We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Breakers to your Saves list
The Breakers
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Fantastic hotel! It is like stepping onto the set of a 1920s movie. This is old school elegance in a big way. Beautiful location and rooms and stunning lobby. The meeting rooms are frankly Versailles-like. This is not a cheap Hotel by any stretch, but it is quite beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    915
    221
    80
    42
    40
See reviews for
347
380
27
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denville, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

First of all, the place is beautiful. The busiest spot in the Hotel is the front door. The bell and Valet staff must be really tired at the end of the day, but they are fast and efficient. Check in is a breeze, the rooms are elegant and comfortable and our bags got there before we did. It is hard to find anything to complain about (I tried). We made a few requests at the time we reserved and they were all carried out and waiting for us. We also had to change our dates on short notice due to the Hurricane... again, no problem. We had a Cabana at the kids pool that easily held 4 adults and a baby in a playpen. The pool/beach staff was great. If there is a weak spot at all, it's the Italian Restaurant... pass and eat everywhere else! The Breakers is expensive and at such a high price, you are entitled to have high expectations. Fear not, they will be surpassed.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms have balconys and the view is perfect. They are a little larger also
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

From the moment you turn into the impressive drive you are taken back to a time where service was the byword of hotels. -- You pay for it, but you get what you pay for.
The buildings were spectacular with high ornate venetian style ceilings in the public rooms and as far as we could see, immaculately maintained. The deluxe room that we had on the ocean was huge and had one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in.
There were a lot of company seminars on at the hotel during our stay but we did not find the activities intrusive and it was a good indicator of the hotel's success.
There were plenty of good eating places and a good Sports Bar within the Hotel
We used the spa during our stay and found the treatments to be first class and reasonably priced.
The hotel is very well placed being 10 minutes drive from the City Centre with its good shops and restaurants and 5 minutes south you have Worth Ave with Saks, Neiman Marcus, and loads of high end shops.

Room Tip: South facing rooms get the sun most of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I visited The Breakers for a business meeting last week. As I approached it, I was struck by the beauty of the hotel and the surrounding grounds. It immediately had the effect of taking me back in time! The lobby took my breath away with the coved, carved ceiling and elegant furnishings. The story of Henry Flagler was explained and it felt like I was living before the turn of the century with one of the richest people in America! I must admit that my meeting became secondary - I was busy planning my next visit!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, FL
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The landscaping and decor is breathtaking! The only reason I didn't rate it excellent was more the atmosphere. The employees didn't go out of their way to make you feel welcome. It lacked warmth. The rules, restrictions and nickel & diming got old quickly too. Great pools, nice beach though I don't know what reef everyone's talking about, it's just a bunch of rubble/rocks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The Breakers takes you back to a time when the pace of life was less rushed and stressful. This hotel is ELEGANT and probably one of the last of its kind. Upon our arrival we were greeted by the staff with huge smiles and friendly greetings. Walking into the lobby of The Breakers you can't help but marvel at the FABULOUS architecture & design. Our room was wonderful with a partial ocean view from the balcony. Absolutely loved the large and spacious bathroom. Definitely enjoyed the day at the bungalow (Gulf Stream #3) where you could either sit inside and read or watch television or sit outside and enjoy the weather. Our concierge, Aaron, was GREAT and very attentive. The Breakers has an INCREDIBLE spa on the premises and I booked a facial with Terri. In one word it was WONDERFUL. I then received a FREE makeover from Sylvia at the Guerlain boutique in the Lobby. Everything was so relaxing, nothing was rushed and the attention/pampering was FANTASTIC. We ate on the premises at The Beach Club for breakfast, overlooking the ocean, and The Seafood Bar for dinner. Each and every meal was DELICIOUS. The staff at The Breakers was gracious and very attentive. Needless to say, I really LOVED my stay at this HISTORIC hotel. (Oh yea, if you get the chance take the tour of the hotel with Mr. Ponce. He seems to know everything about The Breakers.) I don't know when but I hope to return to The Breakers in the near future for another AMAZING stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was a first class place. Rich with history, great location, wonderful staff, and beautiful. The rooms were well appointed. Being there felt as though you were in Europe. The views were incredible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Address: 1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Palm Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Breakers 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the island of Palm Beach amid 140 acres of picturesque oceanfront property, The Breakers is recognized as one of North America’s iconic resort destinations. Independently owned, this legendary resort has been completely revitalized to offer a paradise for couples, families, and special gatherings. Revel in a new tropical feeling at the glorious beachfront, play the greens, and enjoy the blissful spa, delicious dining, and incredible services energized by a genuinely caring staff, integral in helping you make fabulous memories. * Nine distinctive restaurants and five bars* A private beachfront oasis with five sparkling pools, bungalows and watersports* An oceanfront spa, offering moonlit massages amid Atlantic breezes* 36 holes of championship golf including the on-site Ocean Course and Rees Jones® Course; a golf academy* 10 lighted Har Tru tennis courts and instruction by USPTA/USPTR-certified professionals* 10 on-site boutiques including Lilly Pulitzer, Guerlain and Ralph Lauren* A family entertainment center and kids’ camp; 11 boutiques.* The Flagler Club, private club level with a private concierge and residential ambiance, Interactive Family Entertainment Center and Kid’s Camp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Palm Beach
The Breakers Resort
Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Resort Palm Beach
The Breakers Palm Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.