We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, something different for a South Florida Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers

Save Saved
You added The Breakers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Breakers
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Online Summer Offer
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
Mid-Atlantic
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very nice, something different for a South Florida Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

In the class of the Homestead in VA & the Broadmoor in CO, this is an old large hotel that emphasizes service and a resort approach.

There were some posts on here that the service was spotty; I found the service very prompt and accommodating. I was here for a business conference, and ate all meals on site. Considering mass preparation and serving, the food was excellent. Breakers was large enough to accommodate our meeting of about 200.

Overall, though, the value for the price did not seem fitting. For this price range, for a personal trip, I would look at some other options nearby. There are other highly rated, smaller hotels that are not on the “breakers”, but only a short walk to the beach. Also, the beaches here are getting pretty short in some places, e.g, Phipps Ocean Park at south end of Palm Beach, the beaches were closed due to erosion from Sandy, that came thru 2 months ago.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    905
    219
    80
    42
    39
See reviews for
345
374
27
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Am a very tough critic and demand great service. Also stay in a variety of higher end hotels and I must tell you these folks are simply superb. The level of service I experienced was close to perfect. From the housekeeping staff to the bellman to the golf course staff. All simply superb.

A great choice of on site dining and a wide variety of food and prices. We had two meals as part of a large group and that was very well done as well. The grounds are impeccably well maintained and the pool area is gorgeous.

Was her with adults...not sure what and how they cater to children. Can not offer an opinion here.

All of this comes at a high price but remember you get what you pay for. Think they do just an outstanding job. Now remember this is an older hotel but I believe over the years they have done a nice job of upgrading when and where necessary.

Expensive but worth every penny.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Was disappointed by the breakers!
Individual staff are great and try hard, but you come back to the fact that it is a resort and a very expensive one. rooms are very average - we had a partial ocean view on the 5th floor, but no desk, no tea and coffee making facilities. Was very hit and miss getting your room made up - some mornings 9 another day 3.30pm - really?

The other point I'd add, is there are a lot of kids 7/8 years not being managed by parents who doing lunch and too busy. This can be annoying to say the least - I felt for the poor guys in the swimming pool with lane swimming that was invaded. By 3 such kids. Overall - wouldn't return sorry!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

the breakers has recently expanded to include more kid friendly touches like pools just for children/families, games/activities for young kids, a restaurant for families, etc etc. this has changed the hotel's atmosphere completely. traveling as a child-free couple, it's far less relaxing for us than it used to be. it's clear young families are now the breakers #1 target audience. that said, it's still a lovely setting with nice service, but i think if you're a young couple, a couple without children, or a solo traveler, there are many other resorts that you'd feel much more comfortable or relaxed at.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Nothing can beat the Breakers! The facilities are gorgeous, the service excellent, the location beyond compare. It is like being on an elegant ocean liner from the 1930s.

Be aware that the port cochere can be a little frantic so build time in to get your car if you have left it with the valet.

Staff at the Club Level were fabulous.

Only minor complaint is that the pillows are WAY too soft, and you need about 4 on top of each other to equal what I would consider 1 regular pillow.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Our first visit to the Breakers lived up to the (high) expectations of a (high) Christmas season visit. In fact, it would be hard to imagine a better high end family experience. Five pools, endless activities (including the spectacular Winter Festival and Carnival), and the merciful kids night camps, which allowed for sexy date nights at the new HMF lounge and delicious Flagler Steakhouse. At these exorbitant holiday rates ($1100 per night for a standard room), we're allowed a few quibbles. Why not put 2 queen beds instead of 2 double beds in what was a nice, large room? And, although some families liked the kids action, we felt The Italian restaurant was complete kid chaos. But, again, minor quibbles for a iconic, luxurious resort retreat. We can't wait to return.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had a great trip to the Breakers (family of 4, kids aged 8 and 10). We stayed 4 nights in an ocean-front room. The hotel facility is beautiful. We were there between Christmas and New Year's, so it was quite busy, but the staff was very friendly and attentive. The front desk asked our kids names at check-in, and they remembered the names throughout the stay. Our room was large, quiet, very comfortable and had a spectacular view of the ocean from our balcony on the 5th floor. Hotel staff arrived each evening to make up the pull-out. We spent much of each day by the "Active" pool, which is right by short stairs to the beach. Lifeguards were appropriately attentive - and it was easy to go between the pool and the beach -- and always felt safe with the kids in the water.
We rented a car - but really didn't need one. Short, nice walk into town for breakfast and dinner. Our kids spent time at the children's activity center, which has a basketball court and playground, along with some indoor play areas. The kids also did a couple of the evening activities on the lawn -- glow in dark volleyball and soccer -- and had a really nice time.

Restaurants and service were all fine -- although we didn't eat dinner at the resort. One very small critique is that there is no outdoor restaurant or bar to eat/drink in the evening. Neither of the restaurants by the pools was open for dinner. The resort map mentioned an outdoor "tiki bar" on the beach, but I was told it was damaged in a storm and taken down.

Overall, a great family vacation (family voted this their #1 trip) - great room, pools and beach -- very relaxing, very kid friendly.

Room Tip: Balcony on ocean front rooms was a big plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Address: 1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Palm Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Breakers 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the island of Palm Beach amid 140 acres of picturesque oceanfront property, The Breakers is recognized as one of North America’s iconic resort destinations. Independently owned, this legendary resort has been completely revitalized to offer a paradise for couples, families, and special gatherings. Revel in a new tropical feeling at the glorious beachfront, play the greens, and enjoy the blissful spa, delicious dining, and incredible services energized by a genuinely caring staff, integral in helping you make fabulous memories. * Nine distinctive restaurants and five bars* A private beachfront oasis with five sparkling pools, bungalows and watersports* An oceanfront spa, offering moonlit massages amid Atlantic breezes* 36 holes of championship golf including the on-site Ocean Course and Rees Jones® Course; a golf academy* 10 lighted Har Tru tennis courts and instruction by USPTA/USPTR-certified professionals* 10 on-site boutiques including Lilly Pulitzer, Guerlain and Ralph Lauren* A family entertainment center and kids’ camp; 11 boutiques.* The Flagler Club, private club level with a private concierge and residential ambiance, Interactive Family Entertainment Center and Kid’s Camp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Palm Beach
The Breakers Resort
Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Resort Palm Beach
The Breakers Palm Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.