We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel: Very Thin Walls” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Hotel

Save Saved
You added Colony Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colony Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   155 Hammon Avenue, Palm Beach, FL 33480   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 hotels in Palm Beach
New York, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hotel: Very Thin Walls”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The hotel is lovely. Nice pool area, nice service and nice breakfast. I enjoyed using the bikes that were available for rent at the front. But such thin walls! I was awoken in the middle of the night to the sounds of the woman in the next room coughing violently and was kept awake by it for a good part of the night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    16
    20
    17
    14
See reviews for
14
33
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
north kingstown
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My party of 4 recently dined at the Polo Room. We sat outside with candle light which was lovely . However, I found the wait staff very cold. I ordered Chilean sea bass which I have had many times. When it arrived it looked and tasted like swordfish, which I have also eaten many times. When I questioned the wait person she insisted that it was Chilean sea bass. Not wanting to create a scene, I accepted the meal. But I know from my many experiences it was not what was ordered and paid for.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Chef de Cuisine Steven Darling tells me the reference might be to a portion cut from the tapered end of the large Chilean Sea Bass filet....which could account for the appearance of swordfish. The Colony has not purchased swordfish in recent years. Wish the guest had mentioned this concern-we would have happily given a replacement Dover Sole (our big seafood seller).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afa20816
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Colony has the best location in Palm Beach and although it is an older hotel the rooms and common areas are very nicely appointed. Breakfast was delicious but if you are in a rush, grab something somewhere else. In general the service is helpful, polite and unhurried. We especially like the little sandwich/salad shop attached to the main level of the hotel, a favorite of the locals as well. If you like the option of a smaller hotel definitely check in to the Colony.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin,Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying in The Colony Hotel for a work trip for 2 nights - the hotel is in a lovely location and the staff are absolutely fantastic!! I work in the travel industry and am very fussy when it comes to hotels. The room was lovely, old world charm with modern amenities. We had the pleasure of staying in the hotel for a show, and it really was enjoyable. The only problem I encountered was the lack of sleep from the couple next door - the walls are paper paper thin - I heard everything!!!!! Other than that it was a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Actually, the walls are of a clay brick type which was used in construction 66 years ago. The sounds probably came through the A/C ducts from the x-rated room (apparently) nearby. Thanks, though, for your other kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I spent New years at the Colony at a Black Tie dinner. It was a fantastic way to ring in the new year at this beautiful hotel. The atmosphere was just superb and we had a very good meal.
I will always remember the special time we shared.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We live within driving distance and were in need of rest. We took advantage of the Cabaret Weekend package on 8/17; the best decision we have made in years. Everyone at the hotel is accomodating and delivers on excellence. The hotel is beautiful and well appointed. The restaurants and bar only serve top quality food and drink. The cabaret show with Ariana Savalas was very entertaining and the show then spilled over to the Polo Lounge. We had such a fun time chatting with other guests and employees alike. Cannot wait to stay here again....oh, and everything is within walking distance: shopping on Worth and the beach. Treat yourself to something extra special.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room facing the street since the Polo Lounge is a happening place and will echo in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My wife and I have been staying at the Colony for more than 10 years, but have not previously written a review for fear our little secret would be discovered. Each year we spend a long weekend there during August. Yes, that is off-season in Palm Beach, but that is the point. To us it is the perfect time to visit, as there are no crowds, restaurant reservations are no problem and hotel rates are great. We taxi in from the airport and are able to go everywhere we want on foot. The hotel is a few yards from famous Worth Avenue. If you do want to go a little farther out, the hotel has a shuttle that will get you there and back. The rooms are delightful and very comfortable. The pool area is beautiful and provides a delightful spot to swim or catch some rays. The breakfast is outstanding. The staff, many of whom have been there since we started going there, are professional, friendly and most accommodating. There may be some grander hotels in Palm Beach, but we pick the Colony any day.

Room Tip: The junior suites are not much more than regular rooms and really make you feel like you belong in P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Address: 155 Hammon Avenue, Palm Beach, FL 33480
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colony Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful boutique hotel located in the heart of Palm Beach decorated in British Colonial splendor. Close to world class shopping on Worth Avenue. Walk to the beach. Friendly staff and impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Palm Beach
Colony Hotel Palm Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.