We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of My Favorites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Colony Hotel to your Saves list
Colony Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   155 Hammon Avenue, Palm Beach, FL 33480   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
Rhinebeck, New York
Level Contributor
116 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“One of My Favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip 2 years ago in February .Popped in the other day, to say hello, and to reminisce. I would highly recommend, this boutique style hotel, while staying in Palm Beach. Firstly, their rooms are spacious, and beautifully decorated. Secondly, their pool and grounds are gorgeous. Lastly, the Colony employees, are always professional ,and personal, thank you! There is always a buzz in the air at the Colony, with a lively bar scene, and an amazing Jazz Club! No you will not be bored, at this little hotel. If you are into viewing famous people, especially politicians, you will find one among the crowd. I almost forgot to mention, this hotel is located 1 block from Worth Ave, and I block to the beautiful beach!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    25
    25
    19
    16
See reviews for
22
53
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Colony Hotel has the best location in palm beach. It's a little tired, but still charming. Our room was great. The staff seems more interested in procedures and policies than customer service, and that's a drawback. It's an attitude, eventually if one persists they do the right thing, but it's a 'not my job' thing initially at the Front desk and concierge.The ac in our room was not working well when we checked in, eventually it was repaired, but there was a negotiation to get it done. Restaurant service was good.

No fitness center.

Room Tip: Try room 301
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The hotel is lovely. Nice pool area, nice service and nice breakfast. I enjoyed using the bikes that were available for rent at the front. But such thin walls! I was awoken in the middle of the night to the sounds of the woman in the next room coughing violently and was kept awake by it for a good part of the night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north kingstown
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My party of 4 recently dined at the Polo Room. We sat outside with candle light which was lovely . However, I found the wait staff very cold. I ordered Chilean sea bass which I have had many times. When it arrived it looked and tasted like swordfish, which I have also eaten many times. When I questioned the wait person she insisted that it was Chilean sea bass. Not wanting to create a scene, I accepted the meal. But I know from my many experiences it was not what was ordered and paid for.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Chef de Cuisine Steven Darling tells me the reference might be to a portion cut from the tapered end of the large Chilean Sea Bass filet....which could account for the appearance of swordfish. The Colony has not purchased swordfish in recent years. Wish the guest had mentioned this concern-we would have happily given a replacement Dover Sole (our big seafood seller).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afa20816
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Colony has the best location in Palm Beach and although it is an older hotel the rooms and common areas are very nicely appointed. Breakfast was delicious but if you are in a rush, grab something somewhere else. In general the service is helpful, polite and unhurried. We especially like the little sandwich/salad shop attached to the main level of the hotel, a favorite of the locals as well. If you like the option of a smaller hotel definitely check in to the Colony.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin,Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying in The Colony Hotel for a work trip for 2 nights - the hotel is in a lovely location and the staff are absolutely fantastic!! I work in the travel industry and am very fussy when it comes to hotels. The room was lovely, old world charm with modern amenities. We had the pleasure of staying in the hotel for a show, and it really was enjoyable. The only problem I encountered was the lack of sleep from the couple next door - the walls are paper paper thin - I heard everything!!!!! Other than that it was a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Actually, the walls are of a clay brick type which was used in construction 66 years ago. The sounds probably came through the A/C ducts from the x-rated room (apparently) nearby. Thanks, though, for your other kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I spent New years at the Colony at a Black Tie dinner. It was a fantastic way to ring in the new year at this beautiful hotel. The atmosphere was just superb and we had a very good meal.
I will always remember the special time we shared.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach
0.4 mi away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#2 of 10 in Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 554 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Brazilian Court Hotel
The Brazilian Court Hotel
#4 of 10 in Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 372 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bradley Park Hotel
Bradley Park Hotel
#9 of 10 in Palm Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Palm Beach
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Down...
#6 of 34 in West Palm Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 430 reviews
5.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort, Palm Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Address: 155 Hammon Avenue, Palm Beach, FL 33480
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colony Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful boutique hotel located in the heart of Palm Beach decorated in British Colonial splendor. Close to world class shopping on Worth Avenue. Walk to the beach. Friendly staff and impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Palm Beach
Colony Hotel Palm Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.