We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average, but at a price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omphoy Ocean Resort

Save Saved
You added Omphoy Ocean Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omphoy Ocean Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2842 South Ocean Boulevard, Palm Beach, FL 33480   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Palm Beach
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Above average, but at a price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Omphoy Ocean Resort is a lovely piece of property located right on the beach. The water is gorgeous and the large patio is a perfect space to relax and soak in the warm sun by day or stargaze at night. That said, I feel the need to point out the pitfalls...yes, there are some.

The hotel interior is very dark, especially those guest rooms on the lower north side due to a neighboring property that is very close. Our room on the 2nd floor had a terrace which overlooked a children's play yard which caused no problem but I wouldn't choose to stay over it again. The bed was okay and I found the furnishings to be both interesting and functional. There were some things missing, however. More about that later on.

What I found most amazing at the Omphoy was the food! Whether ordering room service, eating out on the patio or at Malcolm's - The Art of Food, every dish seems to be created with imagination and a passion for the craft. It's pricey, but this is one area where the quality is so mind-blowing that I truly didn't care. Any meal here is an experience to be remembered. Kudos to the chef!

After many hours of travel I wanted nothing more than to simply relax in my room over a late lunch. I ordered a sandwich (which while pricey, was awesome) from room-service and have to say that they were both prompt and courteous. It was after devouring the delicious first half that I discovered I had no way to keep the second. There's no fridge in the room, only a small mini-bar and assortment of snacks along with a bottle of water you could purchase. Additionally, there's no ice and it can only be obtained by having someone bring it up. There is no coffee-maker, no way to make tea. This means that anything you wish to consume must be purchased and as we later discovered, will be done so at their convenience.

We are early risers and enjoy our morning coffee while watching the news or reading the paper. Our first morning my husband went down about 5:30 in search of coffee and informed that it would not be ready until 6:30. We therefore adjusted our schedule accordingly and had no problem until the 3rd morning when he went down at 6:50 to find no coffee. He stood there as staff whisked by, ignoring him until finally he gave up and returned to our room. They wouldn't even make eye contact. We promptly dressed and took our business elsewhere.

Balance in all things makes for success, especially in the service industry. You can be a profitable high-end hotel without holding your guests hostage. I suspect that in time, the Omphoy will either learn this valuable lesson or change hands. There are certain aspects of the property that cannot be easily changed. It is imperative, therefore, that each guest leave feeling valued.

Room Tip: North, low-level rooms are dark and look out onto adjacent hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at Omphoy Ocean Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Hello, Rhonda. Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to hear that you liked the setting and location of our resort, as well as our outdoor terrace. We are glad that you enjoyed your meals while you were here as well. We apologize for the lack of certain guestroom amenities and for the problem you had with your morning coffee. Your feedback is very important to us and we will certainly take your helpful points under consideration for the future. We thank you again for taking the time to send us your thoughts about your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    360
    186
    91
    61
    45
See reviews for
113
368
49
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Love the Zen quality-the decor and understand the dark hallways as part of that. I agree the beach staff are fantastic and reflect a 4 * staff. Same with valets and front desk.The food is fantastic!!!
Yet I agree with past reviews- the obvious flaw is the staff at the bar and terrace. There must not be great leadership to inspire the crew there-they seem to operate on the fly-are thinking they are 4* yet have no clue what that means and come off like they do not really care; very flippant, take forever for any assistance or to be served or sat-you feel like an after thought-not at all reflective of the staff of true 4 and 5 * establishments anywhere. Perhaps since many are young they believe it is cool or something to be arrogant and unavailable. What they need is a true professional as a role model to show them the ropes. It is too bad, this property could be head and heels over others-those people hold it back. I have traveled the world in many of the best resorts and hotels-as owner of my own business- I would recognize their lack of true professionalism and timing and decide who stays who goes and with those that seem capable and willing to listen-train them to a much higher level.Smiles, a friendly can do attitude, customer is always right, very accomodating attitudes are what you expect and it is not there consistently. Most of the Terrace/bar staff are seeming to fit right in with the likes of the Kardashians yet without any of their business smarts-just wannabes! just lack the savvy a true polished professional with great leadership would possess. I would think by now -after reading these posts-the owner would step in. These young girls and slick guys do not display the quality of service or set the stage of a true dream property to consider revisiting. Again food is great, valets , front desk and beach crew and room service (Lorie was great!!) all happy smiling CAN- DO folks that act as if they can't do enough like a true 4* staff -in great contrast to the thuggish/ inexperienced/ feeling of the terrace/bar group that will send me somewhere else next time unless there are changes in the future. The owner should go undercover and experience it themselves
.PS And the Trerrace is such an ideal place to dine because the ocean is right there.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nicely decorated-nice Zen get away! Love the bedding really great rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at Omphoy Ocean Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you liked the "Zen" quality of our resort and you were happy with the decor and bedding in your guestroom. It is great that you found our beach, valet and front desk staff to be so great and we will be sure to share your kind words with them. We are disappointed, however, to hear that you were not pleased with the service you received from our wait staff at the bar and terrace, and we will discuss the points you brought to our attention with them. We take great pride in the service we provide our guests and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know your thoughts about your recent stay. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My girl friend and I needed to get away from the cold for a few days and booked the Omphoy. I've stayed in several four and five star hotels in Florida, and this was my most relaxing experience yet. It's quiet, has the ambiance of a high end Miami property without the chaos. The staff could not have been more attentive and responsive. I'd highly recommend the spa services. The terrace on the beach is perfect. The rooms were clean, modern, and comfortable - dark wood and white linen. We didn't have an ocean view room, but could still have partial views from our balcony, which also allowed us to see the intercoastal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

First of all, the Omphoy is among our favorite hotels in the world. The quiet zen like atmosphere is a great counterpoint to an active vacation. The mattresses are top notch and the hotel is a great place to relax. Lucas, Carlos, and Sam at the beach and pool are very pleasant and highly professional--- a pleasure to have them assist my wife and I.

Now the bad, the wait staff at the lobby bar and restaurant are downright creepy and pushy in the wrong way. Why they hired this crew of miscreant types is unknown. One guy, the manager maybe, approached my wife and I rather aggressively when we were returning from the beach--- acting like we just wondered in from beach, after staying there for the last 10 nights , "joining us for lunch? Or just breezing through? " he sputtered in a you don't belong here tone. What a joker, but maybe h was having a bad day? I don't know, but had I been running the place , would have demoted the guy instantly. The wait staff is creepy enough without having managers being aggressive to guests.

Now the ugly--- first the cushions at the pool are disgusting. Old, ripped, and stained--- ridiculous! Never before have we seen such dirty cushions-- even in Mexico. The cushions are clean. We stayed at the FountainBleu this trip in Miami and their cushions are white and perfect. No excuse!
Secondly, the black lounge chairs on the beach are ALL worn out and need replacement.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at Omphoy Ocean Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that we are one of your favorite resorts and we appreciate that you make the choice to stay with us time and again. We are happy to hear you enjoy the atmosphere of our resort and that you feel like you can truly relax when you stay with us. We also appreciate your kind words about our beach and pool staff, and we will be sure to pass along your comments to them. We do apologize for the issues you faced with our lobby and restaurant staff, and we will certainly discuss these with them. We are disappointed that the upkeep of our beach and pool furniture was not what you had expected and we appreciate you bringing it to our attention. We thank you again for your helpful feedback and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA, USA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I read all of the reviews before booking, but I booked anyway, and unfortunately must continue to report mixed reviews for the Omphoy.

PROS

Incredible location, right on the beach. Ocean front rooms are to die for! There is nothing like sleeping to the sound of the ocean.

Cool "look" to the hotel. No old fashioned grandma furniture here!

Happy to report hotel rooms themselves have better lighting now than previously reported, although still darker than average. And halls and other common areas are still extremely dark. (To give you an idea, the sushi chef left in a huff one night and said he could not work under these conditions as he was afraid he was going to cut off his finger; he could not see what he was doing!)

CONS
Service is still very bad when you consider this is a $500/nt hotel. It is as if there is no GM running the place. Staff are trying their best but they just aren't given any direction and are not knowledgeable about anything. Silly things like forgetting to bring our beach order after waiting more than an hour, running out of beach towels, bringing the wrong food to our table, having to ask for a final bill at checkout (they did not automatically provide one without our asking), etc. Probably the oddest thing was one of the shelving units in the room (painted dark brown so therefore barely visible in the dark room) apparently had one wall that was unfinished, so things kept "disappearing" off the shelf. We luckily had brought a flashlight with us due to the previous comments about the hotel being so dark, and found that things were disappearing down the unfinished wall into a shute 5 feet below! Very weird!

Later we found out the hotel has been threatening foreclosure since it's inception so that would explain a lot.

Overall, we would probably stay there again because the location was so perfect but you just have to be prepared for the strange quirks of this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't bother with anything other than ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We got a great rate at this swanky hotel in Palm Beach...so were very excited about trying it while vacationing with our two kids. we read some "beware" reviews about hidden fees, etc, so we were on the lookout.

the hotel parking policy is a bit unclear...as they do not really mention anything about it on the website. turns out there is a $25 per night valet parking charge which seems unavoidable by other reviews...but no where does it state it is "mandatory" on the website. i guess you could just try telling them you are going to self park and see what they say. all the parking is footsteps from the entrance. we just chalked it up to the experience and went with it.

room service food was good..pricey yes..but convenient when you don't want to go out. some reviewer said the $16 hamburger was great..but i thought it was just ok.

we did not spend much time on beach as it was very windy..but lots of chairs, towel service, etc out there. really cool pool is oddly place on front of hotel but it was very nice. edgeless views with lots of comfy seating plus two cabana beds. we had our two kids (4 and 6) with us and was not an issue with them swimming and making a little kid noise.

expect numerous opportunities to tip, etc. bringing ice up, room service, valet, bellhop, etc.

i think you need to be careful when ordering drinks (especially bottled water) as prices will surprise you. i heard two parties at pool complaining about their bill...which i think had to do with overpriced water (i think $6 a pop!)

also, many reviews mentioned how dark this hotel is...they are correct. it is very dark...but it is the ambience of the hotel. if you are looking for a bright airy cheerful feeling hotel...this not for you. rather this is modern, stylish, trendy feeling hotel. we could get enough light from opening blinds in our room though....

overall a great experience! just go in knowing you'll pay extra for the service charges, tips, etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Feels a little out of place for palm beach and more like what you would find in south beach but the look and feel is a welcome change where sheik modern is uncommon. Excellent value for the rate we stayed at. Very interesting and comfortable room, hotel fine dining restaurant Malcolm's art of food is exceptional and, as a 30 year resident of palm beach, I would tell visitors they are not likely to find better food anywhere else especially if they like gourmet and creative Cusine. Overall excellent experience.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omphoy Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omphoy Ocean Resort

Address: 2842 South Ocean Boulevard, Palm Beach, FL 33480
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Palm Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Palm Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omphoy Ocean Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beckoning like a shimmering wave, The Omphoy Ocean Resort is the first new oceanfront resort on Palm Beach in more than 18 years, and the only beachfront boutique hotel on the island. Contemporary and chic, the hotel engages the escapist in everyone with an unpretentious air of sophistication combined with the continuous flow of fresh ocean breezes.The Omphoy boasts 130 guestrooms and suites all of which offer panoramic water views of the Atlantic Ocean or Intracoastal Waterway. This beachfront getaway also offers an exclusive dining experience in The Restaurant at the Omphoy and the unequalled experience of our mind-body spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Amex, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Escapio and Venere so you can book your Omphoy Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omphoy Ocean Hotel Palm Beach
Omphoy Ocean Resort Palm Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omphoy Ocean Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.