We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorial Day Weekend Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omphoy Ocean Resort

Save Saved
You added Omphoy Ocean Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Omphoy Ocean Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2842 South Ocean Boulevard, Palm Beach, FL 33480   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Palm Beach
Boston, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Memorial Day Weekend Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary here. We booked the trip through JetBlue vacations. It was a very enjoyable trip. We arrived on Thursday and left on Sunday. On checkin, we were given a room facing the pool without a balcony. We went down and talked to Molly at the front desk and she upgraded us to a partial ocean front room with balcony. We then went out to the beach and when we came back, we found a bottle of wine in our room for our anniversary and a hand made card by Molly. Molly was terrific. Any time, we saw her, she asked how we were doing and offered to help in any way. When we left, she called us a cab and then left us know when the cab was 1 mile out. She was, by far, the most helpful person at the front desk. The other gentleman who worked the desk while we were there was not nearly as responsive or helpful.

The hotel is dark as most make mention of. The room was comfortable and functional. It is brighter than the halls and the lobby. The bathroom was clean and well laid out. The balcony had comfortable furniture. The furniture looked better than what was on the balconies at the Four Seasons. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet.

The beach is beautiful. For most of our time, we were able to get chairs with an umbrella with little effort. When you come onto the beach, there is a booth manned by the beach attendent. There is sports equipment, towels and a water cooler. There were a few people who came through serving food and drinks. The best person on the beach was Julee. She worked hard and engaged with the guests. The other person there wasn't nearly as good. He didn't come as often and would get the drinks mixed up. On our last day (Memorial Day Sunday), someone came down early and reserved all front row chairs and almost all umbrellas. The beach attendent lost control of the beach and the beach was understaffed. The guests sitting next to us talked to the manager of the hotel on the situation and he wasn't very helpful. Hopefully the hotel will learn from this experience. It was basically the only blemish we had while we were there.

The pool was also very nice. While it was on the street side of the hotel, it was quiet and well designed. The pool was warm, the staff was attentive there and it was relaxing. Just a nice scene.

My wife loved her experience at the spa. She said the massage she got from Rio was one of the best she's ever had.

We ate at the restaurant one night for dinner. The restaurant is right above the lobby and has floor to ceiling windows looking out at the beach. It's a beautiful view and the food was amazing!

Room Tip: The spa and the hotel occasionally run groupons that are great values.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    351
    184
    86
    54
    41
See reviews for
109
357
48
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel is very relaxing, front desk staff were nice, valet attendants had no personality at all. Pool was very nice and has several lounge chairs for relaxing. You can also order drinks and food at the pool. Beach lounge chairs were set up nice as well. Attendants there were very attentive and friendly. Breakfast was delicious! Hot and perfectly portioned. Room with partial ocean view was nice. Small bathroom with limited counter space. Shower was nice and quite large. Beds are super comfortable but pillows were horrible; bring your own if you can! No rugs or carpet in the rooms make your feet dust and dirt collectors. Keep your shoes on in rooms! Housekeeping came even though we had the "relaxing now" sign on our door. Weird. The fire alarm also went off one night at 3am (false alarm we assume).

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We celebrated our 33rd anniversary with a wonderful romantic two night stay on June 1-2, 2013 We were in the South Tower,and were upgraded to a corner suite with 2 rooms, the most awesome view of the Beach and property. Rm #318/319. thank you to Judith in reservations and Molly at the front desk. The rooms were very spacious and the bed was super comfortable.The Hotel has a very nice Zen and Botique feel to it, very comfortable.The lobby and common areas are gorgeous.The hotel lighting is perfect for couples. The staff went well above and beyond accomodating us from the time we got there till we left. Breakfast ouside is a must and super good, with great service by the staff. The valet staff were excellent. The beach was amazing and beautiful. The beach staff again were excellent. We didn't get a chance to use the spa but heard many great things about it. We did get to meet with Dolores who manages the Spa to see if they could be of service but not this trip. We also didn't get a chance to swim in the beautiful pool. Malcom's the restaurant was holding a private party so on to Clemitas Ave WPB to Pistache a french bistro excellent (highly reccomend) or Cafe Sadori an Italian restaurant excellent (highly reccomend). There are many reasons for us to comeback and enjoy what they have to offer here at the Omphoy, another day. All in all we had a wonderful and memorable stay at The Omphoy THANK YOU and we would go back in a heartbeat. Do not hesitate to book this gem of a hotel for your next great "Romantic" vacation!

Room Tip: Beach Front Ocean View Is A Must And Well Worth It!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddle Brook, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel exceeded our expectations. The service was excellent from the front desk to wait staff. Our room was very spacious, and had a beautiful comfortable bed and a nice size balcony with a partial ocean view. The bathroom was fantastic, big, clean and modern. Loved the l'occitane toiletries. We will definitely visit Omphoy again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
momajtm
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We celebrated our anniversary with two night escape. We upgraded to an ocean view. This is a must. The rooms are zen and comfortable. The hotel is nicely decorated and dark and quiet. Great for couples. The staff were all great and accomodating. The beach and pool are excellent. The spa was relaxing. I had the best facial ever. Ask gor Nancy. The only disappointment was the restaurant. They were between chefs and the food was mediocre and kitchen was extra slow.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, FL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

This is my second year of using a Groupon certificate to stay here. I have tried other hotel/spas but this is the best one for me. The staff are very friendly and accommodating, especially Molly at the front desk. Gio, my massage therapist is wonderful, very professional and does great deep tissue work. Yes, the hallways are dark but it helps to keep the relaxing atmosphere; no glaring light or noise. The casual restaurant is over priced and menu is limited but quite relaxing too. My room was a bit dusty but not overly. I am a clean freak so if I can handle it it must not be too bad. Bathroom is large and luxurious, wonderful amenities. The only way to get ice is through room service so that was a bit too much for me as I drink a lot of water. The mini bar refrigerator was not cooling properly upon my arrival but they replaced it within an hour and all was well after that. The only staff that irritated me was a housekeeper who knocked on my door around 9 one morning when I had the "relaxing now" sign on the door. If they offer a Groupon deal again, you can bet I will be here!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Omphoy Ocean Resort provides a comfortable, beachside resort experience, no passport necessary. Located about six or seven miles south of Palm Beach, this place was renovated about four or five years ago. It has a modern, sleek look. Yes, it dark -- dark wood, dark wall, dark lighting, but that does serve to give the place a relaxing vibe.

On the plus side, the rooms are big enough, the beds comfortable, and bathrooms nice. There's free wi-fi throughout. The staff is generally friendly and there to please. The pool area is very pretty. Yes, it's "in the parking lot" as some have noted, but when you're at the pool, you'd never know as it is elevated and surrounded by palm trees and shrubs. You will never see a car. Access to the ocean is through the first floor and there were plenty of lounges and chairs to make gazing at the sea comfortable. The restaurants are good, as is the bar. (There's also a good beachside dive down the beach -- Benny's -- just a short walk away for breakfast.)

On the down side, parking is valet only for $25 per day, even though the lot is right there. I guess it's employment for some college kids. You have to call room service for ice. Sound does carry into the rooms from the halls. The tile floors in the rooms are probably vacuumed all the time, but they'd benefit more from a daily mopping given the dirt and grit that get carried in from the beach. There's not too much around within walking distance, but once you get comfortable you probably won't want to leave.

We had a pleasant off-season stay, although I'm sure it's much livelier during high tourist season.

Room Tip: You can get oceanside rooms for a premium, although our room on the southside had a limited water vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Omphoy Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omphoy Ocean Resort

Address: 2842 South Ocean Boulevard, Palm Beach, FL 33480
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Palm Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Palm Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omphoy Ocean Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beckoning like a shimmering wave, The Omphoy Ocean Resort is the first new oceanfront resort on Palm Beach in more than 18 years, and the only beachfront boutique hotel on the island. Contemporary and chic, the hotel engages the escapist in everyone with an unpretentious air of sophistication combined with the continuous flow of fresh ocean breezes.The Omphoy boasts 130 guestrooms and suites all of which offer panoramic water views of the Atlantic Ocean or Intracoastal Waterway. This beachfront getaway also offers an exclusive dining experience in The Restaurant at the Omphoy and the unequalled experience of our mind-body spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Omphoy Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omphoy Ocean Hotel Palm Beach
Omphoy Ocean Resort Palm Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omphoy Ocean Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.