We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmf over priced finger food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of HMF

HMF
One South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480
5616598480
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 74 Restaurants in Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Tapas, Armenian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located at The Breakers Palm Beach and named for its founding father, Henry Morrison Flagler, HMF blends modern social drinking and eating with the high style and lively spirit of the classic Palm Beach cocktail party.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Hmf over priced finger food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

It is the new IT place in the island, but you get the same at Buccan except that the waitress dress prettier. It is good maybe for a drink before or after dinner, but for dinner you have a lot better choices in palm beach.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    30
    9
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Platte, Nebraska
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Classy Retro Sinatra Bar Meets Modern Tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Such a cool, eclectic, smooth jazzy atmosphere! The food is just as spectacular. The waitresses all wear cocktail dresses and the seating venue is low and comfy but uniquely stylish. We had the Warm Low Country Crab Dip with Potato Chips, Line Caught Swordfish Souvlaki, Tzatziki,
Petite Greek Salad, the Baked Alaska & the (to die for) Butterscotch Panna Cotta, Rum Roasted Pineapple, Macadamia Crackle. All were amazing and such inspiring presentations. We also tried a couple of their cocktails which all had their own unique twist. This was by far our favorite restaurant on the property. It just makes you feel classy by sitting there!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not up to par with the Breakers elegance and grandeur”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Sorry to see the old "Tapestry bar" go :( The elegance of the Breakers isn't reflected in the new HMF and its identity crisis. The music was loud (no dance floor...so why the DJ?) the carpet was calling the lounge of the "Royal Caribbean" back...Accompanying us, one of our guests called it " a Vegas lounge" wannabe!
Overall very disappointed with a place we have enjoyed going to for years and have always taken guests who were visiting us. Definitely not a place we want to call a favorite anymore. The rest of the hotel has remained majestic and grand but unfortunately not a destination for drinks and music

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael I, Manager at HMF, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for the review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We'd like to start by saying that we understand that HMF is quite different than the Tapestry Bar, and for some guests coming back for the first time, it may come as a surprise. However, we feel it is important for guests to know that we researched and paid great attention to every single detail of HMF, from the custom designed carpet and uniforms to the food and music.

As Adam D. Tihany, the famed designer of our interior stated, "This place must have its own energy. Its own soul." We feel that Mr. Tihany succeeded in creating a room that has its own vibe, one that melds together the classic elegance of The Breakers with its own unique style.

Please allow us to ask, how was the food and service while you dined with us.

As always, we are open to guests' feedback. We appreciate your comments and they will not go unnoticed.

Sincerely,

Michael Ignatowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hot Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

HMF is the redesigned grand dining room of the Breakers. Has a updated, cool vibe, DJ playing music and a great small plate menu. Lots of locals too. Validated parking also. Worth a visit on a fun, lively night out.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juno Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“HMF - A Grand bar and Informal Dining worthy of the Breakers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

HMF – Great fun and adventurous libations and food for a night out with someone special or a lively party of fifteen in a setting that will never tire your eyes.

The Breakers in Palm Beach is not only one of the Grandest Hotel properties in the world it is also blessed with a Family ownership group that no matter the economic climate is committed to investing millions of dollars each year to keep this Grand Old Lady looking like a sophisticated model from the pages of Vogue.

This year’s most obvious improvement is the HMF – a 6,500 square feet Grand Hotel Bar with Tapas Dining which blends the historical features of the Breakers north wing with a colorful and tasteful modern decor. HMF is the Breaker’s family nod to its founder Henry Morrison Flagler and features a throw back look with: Beautiful women in black, specialty drinks from the period and the sixties – a full wine list – popular and “craft” beers – an open Sushi Bar with a myriad of fresh Sushi and Sashimi – forty tapas food items ranging from apps and salads to pizza and pasta to “The Food Truck” and of course five desserts.

Within just weeks of opening HMF has become the “it” place to visit on Palm Beach. As is always the case the Breaker’s family welcomes “locals” like Marty and I who come to enjoy this Grand property and sleep at home. Even valet parking is complimentary when the restaurant validates your life – OK maybe not your life – just your parking stub.

For those of you who have been to The Breakers you may wonder where HMF is located. Turn left in the main lobby and right into the north wing which used to be the Tapestry Bar and Le’ escalier. Seven million dollars ($7,000,000) later this large open space has been carefully designed to give you the feeling of a grand open bar with generous space and yet the table setting we had for a party of five gave us a feeling of intimacy where we could have our own party and actually hear each everyone’s conversation.

These are the items we particularly enjoyed. There were many we didn’t get to try and you will find many different and unique food choices for your personal taste.

Drinks: Personally I like to taste the alcohol. However, we did find three specialty cocktails that we really enjoyed – The Redhead – Mojito Royale and for openers the Frescavescent.

Apps: Warm Onion and Reggiano Dip and HMF’s House Made Fingerling Chips.
Pasta: Orecchiete, Tuscan Duck Sausage and Wild Mushrooms.

The Food Wagon: Wagyu Beef Sliders – Korean Short Ribs – Duck Bao Buns – Shitake Potstickers.

Desserts: Warm Vanilla Bean Tapioca – Gianjinja Chocolate Torte.

Uncle Larry Rates HMF: Drinks 7 – Food 7.5 – Service 9 – Ambiance 10

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HMF also viewed

 

Been to HMF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HMF, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.