We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art Deco Delight In Suite 104/111 In A Fantastic Palm Beach Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel and Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palm Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ambassador Hotel and Spa
2730 South Ocean Boulevard, Palm Beach, FL 33480   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 hotels in Palm Beach
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Art Deco Delight In Suite 104/111 In A Fantastic Palm Beach Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The valet that parked our car and grabbed our bags was very polite and the receptionist was even better, offering all sorts of useful information on the area and the hotels facilities. The public areas varied in standard, though some had been recently been redone, however the real pleasure was the apartment we were in, No. 104/111.

What we later found was that the apartments are all privately owned and it was clear that owners of this apartment had good taste. The decor was refined and the furniture beautiful, we particularly enjoyed the art deco bathrooms that had been immaculately restored, it was worth a stay just to see them! As these are self catering facilities they have a kitchen which was wonderful with an island and even a Viking oven of all things. I have to say we rarely used it. The hotel restaurant is diabolical but we eventually found so many great places to eat, both on the beach and nearby it wasn't a problem.

This apartment has direct beach access and was on the same level as the swimming pool so great for enjoying a swim or sunbathe on the beach, which we did often. What was particularly nice was that the hotel has private cabanas on the beach which they look after for residents, though the beach was always pleasantly never overcrowded.

We lucked when booking this apartment as we didn't realise that not all had balconies and for this reason coupled with the luxurious standard of the apartment, and dare I forget to say the daily maid service (which I have never come across in a self catering apartment before) we will be sure to stay in this suite again.

Room Tip: I can't say it enough. Ground floor, but certainly on the beach side as they have the balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    6
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
Couples
0
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
montreal/stowe
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

First off a few facts. This place is a weird hybrid of condo and hotel. The two types are mixed together and the staff ,who were fantastic, tries to deal with the very different issues of both. Not easy. Secondly it is an OLD place but pretty well maintained.

If I haven't scared you off, it is well located right on the beach 3 properties from the Four Seasons . It has a nice pool with a deli type restaurant that was almost always empty. We had a good meal right by this pool. The room selection is a mix from studios to 3 bedroom units. Frankly not worth staying in the smaller units.
If however you are a family or group the multi room units can be great value and certainly much better deal then anything else you will find in Palm Beach.

The beach is wonderful and you can rent a cabana for $15 a day or just use the hotel towels.
If this is too "different " and you don't want to pay 300+ a night ,there is Fairfield Inn nearby. Even this is closing in on 200 in season. Again for the money, the Ambassador was nice. Believe there is a 3 day minimum.

Very different sort of place.

Room Tip: Look for Ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed here because The Breakers had no available rooms. We were pleasantly surprised at the beach cabanas set on the grassy area just before the sand. The owners were friendly to us and even invited us for wine.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

Newly renovated and great views from any room. New eatery on premises being remodeled. Friendly staff and walking distance to shop and eat! Beautiful landscaping! We loved it, may buy a unit!

Room Tip: All great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2006

Not exactly what we expected, but the service and friendly faces were a plus. The rooms and the condition of the building itself were not in tip top shape. If I had known I wouldn't have booked it for so much. I think it's a great place to stay, but for the moeny, I would rather stay elsewhere.

Location: great
Rooms: Average
Staff: Pretty good.
Services: Average

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2006

First things first, they need a facelift. This building looks like it haden't been touched in 30 years. For the location, you would think that they'd be more presentable. Not at all what they described when I went to book. This hotel is tired and needs to close. I am shocked at what Palm Beaches standards have dropped to. View the property BEFORE you plan your trip there. Thank god the Four Seasons was near by.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2006

Just got back. The Ambassador is a charming residential apartment hotel. All the apartments are owned by individual shareholders and each is decorated to personal taste. Some apartments are recently decorator-updated and others are shabby chic. We love the friendly staff, I had a nice haircut in the hair salon and took a great private session in the pilates studio. My husband had a fabulous massage in the spa and we enjoyed looking at the orchids in the plant shop. The family enjoyed eating at the casual restaurant overlooking the pool. The Town of Palm Beach just finished renourishing the beach and it now extends over 200 feet into the ocean and takes our breath away, our kids loved the sand. I loved the convenience of being only 4 buildings away from the Four Seasons allowing us to walk over and have lunch there. We stayed in a great 2 bedroom with a terrace over-looking the beach, our friends stayed in a 1 bedroom overlooking the pool, both apts. were very comfortable. Our family will return again. Be sure to ask about the individual apts; I am not telling my favorite!

Stayed March 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ambassador Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel and Spa

Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel Palm Beach
Ambassador Hotel And Spa Palm Beach, Florida
Address: 2730 South Ocean Boulevard, Palm Beach, FL 33480
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ambassador Hotel and Spa to your Saves list