We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Breakers to your Saves list
The Breakers
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
The New Ocean Fitness
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
Winter Park, FL & New York, NY
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We attended a conference there; two nights and it was great; excellent hotel, staff, and service. Great to see a well run hotel, bar and restaurant. This is not a property for those on a budget but also not over the top if you pay attention.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony; while there are standing room only; having one is really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    982
    238
    84
    42
    41
See reviews for
364
408
28
334
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

There are numerous other superlatives I could select to describe this hotel but none would really give it justice.

There's a security gatehouse as you approach the hotel and we noticed other discrete security checks and measures throughout to keep out undesirables. Car parking is valet and costs $25 per night. Check in was swift and we were upgraded to a partial sea view room (2132) - it was a bit of a hike from the lobby elevator to the room but there is a benefit in that you are near the elevator at the sea end of the hotel which is very convenient for the Seafood restaurant and sea front. The room was large and full of quality fittings/fitments and knick knacks. The bed and pillows were so soft it took me a while to get used to them as my normal preference is for a harder arrangement - that having said I slept well. The clock/alarm arrangement was beyond my capabilities to set and so the wife had to sort it out! A handy touch was an empty fridge (there's also a stocked fridge). The bath tub has the depth of a swimming pool deep end (I exaggerate slightly!). However, I found the shower head to be rather low (and I'm under 6 foot).

The hotel pamphlets/guides in the room were a bit confusing i.e. not all the stated happy hour times were correct and also the beach grill was closed when we arrived at around 6pm (pamphlet states 7pm) - this may be due to the season? Also, it appeared from reading that all drinks (other than bottles of wine) were half price and this is not the case i.e. cocktails. At the beach bar it was fortunate you're served in plastic (but good quality) beakers as the edge of the bar is rounded where you sit and my glass slide off - it would have been better to have a tray trough like on the servers side.

We decided to eat in the Italian restaurant - you can eat outside or inside. The inside initially looked noisy with children etc but the hostess explained there was a quiet lounge and this turned out to be fine. I opted for the $35 3 course meal (from a selection) with a 1/2 bottle of Beaujolais ($22) and my wife had a pasta dish. The chap in charge was greeted like a long lost friend from a number of patrons who he'd met over the years and explained he'd been at The Breakers for over 16yrs but that many others had been there a lot longer - which is unusual in the hospitality industry but demonstrates they must be good employers.

In the morning we had the continental breakfast which was sufficient after the amount we'd consumed the previous evening. I must mention the toasters were difficult to operate and took ages to get up to heat.

Yes, your wallet will feel drained even after a stay of one night but I suspect it's small change to most guests (you don't buy a Rolls Royce and ask how many miles it does to the gallon or the the cost of insurance!) but for us simple folk it was a treat worth doing - we've stayed at hotels at the upper and lower ends of the spectrum and this has to be one of the top hotels in the world for service and attention to detail - well done!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborn, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Nice blend of old world Florida luxe and new dining and bar are really terrific. Shopping offers a fun diversion from the beautiful pools, beach and grounds. Terrific for couples and also families with older teens/twenty-somethings.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I just spent a special anniversary week at the Breakers. The service is truly outstanding.......everyone is so happy to please. We were treated like royalty and felt so relaxed. A great experience and worth every penny.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a bigger room - bathroom was huge..........
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We debated trying one of the other first class hotels in West Palm, but I must admit, this vacation was blissful. We enjoyed an entire week and experienced most of the restaurants on-site. The majestic Italian-Renaissance décor of the lobby greats travelers warmly in grand style. We did have one glitch with check-in, which started the week off with a questionable vibe, but this was quickly forgotten once we immersed ourselves in the elegance and beauty that abounds..

Room service is delivered efficiently with the same courteous service provided in the restaurants. The Italian Restaurant is a family friendly restaurant and was our least favorite, although the fare was good. The Seafood Bar is fun, and delicious. The Flagler Steakhouse was delicious, albeit slightly rushed.

Most of our days were spent relaxing at one of the beautiful pools reading and feeling pampered. The lunch options are extraordinary.

The price is substantial, but worth every penny.

Room Tip: The corner suites enjoy spectacular ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Amazing!!! Everything from the rooms to the service and the spa was absolutely amazing! We staying at the resort for a family wedding they were extremely accommodating. We had a 90 minute massage at the spa which was out of this world!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I have had the pleasure of travelling many times on business to the Breakers. The staff is consistently the best of any resort I have visited. The restaurants maintain a high standard and nowhere in all the years that I have travelled has room service been so quick. The food arrives almost as if it was being placed on the table in the restaurant, never cold or over cooked.

It is expensive and I do mean in every aspect, but you "get what you pay for". After all, it's Palm Beach.

The beach area is not the biggest but the water is nice, after all, it is the "Breakers", the water is at the wall most times at high tide. Go to one of the fantastic pools and relax.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Address: 1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Palm Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Breakers 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the island of Palm Beach amid 140 acres of picturesque oceanfront property, The Breakers is recognized as one of North America’s iconic resort destinations. Independently owned, this legendary resort has been completely revitalized to offer a paradise for couples, families, and special gatherings. Revel in a new tropical feeling at the glorious beachfront, play the greens, and enjoy the blissful spa, delicious dining, and incredible services energized by a genuinely caring staff, integral in helping you make fabulous memories. * Nine distinctive restaurants and five bars* A private beachfront oasis with five sparkling pools, bungalows and watersports* An oceanfront spa, offering moonlit massages amid Atlantic breezes* 36 holes of championship golf including the on-site Ocean Course and Rees Jones® Course; a golf academy* 10 lighted Har Tru tennis courts and instruction by USPTA/USPTR-certified professionals* 10 on-site boutiques including Lilly Pulitzer, Guerlain and Ralph Lauren* A family entertainment center and kids’ camp; 11 boutiques.* The Flagler Club, private club level with a private concierge and residential ambiance, Interactive Family Entertainment Center and Kid’s Camp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Palm Beach
The Breakers Resort
Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Resort Palm Beach
The Breakers Palm Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.