We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem on the Palm Coast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omphoy Ocean Resort

Save Saved
You added Omphoy Ocean Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Omphoy Ocean Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2842 South Ocean Boulevard, Palm Beach, FL 33480   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A hidden gem on the Palm Coast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Our recent visit to the Omphoy Ocean Resort was unexpectedly extended when Hurricane Sandy hit the Northeast and delayed our trip home. We were delighted! The staff is extremely accomodating, motivated to serve and just an overall pleasure. A special call out to Molly at the front desk who always seemed to be available and ready when we needed something! We were able to experience the food, the drinks, the spa and the beach (but only on our last day due to their own Hurricane Sandy damage) and really have no complaints at all.

The food and drink in both Malcolm's and the casual beachfront restaurant were quite good. One thing that we found rather strange is that our package came with a breakfast voucher, but we were only allowed to have the American Breakfast with that voucher. The food was good and the portion plentiful, but one gets tired of eggs, bacon and toast day after day during an eight day stay. It is puzzling to me that the American breakfast costs $17 per person, but the hotel will not let you order other things worth $17 (or less) with that voucher. Small issue, but no one could explain why,

It's important to have a car when staying at this hotel because it allows you to explore and experience the many good restaurants in the Palm Beach area. And if you have any rain, like we did, it's good to get out and shop or see a movie or visit The Breakers (definitely worth the short drive).

Overall, it was a wonderful break and we look forward to going back for a long weekend sometime soon.

Room Tip: Opt for an ocean view or a partial ocean view. We had a partial ocean view room and our balcony pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    190
    96
    61
    48
See reviews for
117
379
49
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just spent an absolutely lovely weekend at the Omphoy. The hotel is beautiful - dark wood and clean lines - very different from the pastel/flowers of many Palm Beach hotels. The Omphoy has a sophisticated, contemporary feel while also maintaining a welcoming vibe.

Our room overlooked the ocean and the view was stunning. The pool is fabulous. Before we went to the Omphoy we read some complaints about the pool's location (it's not on the beach nor does it have a view of the beach). But I really don't know how anyone could complain about the pool - it was heaven.

Beyond the idyllic setting, the service at the hotel was terrific. Every single member of the staff went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable and well taken care of.

The food served at the pool and on the terrace was very good, but we were a bit disappointed with Malcom's, the hotel restaurant. The food was good, but not amazing. When our waiter slipped up and forgot to bring us our drinks, he not only gave us the drinks on the house, but also served us a complimentary dessert. That extra effort was really great.

Overall, we absolutely loved the Omphoy and would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed here in May 2012 for a friend's wedding. I redeemed United mileage plus miles to pay for the stay. The staff was certainly pleasant and they went the extra mile for its guests (i.e. helped to find us umbrellas for a wedding that was outdoors and it had begun to rain. The facilities and room furnishings were great.

I had a room that was over the entrance of the property; the floor to ceiling windows were nice, but the view left something to be desired. There was a great spread at the breakfast buffet. We ate outdoors on the verandah that overlooked the beach. Great view; but we were hit with an unexpected tab. I could have swore that the breakfast was covered by my prepaid rate. Additionally, on checkout, I was hit with an unexpected overnight parking fee (don't believe there was a place I could have parked for free). You may wish to call the hotel or ask upon check in what's included and what you need to pay extra for.

Overall, a great stay at a great property. Would have just preferred some upfront transparency. If back in the area, would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Ocean view may mean standing on your balcony and looking to the left or right to see the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at Omphoy Ocean Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We appreciate your review. It is great to hear that our staff was responsive to your needs and was able to help you during your friend's wedding. We are glad you liked the decor and amenities of the hotel, although we are sorry that the view from your guestroom was not what you had hoped. We are happy you were able to take advantage of the beautiful view from the terrace during your breakfast with us. We do apologize for the issues you faced with your bill and hope they have since been resolved. Thank you again for taking the time to tell us about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Just returned from an amazing getaway at the Omphoy. The staff was very polite and attentive and ready to serve. The decor is very sleek and contemporary with nice soft music very soothing. Loved the dark look and feel. We enjoyed a great dinner near the water. We didn't like the bugs on the table lamp so we moved the lamp no big deal. but the food was good, the cocktails a bit pricey but the service was great and the ambiance was very romantic. The prices are comparable with any other restaurant you would go to. We were upgraded to an ocean view room AMAZING our room was clean and picture perfect. The view alone is worth coming back to. We also enjoyed a delicious complimentary breakfast and then we enjoyed a spa date for two. Something was wrong with the tub so we couldn't do one of the treatments in which the staff was very apologetic and accommodating adding more time to our massages which was heavenly. there was wine,fruit,tea, fruit infused water they were very attentive and just so nice. The only complaint I have is the $25 valet parking price is a bit hefty and be prepared for gratuities which is understandable it just becomes very pricey. All in all we had a wonderful time and will be back!

Room Tip: Ocean view is picture perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at Omphoy Ocean Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Hello Sam. It is wonderful to receive such a positive review and we thank you for being kind enough to send us your thoughts. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with our staff and the decor and ambiance of the resort. It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed your meals with us and that your experience at our spa was a relaxing one. We are certainly glad that you were so happy with the condition of your guestroom and, of course, the view. We do apologize, however, that you were disappointed with the parking fees and appreciate that you let us know. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Came down with my wife for a wedding weekend. Wedding was at Breakers, but chose to stay at Omphoy instead, wanted a little more intimate, boutique feel, not big wedding factory / corporate meeting environment that Breakers can feel like.

Hotel is very stylish designed, with a pronouced, southeast Asian / Thai motif. Lobby has upscale bar and restaurant that leads out onto ocean deck with great views of the beach. Guestrooms are dark wood with nice balconies and good sized bathrooms. Property feels very connected to the outdoors, which we like a lot.

Service was great, Matt one of the senior staff people was wondeful. We rented bikes in Lake Worth and biked up to Clematis. Hotel dropped us off in Lake Worth and one the way back, came out and picked us up when we got stranded due to a late afternoon thunderstorm.

We ordered room service and it was delicious.

All in all terrific place, would love to return.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I'm usually wary of staying at boutique hotels for their lack of amenities. However, I found the Omphoy to have everything I needed. The pool and beach areas were nice, the gym had weight lifting equipment and aerobic machines, and the bar, lounge and terrace areas were terrific. I even invited friends in the area to join me for drinks on the terrace. The real highlight, though was the staff. I was asked a half dozen times throughout my stay whether there was anything more they could do. The wait staff were particularly attentive, including in the beach area (where some hotels fail to have enough service).

I was debating between the Omphoy and the Four Seasons next door, but I'm glad I went with the Omphoy. The Four Seasons appears to be very family-heavy. Their beach area is crowded with children's activities. The Omphoy is much trendier.

Room Tip: The "partial view" rooms closer to the beach side of the building have great views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Came to Palm Beach for a relaxing couples weekend and the Omphoy proved to be the perfect place. We got the FL resident discount, were upgraded to a room with a partial ocean view with balcony and were waived the valet fee. The look of the hotel is very contemporary with an Asian vibe....clean lines and dark wood tones...not a pastel/beachy look. The hotel is minutes from downtown Palm Beach and the mansion-after-mansion scenic road makes this a quick and impressive drive. The hotel breakfast is excellent and the spa is an oasis of health (did a barre fusion class) and pampering (had a great massage). Decided to have dinner at the terrace restaurant one night as we had had a late lunch in town...the food was ok...not bad but not as delicious as the meals we had in Palm Beach on other nights. The beach is gorgeous at this resort, but the service there could have been more attentive.. Had to beg them for water and to place a drink and lunch order. Finally, room service was slow. All we wanted was ice, which is a simple enough request. Had to call them twice before it was delivered. And this happened two days in a row. Seems there is a disconnect between reception (where the calls goes despite pushing the room service button on the phone) and actual Room Service. All in all, we had an amazing stay here. We would absolutely come back here again. The question is...would we bring our kids? Kids are certainly welcome and we did see kids here and there...they even have a cute playground on the side of the resort for kids 6 and under....but I think I would consider The Breakers or another resort for the louder, more boisterous members of the family. But we will be back!!

Room Tip: We didn't have a problem as there were not many kids during our stay, but avoid a room above the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at Omphoy Ocean Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hello, Ana. Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. We are glad you could take advantage of our Florida Resident Discount and that you liked the location and surrounding area of the resort. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your breakfast with us and were happy with our spa services. We apologize for the issues you faced with room service, and we will be sure to address those issues with our staff. We thank you again for your review, and hope to see you back here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omphoy Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omphoy Ocean Resort

Address: 2842 South Ocean Boulevard, Palm Beach, FL 33480
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Palm Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Palm Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omphoy Ocean Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beckoning like a shimmering wave, The Omphoy Ocean Resort is the first new oceanfront resort on Palm Beach in more than 18 years, and the only beachfront boutique hotel on the island. Contemporary and chic, the hotel engages the escapist in everyone with an unpretentious air of sophistication combined with the continuous flow of fresh ocean breezes.The Omphoy boasts 130 guestrooms and suites all of which offer panoramic water views of the Atlantic Ocean or Intracoastal Waterway. This beachfront getaway also offers an exclusive dining experience in The Restaurant at the Omphoy and the unequalled experience of our mind-body spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Escapio, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Omphoy Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omphoy Ocean Hotel Palm Beach
Omphoy Ocean Resort Palm Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omphoy Ocean Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.