We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe the best customer service experience at a Resort I've ever had....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Breakers to your Saves list
The Breakers
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Online Offer
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Maybe the best customer service experience at a Resort I've ever had....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This was a great stay for us. Loved the room, the pool, and the staff was amazing. I travel a ton, every year, business and pleasure, I would put this resort in my top 5 of all time. Will be back in 2013.....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,031
    253
    95
    45
    43
See reviews for
378
436
33
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

recently stayed at the Breakers for the 7th time! We stayed on the concierge floor and enjoyed it.I did feel the rooms seemed smaller than others but perhaps that was because we had twin beds. Chris and Tiffany went above and beyond(Chris let my daughter borrow a computer to send an urgent email)
I had been concerned we would be farther from the pools but the floor is smaller than I expected which meant the actual lounge was not crowded- a pleasant surprise. Of course we were also staying prior to the start of the Christmas season.

Room Tip: while we loved the concierge level I did feel the rooms were smaller, lower ceilings perhaps?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The Breakers has everything anyone would want for a wonderful vacation; beach, sun, golf, tennis. Lots to do and see in Palm Beach -- but watch out for your wallet on Worth Ave! Nicely redone rooms and the new restaurant and beach club is fantastic. It is a large property so be prepared for lots of families, kids and groups. All great for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The location of the Breakers was convenient (walking distance to off-property restaurants and an easy 15 minutes to the airport). I found the room small, not very cozy and was disappointed that it did not have a balcony - very few of the rooms did. The pillows were horrible. The food at the restaurants did not warrant the high prices, but the service was excellent. Everybody was very accommodating. If you have a late flight, they have great facilities with everything you need to shower, etc. It was a nice hotel and I enjoyed myself, but it fell short of total luxury. I would only stay there again if the price was right. If you are looking for a top-notch Florida 5 star hotel, stay at the Ritz in Naples.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

A gracious, old-world hotel on a beautiful stretch of beach, and with great restaurants, Breakers falls down only on its music policy which seems designed to drive you crazy, or to get you to buy and then wear ear defenders (which none of the fancy on-site boutiques sell).
You'll eat your breakfast oatmeal and muffins to the sound of vocalised jazz standards. Then as you walk from the hotel and through the pool and bar areas, it begins to feel like you're spinning through the stations on an American radio; we go from chill out (lap pool) to Latino (main pool) to adult-orientated rock (third pool), with the odd power ballad and blast of classical from the bars and boutiques along the way. The only place to get some quiet is on the beach, where the waves and wind actually mange to drown out Celine Dion, Ricky Martin, The Eagles etc., or oddly, the gym, It's incredibly oppressive and also quite mystifying. Hotel managers always say that music creates an 'atmosphere', but surely the marvellous interiors and wonderful setting gives Breakers all the atmosphere it needs?
Excellent steak at Flaglers, and the Japanese/Pac-Rim restaurant also very good. Breakfast bakery tasted a bit 'brought-in'. The new bar looks (and must have cost) a million $.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fincastle, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

From the minute you walk in you know that you are in a special place. There is a hostess in the lobby to greet you and help you check in. The expansive entry hallway has a luxurious old world feel, and down each of the hallways are stewards armed with a smile and the time to chat or show you the way to your next destination. Outside their is a beautiful beach surrounded by 4 pools and staffed to make your stay in the sun as relaxing as possible.
Inside their are 4 restaurants that give you such a wide array of choices that you need go nowhere else. My favorite was The Ocean, where the bar was an aquarium.
To sum up my experience, I felt that The Breakers gave me the pampered luxury of a bygone era. The sort of treatment the Rockefellers or Vanderbilts might have enjoyed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

As you cross the bridge into Palm Beach to your arrival at The Breakers ,you immediately are surrounded by the lush beauty of this tropical resort!Arriving at the entrance and to check -in very professional .Graciously greeted at front desk and checked in.
Beautiful room with spacious bath and shower area ,ask for separate tub and bath and upgrade to a deluxe if possible .American Express Platinum allows for early checkin and late checkout at 4:00 with a room upgrade.
Beautiful lobby ,and you really need to take the time to explore all areas of this beautiful resort ,before you head to the pool .Great coffee shop and shopping area ,expensive but definitely worth taking the time to browse and shop.
The pool area is just outstanding ,the backdrop of the ocean a beautiful turquoise blue with white sand,4 pools one a lap pool with cabanas and fabulous outdoor eating area ,our breakfast was superb,looking out at the ocean !
The spa was beautiful ,one of the best I have visited ,very tranquil and relaxing ,the facialist ,Margo was outstanding ,what a treat!
Room service was great prompt and food delicious.,the Seafood Bar looking out at the ocean ,what a view ,drinks great but very expensive ,bartenders friendly and work hard to please.
I have already rebooked for the holidays we had such a splendid time!

Room Tip: Up grade if you can from the standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Address: 1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Breakers 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the island of Palm Beach amid 140 acres of picturesque oceanfront property, The Breakers is recognized as one of North America’s iconic resort destinations. Independently owned, this legendary resort has been completely revitalized to offer a paradise for couples, families, and special gatherings. Revel in a new tropical feeling at the glorious beachfront, play the greens, and enjoy the blissful spa, delicious dining, and incredible services energized by a genuinely caring staff, integral in helping you make fabulous memories. * Nine distinctive restaurants and five bars* A private beachfront oasis with five sparkling pools, bungalows and watersports* An oceanfront spa, offering moonlit massages amid Atlantic breezes* 36 holes of championship golf including the on-site Ocean Course and Rees Jones® Course; a golf academy* 10 lighted Har Tru tennis courts and instruction by USPTA/USPTR-certified professionals* 10 on-site boutiques including Lilly Pulitzer, Guerlain and Ralph Lauren* A family entertainment center and kids’ camp; 11 boutiques.* The Flagler Club, private club level with a private concierge and residential ambiance, Interactive Family Entertainment Center and Kid’s Camp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Palm Beach
The Breakers Resort
Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Resort Palm Beach
The Breakers Palm Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.