We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The spa was TERRIFIC!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omphoy Ocean Resort

Save Saved
You added Omphoy Ocean Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omphoy Ocean Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2842 South Ocean Boulevard, Palm Beach, FL 33480   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Palm Beach
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“The spa was TERRIFIC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We didn't stay at the hotel but spent the day at the spa and would go back tomorrow. I have used spa's all over the world. Yes, this one is a diamond in the rough but the staff could not have been more professional and accomodating. I am surprised by the other reviews. If you can afford The Breakers and The Four Seasons, you are not gong to get the same experience in a boutique hotel. The staff at the spa, especially the spa manager Kim, went out of her way to be sure we were welcome and happy. I had the works, massage, facial, pedi and all were top notch. We had lunch at the oceanside restaurant and it was lovely. Yes there are kinks to be worked out but when you are in the Palm Beaches during season you have to expect some glitches. I would rather have people ask me what I need than the distain often served at top rated hotels (and yes, I have stayed at Ritz Calton's all over the world).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    353
    185
    86
    57
    43
See reviews for
109
358
48
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

After purchasing a travelzoo.com voucher, with a couple friends and i ventured for a spa day and lunch. The hotel is situated on a beautiful piece of beach (the allow pets too). We went early to enjoy the beach, very comfy chairs, and loungers. Pool area is also beautiful. Spa is just marginal. I had an average facial with just a couple extractions, and a massage that a was just average too. One major reason for my 3 star ranking is the fact they didn't have any robes larger than an xl, and the lockers rooms were on the first level, and you had to walk up about 40 stairs to get back to the spa, which makes no sense. We also ate lunch outside too, beautiful views, but a bit overpriced. A salad and iced tea was 25.00. All in all, I got to spend time with friends, but I will look for another spa in south Florida.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at Omphoy Ocean Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of the resort and you were comfortable lounging on the beach. It is great that you were also able to enjoy the pool and the views from our terrace. We apologize that your experience at the spa fell short of expectations, and we will certainly take your helpful points under consideration. We thank you again for taking the time to send us your feedback, as it helps us better understand the expectations of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

After a long day of flight delays I thought only of relaxing for a bit in our room. Not to be, the room, we were told, was being cleaned and would be ready in just a while and we would be called when it was ready. So we went to the terrace for a rest. The tea we ordered was served by an attentive waiter but nothing special. The staff we saw were scurrying around, very busy so we felt that our room was also receiving this attention. An hour later we checked with the front desk who looked puzzled to see us. No, the room was not ready but was being serviced a call would be placed when it was ready. Once again we found a place to sit a while. Looking quite rumpled we were asked by security if we needed anything. A room would be nice. Another hour and another check with the same results, our room was being cleaned & would be ready soon we would be called as soon as it was ready. We wandered around a bit finally retrieved our car for a drive. After returning 2 hours later we were told our room was ready. No one called to let us know & when asked about that a complementary breakfast was offered. No apologies for the long delay, just a quick here's something free now go away.
Finally! A room, good bed although dark decor, TV on, balcony overlooking a child's play area. it goes down hill from here. No place to plug in the computer, totally non functioning room for working. The shower was slippery, one small bar of soap, no hook or bars to hang towels. NO COFFEE in the room! I travel a lot and never has there not been a simple coffee maker in the room. After putting the do not disturb sign on the door for some must needed rest a maid knocked on the door repeatedly asking if we needed anything. The room was noisy to boot. If this were not the hotel for a conference that I must attend we would be gone.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at Omphoy Ocean Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We appreciate that you took the time to let us know about your recent stay. We are so sorry for the time you spent waiting for your room to be cleaned and ready for you, and we will certainly discuss this with our staff. We are glad you were pleased with the bed in your guestroom, but do apologize for the problems you faced with the amenities and functionality of your guestroom and bathroom. It is very disappointing that your experience with us was not what you had hoped, as it is important to us that our guests enjoy their time at our resort. Thank you again for your helpful feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This was our most disappointing stay/travel in 2012. Compared to Four Seasons and The Breakers, both in the area, we would choose both before this resort. The staff was okay, I felt like we wee putting them out with checking in, questions, etc. location is nice. Room is "very hip, very dark". At one point in my life, I probably would have appreciated the room more. Now that we're pressing our late 30s, I appreciate more space, light, and functionality, all which we felt these rooms lacked. If you like hip, modern, Miami/Vegas Boutique hotels, this might be your place, just wasn't for us. Room Service was terrible, all 3x. (Our bad for trying it again, after 2x) We loved The Breakers, enjoyed Four Seasons(next door), but would not return here. Hoping others enjoy their experience better than us....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at Omphoy Ocean Resort, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to send us your thoughts about your recent stay. It is nice to hear you were pleased with the location of our resort, but we are disappointed that your stay with us was not what you had hoped it would be. We are sorry that you did not like the lighting and decor of the resort, and that the size and functionality of your guestroom fell short of expectations. We can assure you that our staff is always more than happy to cater to the needs of our guests, but will certainly be sure to bring your comments to their attention. We thank you again for your helpful feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Heights, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The hotel itself is gorgeous and very modern. Like most of the other reviewers said, the rooms can get very dark. I was ironing one night and could barely see what I was doing. Other than that, I really liked the decor and found the bed comfortable. The beach is also well maintained. As great as the facilities are, the service could use some improving. We didn't arrive until after 11 pm on a weeknight. The bar and restaurants were already closed, so we didn't have anything to eat after traveling all day. Also, we had booked 2 rooms but they only had us down for 1 (not sure if this was their fault or Travelocity's). Luckily they weren't fully booked. Service in general is just very slow. Getting your car from the valet takes 15 minutes. Breakfast is also slow. They open at 7 and we arrived at 7 because we had a flight to catch. They weren't even finished setting up, and our meal took over an hour. A manager ended up taking our order. They have the same slow service at the bar. We sat for a long time without getting our order taken. A manager came over twice asking if we had been helped yet (why didn't she just take our order herself?) Drinks ended up being on the house, but that still shouldn't happen. I would probably stay here again because the hotel itself is great, but they need better customer service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at Omphoy Ocean Resort, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
We thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. It's great to hear that you liked the overall look of the hotel and you were comfortable in your guestroom bed. We are glad that you were also pleased with the upkeep of our beach area. We do apologize, however, that the service you received fell short of expectations, and we will certainly discuss your comments with our restaurant and valet staff to ensure more responsive service in the future. Thank you again for your review, and we do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel twice and have been pleased on both occasions. The service is really impeccable, the decor is delightful and the location is perfect. My only point of contention here was their onsite restaurant. Though not bad, I found their menu a tad boring. After realizing the menu was the same for both lunch and dinner, we opted to head out on the second night of our stay. On Friday night they had a sushi chef which was pretty good and they do have a nice wine list. All in all, this hotel is the perfect weekend getaway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawton, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

this was our first visit to the Omphoy resort and we love it. This resort is very modern along with an outstanding decor, rooms were very nice with bathroom separate from shower, sink and toilet. Hotel and rooms were extremely clean which speaks highly of the house keeping crew. We had a perfect room and when we come back I'll want the same room, with a picture perfect view of the ocean and the must beautiful sun set you'll ever get.
You'll be taken care of from the time you arrive at the entrance doors, the staff was always ready to welcome you must of the time by name, and this action made a bit more special that they'll try to remember you. The beach and pool were safe secure and we were able to relax and enjoyed the area freely. My wife and I love the decor that this resort possess are beautiful, my wife loved the carpet and its designs. The Omphoy had great services and amenities for a small resort and we were impress, our only dislike was we should have made plans for a longer stay. I want to thank all the staff and service personnel at the Omphoy that made this stay a great success.

Lt. Ayala

Room Tip: Corner suite better ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Omphoy Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omphoy Ocean Resort

Address: 2842 South Ocean Boulevard, Palm Beach, FL 33480
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Palm Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Palm Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omphoy Ocean Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beckoning like a shimmering wave, The Omphoy Ocean Resort is the first new oceanfront resort on Palm Beach in more than 18 years, and the only beachfront boutique hotel on the island. Contemporary and chic, the hotel engages the escapist in everyone with an unpretentious air of sophistication combined with the continuous flow of fresh ocean breezes.The Omphoy boasts 130 guestrooms and suites all of which offer panoramic water views of the Atlantic Ocean or Intracoastal Waterway. This beachfront getaway also offers an exclusive dining experience in The Restaurant at the Omphoy and the unequalled experience of our mind-body spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Omphoy Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omphoy Ocean Hotel Palm Beach
Omphoy Ocean Resort Palm Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omphoy Ocean Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.