We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian Restaurant experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Breakers to your Saves list
The Breakers
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Italian Restaurant experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

I had dining experience at the Italian Restaurant at the Breakers resort. Beautiful place and great service although it did not feel like i was getting the best quality for this type of place and money. Food quality was average. My Carbonara pasta dish tasted like someone prepared it in a rush. Prosutto and bacon was burned and green peace was not cooked through. We enjoyed the selection of wines, but I would not return there.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,036
    255
    95
    45
    43
See reviews for
378
438
33
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

When making my reservation I was asked if the vist was for a special occasion, yes a very special birthday for my husband. The Hotel said they might give an upgrade to us.
WELL after a 11/2 hr wait I was told we were upgraded to an Oceanfront suite, we felt like royalty, the suite was beautiful in every way! Only one thing missing, a coffee maker, sent right up to the room, upon checkout got a charge of $44 ouch!
The Hotel is truly First Class in every way, we felt like we were in Europe at the Grand Hotels, old world charm! Service terrific and so polite.
Truly a memorable week-end!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Came for a conference this week and can say that my stay was excellent! From the moment I arrived where I was offered a bottle of water waiting to register, to the room, to all the amenities, The Beakers is top quality! I travel extensively, and this has been one of my best stays. Thank you for making my stay so comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

It was just a beautiful hotel! The staff was amazing room service was quick and friendly and accomodating! The view from my room was spectacular. I cant say enough amazing things about this hotel! Will definetly return

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I recently had the opportunity to stay at The Breakers. I enjoyed my stay but was a little disenchanted with the wait during check in however I understood as a conference was being held and the young man who helped me check in was very apologetic and helpful. My room was on the 3rd floor on the North side (I believe), I had a lovely and large room for it to be a "deluxe room” but had a horrible view. My girl friend's deluxe room on the other side of the hotel was not as large but had a great view. When my friend and I met up later that after noon to take in lunch we decided to inquire with concierge. The young lady at concierge was not very polite or helpful actually she was stand-offish, which I found to be very inappropriate. In my opinion concierge should be polite at all times. I decided it would be advantageous for us to ask a valet attendant for a recommendation. I believe the young man’s name was Brian; he was truly very helpful and recommended the Flagler Steakhouse and other restaurants both on and off the property. My fare was average, but I did not expect much as I did not order steak. The woman who waited on us at Flagler was very personable and attentive which was the true pleasure.
I went to all of the restaurants on the property and most enjoyed the Italian Restaurant which was surprising. On the evenings where I just wanted to be in the room I ordered a great lobster bisque and Lobster roll. I spent time in the shops at the Breakers and enjoyed the spa. There was a pool area that was under construction however it did not take away from the resort or ambiance. All in all The Breakers is a beautiful place. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you were looking for a place to relax or have family time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night celebrating our anniversary. We live less than an hour away but had never visited the property. We had a reduced Travelzoo rate, but we were upgraded several levels to a direct ocean view room. Our room was lovely in every regard. The view was the best, the linens were the best, the sunken tub was the best. The absolutely best aspect of this hotel was the impeccable service. Every single hotel staff person we encountered went out of their way to ensure our enjoyment. You can't say that about every luxury hotel you stay at even though courteous service is certainly expected at these type of resorts. So stay here if you get the chance. You will have a wonderful time.

Room Tip: The direct ocean view king rooms are located on the ocean side of hotel. There are only five stories...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Everything was great with my visit, except everyday our TV kept breaking. Instead of switching rooms or replacing the TV, we had to wait up to 30 minutes each day of our visit for a repairman. This happened every day, sometimes multiple times in the same day. Personally I've never had this problem at any hotel I've ever stayed at needless to say a 5 star resort.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Address: 1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Breakers 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the island of Palm Beach amid 140 acres of picturesque oceanfront property, The Breakers is recognized as one of North America’s iconic resort destinations. Independently owned, this legendary resort has been completely revitalized to offer a paradise for couples, families, and special gatherings. Revel in a new tropical feeling at the glorious beachfront, play the greens, and enjoy the blissful spa, delicious dining, and incredible services energized by a genuinely caring staff, integral in helping you make fabulous memories. * Nine distinctive restaurants and five bars* A private beachfront oasis with five sparkling pools, bungalows and watersports* An oceanfront spa, offering moonlit massages amid Atlantic breezes* 36 holes of championship golf including the on-site Ocean Course and Rees Jones® Course; a golf academy* 10 lighted Har Tru tennis courts and instruction by USPTA/USPTR-certified professionals* 10 on-site boutiques including Lilly Pulitzer, Guerlain and Ralph Lauren* A family entertainment center and kids’ camp; 11 boutiques.* The Flagler Club, private club level with a private concierge and residential ambiance, Interactive Family Entertainment Center and Kid’s Camp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Palm Beach
The Breakers Resort
Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Resort Palm Beach
The Breakers Palm Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.