 6 foot).

The hotel pamphlets/guides in the room were a bit confusing i.e. not all the stated happy hour times were correct and also the beach grill was closed when we arrived at around 6pm (pamphlet states 7pm) - this may be due to the season? Also, it appeared from reading that all drinks (other than bottles of wine) were half price and this is not the case i.e. cocktails. At the beach bar it was fortunate you're served in plastic (but good quality) beakers as the edge of the bar is rounded where you sit and my glass slide off - it would have been better to have a tray trough like on the servers side.

We decided to eat in the Italian restaurant - you can eat outside or inside. The inside initially looked noisy with children etc but the hostess explained there was a quiet lounge and this turned out to be fine. I opted for the $35 3 course meal (from a selection) with a 1/2 bottle of Beaujolais ($22) and my wife had a pasta dish. The chap in charge was greeted like a long lost friend from a number of patrons who he'd met over the years and explained he'd been at The Breakers for over 16yrs but that many others had been there a lot longer - which is unusual in the hospitality industry but demonstrates they must be good employers.

In the morning we had the continental breakfast which was sufficient after the amount we'd consumed the previous evening. I must mention the toasters were difficult to operate and took ages to get up to heat.

Yes, your wallet will feel drained even after a stay of one night but I suspect it's small change to most guests (you don't buy a Rolls Royce and ask how many miles it does to the gallon or the the cost of insurance!) but for us simple folk it was a treat worth doing - we've stayed at hotels at the upper and lower ends of the spectrum and this has to be one of the top hotels in the world for service and attention to detail - well done!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach
0.9 mi away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#1 of 10 in Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 563 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brazilian Court Hotel
The Brazilian Court Hotel
#4 of 10 in Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
1.0 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#6 of 10 in Palm Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Palm Beach
1.9 mi away
Marriott West Palm Beach
Marriott West Palm Beach
#14 of 34 in West Palm Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 489 reviews
6.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort, Palm Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Address: 1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Breakers 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the island of Palm Beach amid 140 acres of picturesque oceanfront property, The Breakers is recognized as one of North America’s iconic resort destinations. Independently owned, this legendary resort has been completely revitalized to offer a paradise for couples, families, and special gatherings. Revel in a new tropical feeling at the glorious beachfront, play the greens, and enjoy the blissful spa, delicious dining, and incredible services energized by a genuinely caring staff, integral in helping you make fabulous memories. * Nine distinctive restaurants and five bars* A private beachfront oasis with five sparkling pools, bungalows and watersports* An oceanfront spa, offering moonlit massages amid Atlantic breezes* 36 holes of championship golf including the on-site Ocean Course and Rees Jones® Course; a golf academy* 10 lighted Har Tru tennis courts and instruction by USPTA/USPTR-certified professionals* 10 on-site boutiques including Lilly Pulitzer, Guerlain and Ralph Lauren* A family entertainment center and kids’ camp; 11 boutiques.* The Flagler Club, private club level with a private concierge and residential ambiance, Interactive Family Entertainment Center and Kid’s Camp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Palm Beach
The Breakers Resort
Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Resort Palm Beach
The Breakers Palm Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.