We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Beach Oceanfront Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Palm Beach Oceanfront Inn to your Saves list
Palm Beach Oceanfront Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3550 South Ocean Boulevard, Palm Beach, FL 33480   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
Tumon, Mariana Islands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel is dangerous, and I'm surprised that the city of West Palm Beach has not yet condemned it! Chunks of concrete were actively falling from the second floor balcony to the parking lot where you enter your first floor room! Not only that, the first room we were given showed visible signs of mold and smelled so badly we had to change rooms. The second room was "ok" but the shower literally sprayed everywhere except in the shower due to corroded plumbing. I went to call the front desk about the flooding in our room, and there was NO PHONE in the room. There is no beach access and there isn't any near by either. To top it off you are charged a resort fee and seven different taxes when you check out. I don't know how this place is still operational. My hostels in Laos and Cambodia were cleaner and safer than this place. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    50
    28
    41
    133
See reviews for
50
86
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The hotel is not as advertised. Beach access is not available anymore after Hurricane Sandy. The hotel is in very bad shape. Rooms and bathrooms were dirty, AC did not work, paint peeling off, mold on the walls, wifi does not work, etc. The restaurant was ok, good view, not so good food. They include breakfast in your billing but you need to sign a receipt each time and then they plan to deduct it at the end. This system does unfortunately not work and they will overcharge you and afterwards not refund you the money back. I have spent hours on the front desk without success. We heard other guests telling similar stories in the restaurant and at the front desk.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Good costumer service.BUT,DO NOT GO THERE if you love clean.It is for people who lives in dirty places.mold mold everywhere. No access to the beach turtles having a babies.That is what they told as but there is no turtle and beach at all.You will have 5 min walk to there or drive and pay for parking.If we would have to stay there more than one night we would cancel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The hotel isn't perfect but the location is - it's less than two blocks from a public beach (Lantana) and a great plaza with yummy restaurants and shoppes.
It's not the ritz but it's not $500/night either!! The rooms were clean and sufficient. The view from the restaurant was unbelievable and the staff was really nice.
Breakfast was included and we had a nice time watching the sunrise.
I would recommend it for couples that want to see the beaches of Palm Beach Island but have no desire to blow $1,000 on a weekend.

Room Tip: Second floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
457 reviews 457 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 152 cities Reviews in 152 cities
550 helpful votes 550 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The best way to review the Palm Beach Oceanfront Inn (wow, they gotta have the best name on the island!), is to break down the Ocean view and access, Restaurant, Room and Service.

Oceanfront views/access: All rooms are motel style, with outside entrances facing the parking lot not the ocean. The oceanfront restaurant, bar, pool area is awesome with spectacular views, perched above the seawall. The pool is well maintained. The beach at this location was basically wiped out by Hurricane Sandy. You must walk out to the road and go down five hotel properties for beach access.

Restaurant: Really gorgeous and relaxing ocean view restaurant inside with an extensive and slightly pricey choices. 1/2 price drinks on many all-days (ie. $3 bottled beer, $5 wine, $5 well drinks on "special"). I think you're paying for the view. My "Surfers Breakfast" ($12) but included with my room price, was very very good. Two eggs, toast, choice of meat and grits/hash browns, did not include coffee or juice. Great quality but pretty steep price if not included. With OJ, coffee and a 20% to cover, it was $8.48. All the outside tables and chairs need a good sanding and restaining.

The Room: I had room 137 (2nd floor, which is actually the best level since the pool, restaurant and easiest parking is on that level). Let me break down the Good and the Ugly:

Good: The room walls and ceiling were in good repair and freshly painted. Nice art on the walls. Comfortable but firm beds with cleaning linen, very comfortable pillows, clean bed covers. Nice 32" flat screen TV. Clean tile floors. Two comfortable cushioned clean chairs. Excellent functioning A/C.

Ugly: The front door was a freak'in mess. No swipe card or normal key entry. I had to jiggle and maneuver a deadbolt lock, that was installed above the completely dysfunctional old locks. The door handle could be spun in a 360 for fun (not!). Really weird. The bathroom did NOT have any mold but the shower rod needed cosmetic replacement. No toilet paper holder. Walls needed to be wiped down for "unidentified things" on them (see photos). The smoke detector was working. I checked because it was obvious that the motel was OLD. Wooden soffits and rake boards around the inn were in stages of rot or unpainted replacement. BTW .....the firehouse is right across the street. I liked the ceramic tile floors but a little rug or floor mat would have been nice, to wipe your feet off on entry. The bathroom had NO floor rug/mat, just four ridiculously thin small towels. They resembled the large commercial kitchen towels with the blue stripe down the center. They were a joke.

Service: I was very apparent that the new manager was busting his tail to address the details of property. Meticulously picking up anything lying on the ground, assisting service in the restaurant and taking actual notes for improvement. I truly got the impression that he is trying to make a difference, but the owners will have to put some jingle into this place.

I was impressed by the genuine want to provide great service by the restaurant staff, and property manager. I wasn't really impressed about the $50 deposit "in case anything is broken in the room" (really?????? How bout I charge you!), and the "if you lose the key it's $20).....How about changing all your doors. This was a standard hardware store key on a 50 cent hardware store key tab. Well is wasn't a paper tag, anyhow.

Other notes: The roof on this place is a mess too. It's the only place in South Palm Beach that looks out of place. Karaoke on Tuesday nights draws a nicely behaved crowd of mainly 30+ age group. Incredible potential here but you better wait until it's ALL fixed. Not recommended. Trust the TA reviews. Hopefully this very recent ownership change make a significant difference some day.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd level room closer to the pool and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We were welcomed by a huge dead cockroach in the bathroom. This place is very old, dirty, and rusty. There's holes in the walls and the sheets are even dirty. I had to go buy my own sheets and blanket because I don't feel comfortable sleeping on the ones provided.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tolland, Connecticut, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

From the pictures online (Expedia) this hotel looked great, and the price was too good to be true to be on the ocean. It WAS too good to be true. We pulled into the parking lot and were horrified by the way the place looked, and by the people that were staying there. We checked in and got a room key, and then went to our room, and promptly checked out. The folks at the front desk were nice, but they admitted the hotel was under new ownership since last November and had not yet made improvements. The rooms were deplorable. They reminded me of a gas station bathroom. Sticky tile floors. The bathroom was dirty. But the total deal breaker was to find out that the stairs to the beach were broken, so the beach access would need to be made down the road at a public beach. We booked an oceanfront room at the Holiday Inn at Highland Beach (about 12 miles South on A1A) which cost about $70 more a night, and had 4 glorious days and nights.

Room Tip: Keep away from this hotel at all costs, unless you are a bunch of kids looking for a cheap place to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Beach Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Beach Oceanfront Inn

Address: 3550 South Ocean Boulevard, Palm Beach, FL 33480
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Beach Oceanfront Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Palm Beach Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Beach Oceanfront Hotel Palm Beach
Palm Beach Oceanfront Inn Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Beach Oceanfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.