We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem with many pluses” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Hotel

Save Saved
You added Colony Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colony Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   155 Hammon Avenue, Palm Beach, FL 33480   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 hotels in Palm Beach
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem with many pluses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My wife and I have been staying at the Colony for more than 10 years, but have not previously written a review for fear our little secret would be discovered. Each year we spend a long weekend there during August. Yes, that is off-season in Palm Beach, but that is the point. To us it is the perfect time to visit, as there are no crowds, restaurant reservations are no problem and hotel rates are great. We taxi in from the airport and are able to go everywhere we want on foot. The hotel is a few yards from famous Worth Avenue. If you do want to go a little farther out, the hotel has a shuttle that will get you there and back. The rooms are delightful and very comfortable. The pool area is beautiful and provides a delightful spot to swim or catch some rays. The breakfast is outstanding. The staff, many of whom have been there since we started going there, are professional, friendly and most accommodating. There may be some grander hotels in Palm Beach, but we pick the Colony any day.

Room Tip: The junior suites are not much more than regular rooms and really make you feel like you belong in P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    16
    20
    17
    14
See reviews for
14
33
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Our corner room (king bed) was lovely -- clean and well-decorated. Also got to see two other rooms, one with twin beds: both looked good. Bathrooms nice -- love the full tubs! Room service prompt and friendly, as was turndown service. Pool area very pretty. There's a Publix supermarket a short drive away if you need to restock supplies, but it's easy to miss -- ask for directions. Free on-street parking after 6 p.m. was an unexpected plus.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed at the Presidential and Duke of Windsor Suites in July 2012 on our summer vacation. Initial impression of the rooms was positive but sadly this was superficial. Presidential suite is noisy (2 x Aircon machines adjacent to main bedroom), bedroom curtains need lining to block out light and wifi coverage is useless. Duke of Windsor is better but tvs in bedrooms do not work. Hotel pool looks and feels dirty - we had to ask for a dead frog to be removed after it had been there for three days - nice. Breakfast food and service are excellent. Valet also friendly. Other than this though we have never been made to feel so unwelcome. Dress codes and service attitudes are archaic - "collared" shirt is needed in the only bar in the hotel if you want a drink on vacation in july when it is 100 degrees outside. Bar staff are supercilious and arrogant. The fact that we were all under 70 years old clearly rendered us not good enough for this barely four star hotel. To cap it all we had to check out three days early because of an ant infestation in the Duke of Windsor suite which left us all covered in bites. Not an hotel for anyone who wants to relax on vacation. This place is living on long faded glories. We will not be back...

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, Assistant General Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
The family from London seemed to be having a good time and our morning staff got to know them. So, we are surprised with some of the comments. With record high temps in July, the air conditioning units do work hard; but this was the first ever complaint of noise. The TV's work fine (I just checked). No biting ants...but there have been sea lice in the Atlantic where the family went often. "Palm Beach casual" is our dress code for the evening but tees are perfectly okay during the day. The Colony waived the room charges for three days of the seven night reservation as they wanted to go to South Beach. Maybe they will return in the winter season when the hotel will be jumping with more than a few happy Brits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at colony hotel for a few days and it was much different than before when we stayed. The room service menu was far more extensive and service was impeccable. As always, the location is perfect for shopping, eating or just walking around. Will definitely be staying.

P.S. rooms are a little small but definitely manageable.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

We recently had a family wedding in Palm Beach and our out of town guests stayed at the Colony. Everyone loved It. Great location, excellent rooms and the staff was exceptionally attentive. We could not have asked for more.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is nice overall. BUT; If you don't lookalike a Caucasian or are not over 50+ age, they don't treat you nicely. Especially the African Amerrican employees. They should be more sensitive regarding that , but they were the worst. So sad!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Me thinks Hasancan1 a bit too sensitive. Our staff is from all over the world and we definitely do not discriminate. Actually, there are no African Americans in the front of the house but there are staffers of color from the Bahamas, Haiti, Jamaica, etc. (all of them friendly and professional).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I've stayed at the Colony several times when in Palm Beach on business. My wife joined me on this trip. We had an excellent experience. The staff could not be more helpful in every way. They are there when you want/need them and do not hover.

The rooms have fine furnishings and the linens superb. The bathrooms are small, but always immaculate and the toiletries provided top shelf. We lived in Germany for several years and the Colony reminds us of several small European hotels we enjoyed so much.

Highlights of staying here include dining outside at poolside, a warm welcome every time you came to the front door after a day of site seeing, bar tenders who know their trade and are the perfect combination of friendly and professional. And if you like traditional cabaret entertainment, this is the place for you.

The Colony probably isn't the place for hipsters, but it certainly isn't stuffy. Just a very, very comfortable small hotel.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Address: 155 Hammon Avenue, Palm Beach, FL 33480
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colony Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful boutique hotel located in the heart of Palm Beach decorated in British Colonial splendor. Close to world class shopping on Worth Avenue. Walk to the beach. Friendly staff and impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Palm Beach
Colony Hotel Palm Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.