We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection and luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Breakers to your Saves list
The Breakers
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
The New Ocean Fitness
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
KC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfection and luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I am wowed by this property. The rooms, the staff, the restaurants - everything is just perfect. And of course, the view is the best of all. The pools and the spa are gorgeous. It is southern hospitality at its best.

Room Tip: You just can't beat a room with a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    982
    238
    84
    42
    41
See reviews for
364
408
28
334
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This property is absolutely lovely and has every amenity you could want. Unfortunately the service was just average from most of the staff, and the bed was the most uncomfortable I have experienced. I have stayed in much lower quality hotels with much more comfortable beds.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel is very beautiful in any sense of the world. Quite a bit of work being done in the week of October I visited and the weather wasn't great, but absolutely first class. Beach is only downside, a bit small and full of rocks. Good for surfers, that's about it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands uk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a great 5 days at the hotel in October 2012, the weather was great and overall we enjoyed our stay. Unfortunately our daughter broke her wrist playing basketball but the hotel were very helpful and considerate. The hotel staff were great and we really enjoyed the beach bungalows. Breakfast was superb but the amount of building work going on was disappointing as we had booked long in advance and noone had mentioned that there would be major works going on. The beachfront restaurant that the check in staff recommended on arrival was a poor choice as all sea views were boarded up and you could not hear yourself think for the noise of a diskcutter!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed in The Breakers in two ocasions in July. In the second time I was supposed to go to another hotel in Miami, but I liked so much The Breaker that I cancelled it and stayed again. It is an expensive hotel, some things really unfairly priced like sodas, beer and other cocktails in the pool area, but in my case it did not affected my experience there.
The hotel is just gorgeous, really one of the most beutiful I have ever stayed. The room where breakfast is served is an attraction by itself. I can say the sevice is overall very good.
There many pools in the hotel and the beach very nice, most of the days there was almost no waves.
I really recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My family and I traveled to Palm Beach to attend a wedding at The Breakers early in October. The place is magnificent , the rooms spacious, and the property is very well maintained. The food is definitely not the highlight. The staff is very courteous and friendly but the service leaves little to be desired. I do understand that is was a holiday weekend (Columbus Day weekend) and the hotel was full but still at the rates that they charge I would expect a lot better service.

First, when we got settled in our room my teenage daughter wanted to take a bath, when the bath started to fill there was black debris coming out of the faucet and filling the tub. I called the front desk and they said they would send someone up. We left the hotel to go to a local pharmacy and when we returned two hours later no one bothered to come to fix the tub or the faucet. Fast forward, it was handled after another call to the front desk.

Secondly, the same daughter was napping on the bed and I noticed the bed was on an incline. When she got up I noticed how bad it was, we called the front desk and they told us they would be able to move us to another room but not until the next day (the day of the wedding) since they were full. They were able to fix the bed for the night by placing a board under the mattress.

Next day the family and I spent the day with friends by the pool since the wedding was not until the evening. I called the concierge from the pool area asking if they could go to our room and to get the clothes for the wedding and steam my daughter's flower girl dress and my husband's suit since he was the best man. I told them the wedding was in 4 hours and they said not a problem. After we left the pool area we stopped by the front desk and they told us we could change our room and for the inconvenience they were giving us an ocean view room, nice! The kicker is we only had 2 hours in which to get ready for the wedding. We got to our room to pack and found that they did not come and get the clothes to steam. The young man who they sent after yet another phone called saved the day. He made sure he found what room we were moving to and personally delivered the clothes with an hour to spare to our new room. Too bad I can't remember his name.

While I could understand maybe one or even two mishaps, I think three mishaps for a weekend stay is not the type of service I would expect from a hotel of this magnitude. My family and have stayed at other luxury resorts before and I guess I expected the service to reflect the grandeur of the property. This is not to say that we would not go back but we will not go back during a holiday weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Thought I would write another review for the breakers since I recently went back with my year old son. (previously it was just my husband and I). The resort was still amazing and so kid friendly. The service was great and they really went out of their way to help us. There was some construction going on and one of the pools was closed but it did not interfere with our stay at all. My son was too young for the day camp but they have a playroom perfect for a toddler in the family center. We hired a babysitter from the resort for two nights and she was wonderful. Sans baby - we ate at Flager's Steakhouse and Echo. Both were great and the hotel shuttle takes you to both places. All of us went to dinner one night to Nick and Johnnys and had a nice meal. Very family friendly and good food. It is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel to the little downtown area with some other restaurants, shops and a super market. Can't wait to go back next year!

Room Tip: We had a classic suite and it was perfect for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Address: 1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Palm Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Palm Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Breakers 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the island of Palm Beach amid 140 acres of picturesque oceanfront property, The Breakers is recognized as one of North America’s iconic resort destinations. Independently owned, this legendary resort has been completely revitalized to offer a paradise for couples, families, and special gatherings. Revel in a new tropical feeling at the glorious beachfront, play the greens, and enjoy the blissful spa, delicious dining, and incredible services energized by a genuinely caring staff, integral in helping you make fabulous memories. * Nine distinctive restaurants and five bars* A private beachfront oasis with five sparkling pools, bungalows and watersports* An oceanfront spa, offering moonlit massages amid Atlantic breezes* 36 holes of championship golf including the on-site Ocean Course and Rees Jones® Course; a golf academy* 10 lighted Har Tru tennis courts and instruction by USPTA/USPTR-certified professionals* 10 on-site boutiques including Lilly Pulitzer, Guerlain and Ralph Lauren* A family entertainment center and kids’ camp; 11 boutiques.* The Flagler Club, private club level with a private concierge and residential ambiance, Interactive Family Entertainment Center and Kid’s Camp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Palm Beach
The Breakers Resort
Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Resort Palm Beach
The Breakers Palm Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.