We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent! Lives up to it's 5 star reviews!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Breakers to your Saves list
The Breakers
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Online Offer
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent! Lives up to it's 5 star reviews!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I just returned from a 3 day/ 2 night trip to the Breakers Palm Beach May 7. This place is truly amazing and we are already booking a July getaway. Like most other reviewers we typically stay at 5 star hotels when travelling (Ritz Maui, Ritz Cancun, Four Seasons, etc) but the Breakers is my new favorite!

Here are the pro's and con's: Rooms are perfect, clean, beautiful views (we even had an island view and loved the view of Palm Beach - chose this view to get a bigger room and glad we did so). Food is AMAZING!!! Highly recommend HMF!!!! It reminds me of one of my favorite tv shows, Mad Men...I expected to see Don Draper walk in at any time. Try the HMF roll and the Kobe sliders! Grounds are amazing, everyone is friendly. Love the shopping!!! Only at the Breakers do they sell a $250 straw hat for the pool / beach. They have a Lilly store, Ralph Lauren, and you can even buy a new pair of Tory Burch espadrilles!

Con's: EXPENSIVE!!! WE SPENT OVER $2,000 for 2 nights just on hotel and food alone (once you factor in flight and taxi to hotel we're looking at over $2,500. If money doesn't matter to you - then GO!!!!! Another con (to some), when we arrived on Sunday the place was SUPER busy... if you are looking for a romantic getaway be prepared to see lots of little kids running around. It personally didn't bother us - just don't expect an adult only hotel. One minor complaint - we never got a turndown service and had to call for more towels, toilet paper. For this kinda $$ they should do turndowns on the hour!!

BOTTOM LINE! If you have money, GO!!! This is place to see and be seen. You literally feel like you are in the 1960's Palm Beach era of pomp and circumstance. If you want to fit in don't forget your oversized sunglasses and chicest coverup.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,019
    250
    94
    44
    43
See reviews for
375
429
32
347
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Beautiful hotel in a wonderful location. The property is very large with several pools, gardens, patios etc as well as a pleasant beach. Several good dining options if traveling with children (although on week ends, several might be privatized for weddings and events). Kids club with friendly staff will also allow you to take a well deserved break.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Many old historic hotels get worn, not The Breakers, an absolutely beautiful hotel and ground, high quality rooms, tho can be a little small. The complex is large, so you can almost always find a place for your mood. There are many little nooks for quiet time or large areas for fun and frolic. (It has been a long times since I used the Frolic). The pool areas can get busy and noisy and the Sunday brunch in the Circle is a bit of a zoo. Staff is always kind and helpful, it's the kind of place you will always say "I wish I could have spent more time there"

Room Tip: Save a few bucks if you get a partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

If you want an elegant stay, thus is the resort . The staff is fabulous and attentive to every detail. The rooms are totally elegance and there is a TV in the bathroom mirror! The food is wonderful . You'll enjoy the pools and the cabana areas.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Breakers in Palm Beach is one of my favorite hotels worldwide.
From the moment you turn into the drive, the special wellcome at the gate, the beautifulflowers covered drive to the main lobby and the VERY prfessional check in.
very speedy check in
superb bedrrom with all you need, great Palm Beach decoration, perfect bathroom with bath and large shower.
4 swimming pools and 1 swimming pool for adults only and very quite.

fantastic service all over.

i like to go every year!!!

Room Tip: rooms facing the Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is an experience not to be missed. The best part about the hotel was the Flagler design. It really is a sight to behold. Other neat things included: the aquarium bar counter, a fabulous little bookstore/coffee shop, and wifi that worked well everywhere in the hotel.

A big perk is that this hotel does not charge extra for many of the amenities, such as valet parking, wifi, beach cabanas, etc. they charge for the room, the food, and the spa and that's about it.

I feel like this hotel can meet the needs of nearly every crowd. For families with kids, there is a great play room (actually several rooms) with lots of age appropriate toys/activities. There is also a really cool playground. Plus, the hotel offers babysitting (for a fee).

All around comfortable rooms, with heavenly beds and classy bathrooms. I really liked that there were several gyms on site, so it was easy to find an uncrowded place to work out. I also took a few morning runs along the beach, which was pristine.

I really can't say enough great things about this hotel. It is expensive, but it is a great experience. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I made a reservation for brunch at the Circle restaurant inside The Breakers and was really looking forward to our meal. Until, that is, we got a call a week or so before from a woman who left a voicemail on my phone to confirm our reservation. In the slowest, most patronizing tone I've ever heard, she said "We just need you to know that your meal will cost $..... per person..... thats $!!!!!! PER PERSON and if you want to cancel please let us know." I was floored! I have NEVER had a a restaurant confirm a reservation like that, like she was talking to a couple of 15 year olds out for their first restaurant meal. She had no idea that we are successful business owners who were well aware of the cost of the meal and were more than able to pay for it. I really hope they read this and understand that it's not appropriate to talk to potential customers like they are not only stupid but also dirt poor. I don't care how nice the place is, if I'm not treated properly from the start they will not get any of my money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Address: 1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Palm Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Breakers 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the island of Palm Beach amid 140 acres of picturesque oceanfront property, The Breakers is recognized as one of North America’s iconic resort destinations. Independently owned, this legendary resort has been completely revitalized to offer a paradise for couples, families, and special gatherings. Revel in a new tropical feeling at the glorious beachfront, play the greens, and enjoy the blissful spa, delicious dining, and incredible services energized by a genuinely caring staff, integral in helping you make fabulous memories. * Nine distinctive restaurants and five bars* A private beachfront oasis with five sparkling pools, bungalows and watersports* An oceanfront spa, offering moonlit massages amid Atlantic breezes* 36 holes of championship golf including the on-site Ocean Course and Rees Jones® Course; a golf academy* 10 lighted Har Tru tennis courts and instruction by USPTA/USPTR-certified professionals* 10 on-site boutiques including Lilly Pulitzer, Guerlain and Ralph Lauren* A family entertainment center and kids’ camp; 11 boutiques.* The Flagler Club, private club level with a private concierge and residential ambiance, Interactive Family Entertainment Center and Kid’s Camp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Palm Beach
The Breakers Resort
Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Resort Palm Beach
The Breakers Palm Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.