We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Colony Hotel to your Saves list
Colony Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   155 Hammon Avenue, Palm Beach, FL 33480   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
kent
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Classy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2007

Classy boutique hotel, very posh colonial feel with a touch of safari, the owners are south african. food was amazing and pool area is outstanding. The villas are gorgeous and very well appointed. Would recommend to older clients who are after something different. All the rooms are different in style and are well looked after.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    16
    21
    18
    15
See reviews for
16
41
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2007

I have stayed at excellent hotels all over the world and this hotel must be one of the worst I have stayed in. I had booked a 2 night stay.
When we arrived, we were kept waiting an hour before the room was ready ( we were told it would be ready shortly). When we then went to see the room, it was not the type of room we had requested and we were then told they had no such room available for us! We were given an alternative room
There was no sign of a bell boy to help with luggage.
All the food in the restaurant - fish and vegetables had been smothered with garlic.
At breakfast we had to ask three times for salt and pepper, sugar and tea spoons! The glass in which orange juice was served had a large chip in it.
On our second day, we were asked to leave the room we had been given as other guests wanted it! We then had to waste another hour of our short break packing up and unpacking again!
When we complained the hotel was totally unsympathetic!
I have written to the hotel since we returned and they have not given me the courtesy of a reply...
Avoid this hotel!!!

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft lauderdale
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2006

The Good:

1. Walking distance to Worth Ave.
2. Bartenders
3. Lobby area
4. Pool

Not so good:
1. No newspaper delivered to room
2. No atm in lobby
3. Taxis take 15 minutes min to arrive to hotel.
4. Wireless internet does not work
5. No express check out.
6. very few restaraunts close by.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2006

A gal pal and I stayed at The Colony in April 2006 while in town for the ladies polo tournament finals at PBPCC. We flew in on a Thursday and stayed through Monday. We had a wonderful time, and largely due to the Colony stay.

From the moment we checked in, the service was exceptional. Our bags were promptly brought up to the two room mini suite, ice was delivered within moments of request, and the room was light, airy and immaculate. Beds appear new, lushly draped with a bevy of strikingly white pillows and fluffy down comforters. Closets are ample, with computer programmed safes. The bathrooms are standard, but good sized and well appointed. We requested an ironing board and iron which was also delivered immediately. A quick call to the front desk and our car was driven to the curb or a taxi called for our convenience.

We spent the first afternoon at poolside. The pool was immacuate and the other patrons were well heeled adults. The mood was peaceful and and quiet. This is not the place to come with splashing, screaming kids, thank you. The Bimini bar offers a full array of drinks and snacks while the Polo Lounge serves more upscale dishes. We tried them both. We had a quesadilla of some sort at the Bimini bar, moving to Oysters Rockefeller at a set table next to the pool. The oysters were the best either of us has ever had, period. We ordered another serving of the oysters and some shrimp, which were also amazing, to go with our chilled white wine.

On Saturday night, with my travel partner not feeling so well from all the partying the night before, we ordered dinner in the room at peak dining hour, 8pm. Not only did what we order arrive within twenty minutes, it was fabulous. We enjoyed a hearts of lettuce salad, prime rib, asparagus with hollandaise, a bottle of wine and a dessert to share. The food was prepared to perfection and the service was top drawer. By the morning my travel partner was right as rain and we carried on with our daily activities.

You should also know that we ordered room service every morning for continental breakfast and it too arrived immediately with a smile and perfect service. In addition, if on occassion housekeeping came by at an inconvenient time, they cheerfully agreed to come back later, and they did.

Along with other accolades, the hotel had no problem allowing my friend’s adult son stay the night a no extra charge in our suite’s pull out bed. Of course, we had requested this in advance and advised the staff that we would have two guests with us for the afternoon. He and his friend enjoyed use of the pool as well, with no dirty looks or additional fees. This has not always been the case in other upscale hotels, no matter how much you pay.

I have to say the only complaint we had is the attitude of the concierge, a middle aged woman with a non American accent. She was impatient and short with us when we asked for a flight confirmation the morning of our departure. Apparently she doesn’t like to have anyone stand at the counter while she works on the computer and told us she couldn’t do this if we were going to watch her, breathing down her neck! I have to say, we were stunned at the dichotomy of performance, given what we had experienced up to that point. Despite her behaviour, we would return and pay the high prices, as we feel we certainly got what we paid for.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington de
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2006

Just returned from the Colony. They have improved the decor of the rooms but our bathroom was still of the older variety, very small, no place to put your toiletries. The rooms were clean and we had nightly turndown service, but after 3 days it was MORE THAN time to change our bed linens. The hallways need some improvement. The lobby is attractive and the poolside dining is beautiful! However, the servers in the Polo Restaurant are COMPLETELY unprofessional. At dinner, our waiter was actually "fresh", and when my husband inquired about the vintage of 2 different wines, the waiter just brought the more expensive wine and opened it without checking it with us first. Breakfast could be so lovely in the setting but SLOW and almost impossible to GET what you order. The location is great, walk to the beach, the pool is beautiful!

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2006

You see the reviews and they are mixed. You see the pictures and you think, well it must be good. It's right in the heart of Plam beach, yet it shouldn't be. How a place so historically known can be poorly run is just beyond me. If you're looking for location and don't care about service, cleanliness, or charm, then do stay there - but if those mentioned play any part in your vacation, please look somewhere else.

Maybe it was just me, but somehow I doubt that.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2005

About seven years ago I had my first stay st the colony hotel in Palm Beach. It was a wonderful experience, over the years it has only IMPROVED. The renovations I've seen over the past years have transformed this classic palm beach hotel into a south coast luxury with all the modern day neccessities and without the attitude that most other palm beach hotels are known for. Staff is friendly, attentive and knowledgable. Rooms are beyond cozy with the most comfortable beds youve ever slept in. Food is a highlight, especially with the new steakhouse-well worth it! The pool is equipped with a bimini bar for those afternoon margaritas. The Royal room is a great way to see some great cabaret acts in a romantic NYC inspired fashion. The GM personally greated me with a welcome basket for my fifth year stay.Overall I'd have to say that The Colony is great for all types of vacation goers, and will suit whatever it is you might be looking for in a great trip-whether it is to relax or to live it up in the hot florida sun. I COULDN'T IMAGINE A FLORIDA WEEKEND WITHOUT THE COLONY!!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Address: 155 Hammon Avenue, Palm Beach, FL 33480
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colony Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful boutique hotel located in the heart of Palm Beach decorated in British Colonial splendor. Close to world class shopping on Worth Avenue. Walk to the beach. Friendly staff and impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Palm Beach
Colony Hotel Palm Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.