We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night out for dining and dancing.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Hotel

Save Saved
You added Colony Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Colony Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   155 Hammon Avenue, Palm Beach, FL 33480   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 hotels in Palm Beach
White Plains, New York
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Great night out for dining and dancing.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Colony is an old world Palm Beach hotel that has a nice dining room. You can have a romantic dinner in a nice setting. They specialize in steak which are pretty good, not great. There is also a good prime rib. They have a uninspired wine list on the expensive side. There is a great band on weekends. Service is spotty at best. It is an enjoyable evening out where you can dine and dance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    15
    20
    17
    14
See reviews for
14
32
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Colony Hotel in Palm Beach is an old time Florida hotel with tons of charm and that personal touch that is so rare these days. They actually remember your name and the waitress at breakfast pretty much knows what you want by the second day. The pool is next to the outdoor dining patio, so the kids can swim while you have lunch! It is all so civilized! I have been going to the Colony off and on for ten years and it is always the same...pleasant. Perfect location just off Worth Ave and only a couple blocks from the beach. The rooms are not huge, but well outfitted and reasonably quiet. We had a street side room this trip and hardly noticed any noise...of course traffic is not a big deal in Palm Beach at any time. One of the staff members that has been there a number of years even remembered me from my last visit several years ago. When does that happen? Breakfast is excellent. Cafe attached to hotel is actually quite good and a good spot for food on the go. People return to the Colony year after year because of the treatment they get. It isn't a bargain by any means, but you are always treated well and it is always a dependable and pleasant place to stay. I will return next time I am in Palm Beach.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are very handy and have a back staircase directly to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck, New York
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip 2 years ago in February .Popped in the other day, to say hello, and to reminisce. I would highly recommend, this boutique style hotel, while staying in Palm Beach. Firstly, their rooms are spacious, and beautifully decorated. Secondly, their pool and grounds are gorgeous. Lastly, the Colony employees, are always professional ,and personal, thank you! There is always a buzz in the air at the Colony, with a lively bar scene, and an amazing Jazz Club! No you will not be bored, at this little hotel. If you are into viewing famous people, especially politicians, you will find one among the crowd. I almost forgot to mention, this hotel is located 1 block from Worth Ave, and I block to the beautiful beach!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Colony Hotel has the best location in palm beach. It's a little tired, but still charming. Our room was great. The staff seems more interested in procedures and policies than customer service, and that's a drawback. It's an attitude, eventually if one persists they do the right thing, but it's a 'not my job' thing initially at the Front desk and concierge.The ac in our room was not working well when we checked in, eventually it was repaired, but there was a negotiation to get it done. Restaurant service was good.

No fitness center.

Room Tip: Try room 301
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The hotel is lovely. Nice pool area, nice service and nice breakfast. I enjoyed using the bikes that were available for rent at the front. But such thin walls! I was awoken in the middle of the night to the sounds of the woman in the next room coughing violently and was kept awake by it for a good part of the night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north kingstown
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My party of 4 recently dined at the Polo Room. We sat outside with candle light which was lovely . However, I found the wait staff very cold. I ordered Chilean sea bass which I have had many times. When it arrived it looked and tasted like swordfish, which I have also eaten many times. When I questioned the wait person she insisted that it was Chilean sea bass. Not wanting to create a scene, I accepted the meal. But I know from my many experiences it was not what was ordered and paid for.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Chef de Cuisine Steven Darling tells me the reference might be to a portion cut from the tapered end of the large Chilean Sea Bass filet....which could account for the appearance of swordfish. The Colony has not purchased swordfish in recent years. Wish the guest had mentioned this concern-we would have happily given a replacement Dover Sole (our big seafood seller).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afa20816
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Colony has the best location in Palm Beach and although it is an older hotel the rooms and common areas are very nicely appointed. Breakfast was delicious but if you are in a rush, grab something somewhere else. In general the service is helpful, polite and unhurried. We especially like the little sandwich/salad shop attached to the main level of the hotel, a favorite of the locals as well. If you like the option of a smaller hotel definitely check in to the Colony.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Address: 155 Hammon Avenue, Palm Beach, FL 33480
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colony Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful boutique hotel located in the heart of Palm Beach decorated in British Colonial splendor. Close to world class shopping on Worth Avenue. Walk to the beach. Friendly staff and impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Palm Beach
Colony Hotel Palm Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.