We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, expensive steak dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flagler Steakhouse

Flagler Steakhouse
2 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480-4022
888-273-2537
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Flagler Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 74 Restaurants in Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Large groups, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Serving the finest USDA prime-grade and dry-aged meats, The Flagler Steakhouse is the premier choice in Palm Beach for mouthwatering steak. Its unique setting on the second floor of The Breakers old-Florida style Golf and Tennis Clubhouse features a sporty Palm Beach ambiance with rich interiors, and panoramic golf course views from the outdoor terrace seating. For dinner, the menu also offers an array of specialties from the surf. For lunch enjoy an assortment of creative salads and sandwiches and don"t forget about our three-course Sunday Brunch. Brunch, lunch and dinner get equal par at The Flagler Steakhouse.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely, expensive steak dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I picked this steakhouse because it is a big deal in the Palm Beach area. We live in Chicago and are very aware of very good steakhouses. The food was good. The service was wonderful. the setting was superb (outside on the balcony). However, this was a very expensive meal. I have had many good steak dinners...this was a good steak dinner, but more expensive than most.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    38
    37
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, FL
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Expected More... Received less...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Six of us dined here on Valentine's Day. We all had expected a first class dining experience
given the fact that it was at the world famous "Breakers" Hotel in Palm Beach. What we received instead was average food served in a average room with less then satisfactory service. In fact, upon reflection, the service was in truth much less then acceptable.
The cocktails ordered were prepared correctly and clearly were overpriced ($15.00) but then again this is the famous "Breakers". The bread basket also was average and was not worth a second bite.
I ordered their "French Onion Soup" ($9.75). To be fair, it was served hot, and looked
nicely presented. However, it was oversalted, contained a very very soggy "baguette crouton",
few onions, and all in all, was a mess. Other members of our party ordered the Caesar Salad
($14.00) which contained Kalamata Olives (huh?) The salad contained a single anchovy! A
request for extra anchovies was ignored and required a second request to be completed. The
size of said Caesar Salad was quite small. No fresh pepper was offered! A Beet Salad ($15.00)
was ok.
Sliced Filet Mignon ($49), New York Strip ($54), Bone-In-Filet Mignon ($58) were
also ok, but overall, not worth the price charged.
An ordered "Surf & Turf" ($61) consisted of a small Filet Mignon which was fine and a South African Lobster Tail which yielded about 2-3 onces of Lobster meat.
One person's steak was overcooked and tasted like a piece of shoe leather.
I ordered the "Loaded New York Strip" ($59). The menu promised "Carmelized Onions,
Sauteed Mushrooms, and Cheddar-Bacon Whipped Potatoes. My steak was a nice piece of meat cooked to order. The steak itself was covered by half a teaspoon of sauteed onions and two or three small mushrooms! The potatoes were so salty that they were untouched. No
Ketchup or Steak Sauce was offered and I had to contact a "manager" to obtain some ketchup.

A side order of grilled asparagus and hollandaise is listed on the menu @ $10.25
but I seem to recall we were charged $15.00 .

A word about service. For the most part, there is little if any service. The staff
seems totally disorganized and at a loss of exactly what to do. The wait to actually order
our meal was well over 30 minutes. The wait between courses is very very l o n g !
It appears there is little if any training by management and it shows.
The worst part of the evening was when two staff young ladies wearing black cocktail
dresses passed our table and were heard complaining loudly about the patrons in the establishment.. One of them stated " I just hate these people here tonight". Very nice to overhear! Our bill with 7 drinks, no desserts, and 4 coffee's was well over $700.00.
Was it worth it? No! Would we return? Not in my lifetime! Should you go? Why
would you want to go? All in all...the management of the world famous "Breakers" should sit down and take a long look at this place. Clearly, it reflects badly, on their reputation!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Superb steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

This was the first time for our group at the Flagler Steak House. The service was superb, with the sommelier offering excellent suggestions. The apps were excellent, and the steak ( porterhouse for two) was cooked to perfection. The meat was tender & was just remarkably superb. The desserts were varied & delicious. If you are looking for great steaks, you cannot beat this restaurant!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great steak!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We had a great meal after a long day. The server was a pleasure and the food absolutely delicious. I had the bone in filet which was perfection.

The only negative thing was we ordered a bottle of wine which took a while to get. We actually received out appetizer before the wine...not good.

We sat outside and enjoyed great weather and great food. I would definitely give it a shot if you have the $$$....it's worth it.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“AWESOME STEAK!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My wife surprised me with a birthday dinner at the Flagler on January 3rd. I had been here before and my first time was wonderful and this time was just as amazing.

If you live in Palm Beach County you have probably visited steakhouses like Okeechobee Steakhouse, Ruth Chris, Capital Grill, Mortons, III Forks, NYY Steakhouse, etc...Their steaks do not compare to Flagler. Their Service does not compare to Flagler. Their prices are in line with Flagler. So why go to 2nd best, when you can go straight to the best. Lets start shall we....
Arrival...Free Valet Parking.
The streakhouse is on the 2nd floor of the tennis/golf center. When you look out you see West Palm Beach skyline and across the way you see their sister restaurant Tp of the Point. Another Yummy.
The decor of the steakhouse is comfortable upscale. Not stuffy. You can sit back and relax and not worry about being rushed.

Starters.....Martini with stuffed bluecheese & bacon olives. Really great.
Wife had a strawberry Martini. WOW was her response.
They brought warm bread to the table.
App. We both had the amazing French Onion Soup.
I had the tomahawk chop and the wife had the petit filet.
A truly amazing steak is when as you are cutting into the steak and it cuts like a hot knife on butter. And then when you pce the steak in your mouth it continues to melt. This was the steak. Cooked medium with a slight char on the outside it was everything I hoped it would be and then more. Ahhh.
The same could be said of the wifes steak. She said it was light to cut and it melted in her mouth. e combined both steaks with a Malbec blend that was great.
Both steaks came with a side. We both had asparagus.
Dessert was a carrot cheesecake with caramel at the bottom. Between the soup and steak we could not finish this excellent dessert.
Service....Its the Breakers Resort..it is always excellent.
We will be back and I hope you get the chance to join thi wonderful restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flagler Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Flagler Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flagler Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.