We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timing is everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Hotel

Save Saved
You added Colony Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colony Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   155 Hammon Avenue, Palm Beach, FL 33480   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 hotels in Palm Beach
Tulsa, Ok
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Timing is everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We had a family function/reunion in early June. Palm Beach is slow at that time.

The hotel was quite nice, but there was no coffee in the room nor in the lobby. You have to wait for the"155" to open at 7:00 (8:00 on Sunday) to get a cup. The desk did go to the kitchen to get me a "go cup" on the way to airport on early Sunday.

Rooms were what was expected of an older building. The bath was small. However, the furnishing were adequate.

The barman was friendly and will to make a custom drink. The event planning was superb. Rain obviated the outside Bat Mitzvah service, so it was moved inside. Not a problem.

Beware! The humidity in June is oppressive.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    16
    20
    17
    14
See reviews for
14
33
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

The Colony Hotel was our 'home base' for our recent South Florida wedding, and we could not have been more thrilled with the experience from start to finish. The professional and thoughtful events and room sales teams were incredible, and our guests very much enjoyed well appointed rooms and the beautiful pool and facilities. We hosted a 160-person dinner and 120-person post-wedding brunch in the Pavilion, as well as having 45 guest rooms at the hotel. We could not be happier with our stay, and are grateful to the whole team at the Colony for making it an amazing wedding weekend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flyover Red State
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We have been to the Colony many times. Best Cabaret on the Atlantic shore of Florida. Dining is excellent, although Cafe Boulud at the Brazilian Court is better. Lobby is intimate and first rate. Rooms are small; get a villa or a suite. Close to beach and Worth Avenue.

Room Tip: Get a suite, rooms are small, overlook the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

This hotel purports to be a high class hotel and prides itself on its lengthy history..Well, I have been to many first class hotels in Europe and the Far East, and this place is barely one step above a Motel 6 in Fargo, ND. The location is excellent if you want to be near shopping but that's about all that it has going for it. The decor is tired and tacky, the food mediocre at best, and the staff is terrible beyond belief. You would think that THEY are the guests and YOU are the ones wearing uniforms and working for $5 and $10 tips. Rude and crude beyond any other hostelry except perhaps for the Palm Beach County Jail.
Do not waste your money here. It's a bad place and, as usual, it all stems from the management who are both indifferent and haughty. There is nothing about this sub-medicore hotel to justify their fantasies., Try the Brazilian Court. It's new, not old and tired out, plus it's very attractive, and the food and service are good. As for the location, it's just as good. You will only be at the opposite end of Worth Avenue, so you'll be just as close to shopping. Plus you are closer to some of the other restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, General Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Our staff is really puzzled by this review. Our conclusion is that the writer was not an overnight guest at The Colony. Truthfully, The Colony is known locally as a happy, friendly hotel with fine food and service. The decor is traditional but not hip; Carleton Varney is our Interior Designer. As to the "indifferent" management, that would be me, and the door to my office, directly off the lobby, is always open. I suspect the writer to be one of a very few persons asked to leave for some reason.
Roger Everingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

Tiny room, tinier bathroom. Overpriced at $400 per night. Looked out on the parking lot. No coffee in the room. No ice machines anywhere. Rooms were clean enough but cheaply renovated, could have been a classier reno. Public areas were nice. Staff nice, but if we hadn't had to pay for 4 days in advance we would have checked out.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
It's true our bathrooms are not large which is kind of typical of an older hotel. Perhaps the guest didn't notice the French beveled tile or the Waterworks fixtures and the spotless housekeeping. A few rooms look over the rooftop parking at Sak's 5th Avenue to the pleasing vista of the Town of Palm Beach and the Atlantic Ocean. Palm Beach is seasonal, like Saratoga Springs or the Hamptons which is reflected in the rate- there are terrific values during the "off" season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Had a gorgeous Easter brunch here beside the pool. The service was spectacular and the food at the Polo was great. The rooms areva little old but he charm is unbeatable. If you can splurge on the suite do it - the view is worth it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012 via mobile

Have a confirmation with presidential penthouse on it and it is not the room we got even though we were charged for it. No one cares that it was already booked.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Oh, yes, we remember these folks who arrived after, apparently, a liquid lunch on Worth Avenue. The guests in the Presidential Penthouse had not checked out so they were upgraded to our best accommodation, the Duke and Duchess of Windsor Penthouse, which carries a higher rate however, The Colony honored the lower rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Address: 155 Hammon Avenue, Palm Beach, FL 33480
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colony Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful boutique hotel located in the heart of Palm Beach decorated in British Colonial splendor. Close to world class shopping on Worth Avenue. Walk to the beach. Friendly staff and impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Orbitz, Otel, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Palm Beach
Colony Hotel Palm Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.